SEORAKSAN NATIONAL PARK, SOUTH KOREA

Have I told you that I absolutely adore South Korea? Why? I can dress as if I'm going for Mount Everest basecamp trekking in the middle of a bustling city yet no one bothers to drag me to a psychiatric ward. Hiking gears are sort of standardized uniforms there especially among middle-aged to elderly people. The country has numerous charming hiking trails waiting to be explored. Seoraksan National Park happens to be one of my favorite places for a short hike. The peak of the Ulsanbawi rock is also the best location to cure acrophobia with a stunning view.

IMG_3575(a).jpg



P1030269(a).jpg


The oldest Zen Buddhism temple in the world known as the Sinheungsa temple is located within Seoraksan National Park. It was built around 635 to 637 by monk Jajang and burnt down twice. The temple was subsequently rebuilt in 710 and 1648.

IMG_3607(a).jpg


Within the hollow statue of the Bronze Buddha or the Great Unification Buddha contains three pieces of the Buddha's relics. Relics mean the remains of Buddha after cremation. The statue weighs 108 tons. Construction of the bronze statue cost around $4.1 million. The Bronze Buddha represented South Koreans crucial wish for reunification of a divided country.

IMG_3584(a).jpg


The classic South Korean temple architecture exuded understated beauty complementing its tranquil natural surroundings. I look forward to returning to this attractive temple for a short stay one day. I'm more than ready to complete the Ulsanbawi trail hike.

P1030278(a).jpg


Seoraksan National Park was designated by UNESCO as a biosphere reserve back in 1982. This park was clothed prettily in autumn foliage during my first visit. Like a change of wardrobe, any season of the year enables this park to display its unique characteristics. Taking a cable car ride up to the Gwongeumseong Fortress had been an exciting and unforgettably vivid experience that left a huge imprint in my memory.

P1030313(a).jpg



P1030321(a).jpg


Despite the minimal obstacle in the eyes of certain people, I was very happy to challenge myself to climb up to the Gwongeumseong peak. The indescribable sense of satisfaction in addition to awesome scenery from above far exceeded the small effort put into getting there. We need to be comfortable celebrating small wins before receiving bigger blessings.


P1030323(a).jpg


After gathering my strengths to deal with my late brother's suicide, I worked hard to overcome my fear of height along with other complexes. I have to constantly remind myself that my late father is only a human being far from the qualities of a Buddha to appease my internal anger as well as pent-up frustrations. Everyone collected a combination of desirable and less desirable traits within their lifetime. It's possible to be assertive, sympathetic, and effective while remaining level-headed at the same time. Some of the greatest lessons the magnanimous mountain taught us are to embrace flaws and to always remember to be forgiving towards all sentient beings.

P1030324(a).jpg


Important Information

Transportation: Seoul Express Bus Terminal
Distance from Seoul: 4 hours
Bus Fare from Seoul: USD15 to USD30
Distance from Sokcho: 30 minutes
Bus Fare from Sokcho: USD1 to USD2.5
Entrance Fee: USD8.76 or 10,000 Won
Cable Car Fare: USD7.10 or 8,000 Won

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Wheat

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency