YEOUIDO HAN RIVER PARK, SEOUL

Out of a total of eleven Han River Parks in Seoul, I've only been to two. Shameful but forgivable. One of them is the Yeouido Han River Park. Seoul is indisputably the largest metropolis as well as the capital city of South Korea. The best way to get there is a short walk from the Yeouido Station exit six. Remembering subway exits is crucial and will simplify the life of a nomad tremendously.

DSC_0179(a).jpg


It is very enjoyable to either casually stroll around, rent a bicycle, taking a short river cruise, or even doing everything consecutively in whichever order one prefers. Free and easy. Two favorite keywords in my personal dictionary. For some slightly eccentric reasons, it's always autumn whenever I'm in South Korea on three occasions. I must make it a point to visit in spring one of these days. The cherry blossoms in spring are stunning.

DSC_0181(a).jpg



DSC_0182(a).jpg


A common yet unusual street snack observable on the sidewalks of South Korea is the steam silkworm pupae. Pigeons love pupae. Pigeons also love roasted chestnuts. Another delicacy highlighting autumn. When we were in the park one autumn, there were locals flying kites. It had been fun observing kites while cycling. The cooling breeze was very refreshing!

DSC_0189(a).jpg



DSC_0212(a).jpg


Jogging or biking in the park is quite safe as they built dedicated pathways for pedestrians and cyclists. A good way to destress for Seoulites with hectic lifestyles. Every minute makes a huge difference to the working class of Seoul. I've seen residents running for their lives as if getting chased by zombies just to catch subway trains on multiple occasions. Easygoing South East Asians will just wait a bit to get on to the next incoming train. The cultural difference is that its sort of peculiar to rush like there is no tomorrow.

DSC_0216(a).jpg


Towards the end of the bicycle trail was a field of wild river reeds. A strategic spot for a selfie. The national assembly building with a green dome is situated right across the reed field. Han River is the lifeline to agrarian South Korean societies ages ago. I felt bad for those left behind by the waves of modernization sweeping across the country. Inevitable but unavoidable. It's complicated! I'm glad we took a break from the ever congested touristy areas. The atmosphere had been tranquil in this park. At the very least, we got a small taste of locality.

DSC_0219.JPG


Depending on one's perspective, Seoul can be a cold disconnected place to some, and still, it can also be a heartwarming place to others. I'm glad I have three trustworthy friends in Seoul who are simply hilarious. I appreciate their brutal honesty. They mean well. I hope they stay upbeat and dynamic despite unending challenges and uncertainties. I wish them the very best in life!

DSC_0229.JPG


I look forward to returning to South Korea soon. I miss cold noodles, acorn jelly, roasted chestnuts, succulent dried persimmons, tongue scorching fish-shaped pastries filled with red bean pastes, and more. My mouth is salivating just thinking about all the yummy goodies mentioned. Of course, I miss my friends too. I can't wait to treat them to several meals at specialize diners. Food tastes better when shared with kindred spirits.

DSC_0237.JPG


Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Wheat

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency