Mamma Mia, Italia! My Amazing Trip to Florence, Rome & More...

image.png


I've been very fortunate, over the years, to travel quite a bit -- extensively, as a young man and, more recently, throughout South America with my Colombian wife.

For my fortieth birthday, the missus generously gifted me a trip to Italy: somewhere I'd never been and fantasized about, since I was a teenager, really.

As luck would have it, a friend of ours (struggling artist, opera singer) was staying at a palace, yes, a palace!

Our friend was based in Florence, the flower of the Renaissance, and was renting a room in the attic from a real-life Count -- who'd never worked a day in his life, was connected to the world famous Italian noble family and art patrons, the Medicis.

But, whereas this well-connected Count was cash-poor, he was rich in stories and wit which he regaled us with, his powers as a conversationalist and charms reminding me of a wiser Oscar Wilde.

Check out the impressive, museum-like entrance of the Count's palazzo where we passed, daily, on our way into/out of the palance..


image.png


The paintings, the statues, ah, the dusty magnificence of it all! The former glory clung to the great walls of the palace, featuring ballrooms that entertain hundreds of people, every corner musty with history.

Such exquisite, those Italians, everywhere you go - from their castles to their clothes, even to their pastries!


image.png


Here's a view from our attic window at the palazzo with our friend the singer who afforded us this great opportunity:


image.png


And, another window view...


image.png


There were times I was so sleep-deprived during the embarrassment of riches that is Italy that I was nearly hallucinating. The contrast between Florence, with its sweet shy abundance was quite distinct from the imposing, nearly overbearing grandeur of Rome.

I tried to take it all in and remain under the sway of its great Beauty's civilizing influence, natural and man made, celebrating for a week or so with my wife and our friend.

Everywhere you go, in Florence, it seems the marble is alive!


image.png


Fontana di Trevino, give it your back (after feasting your eyes) toss a coin and make a wish..


image.png


Here's a small peek from Rome, at St. Peter's Square in Vatican, where I was lucky to hear the Pope, spreading his message of Peace.


image.png


A stunning room in the Vatican, Rome: The Gallery of Maps, 120 meters long... A river of gold. This was taken at the Museo Vaticano, on the way to... sharp intake of breath... The Sistine Chappell. My eyes!


image.png


As it turns out, Sistine Chapel was smaller than expected, and brighter colors. Awesome, obviously, and Michelangelo was clearly sensitive to male beauty...


image.png


image.png


Next, comes the power, the glory... The Colosseum


image.png


Here I am, taking a rest at the enchanting Piazza Navona


image.png


Photo, below was taken from the famous Uffizi gallery... what an open air museum!


image.png


Ah, to live on top of the Arno (river) in one of those colored, jewel box homes... One can dream

By taking these pictures and notes, I was trying to be present to each sweet vista & new impression. In Italy, more than other places I've visited, I could almost trace the line between antiquity & modernity.

Then, of course, there's the mouth-watering food: the culmination of Roman civilization :) Here, you're looking at an indescribably cream of chicken & broccoli. And, you might as well have it with a house wine, which is cheaper than a coca cola!


image.png


We did not make it to Venice or Milan, where a friend invited us to stay. But, we did take a day trip to Frisoli where we stopped at a lovely restaurant, for a classic pizza Neapolitan, on the path up to St Francis's monastery.

Below, are some inspiriting words from a St. Francis prayer that captured my imagination in the calming monastery in Frisoli:


image.png


image.png


Last day in paradise, aka Cinque Terre included a hike (that'll leave you with goat legs). But the reward is the view - picture was taken from restaurant perched up on the clouds... Happy sigh

I had gnocchi pesto which was memorable, and this at the heels of making a home-made pesto for the first time this summer, from our garden.


image.png


Thank you, for joining me on this virtual tour of the splendors of Italy. I do hope that you enjoyed it and might be able to visit one day. Personally, I hope to return.

In closing, I will leave you with words from my book, Signposts, about the value of travel:

The human animal is best revealed to others in their natural environment, yet best revealed to themselves outside it.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency