MY MOM AND I; exploring Bali, Terunyan's grave and Lake Batur

CollageMaker_20211006_192347667.jpg



Bali, May 2015.

Hello, Travelers ...!

Again and again, I will share the story of my journey with my mom. If in the past I told you about my trip to Yogyakarta, this time I will share the story of my journey with my mother while exploring Bali.

Yep, BALI!

Who does not know the name Bali? In fact, foreigners know Bali better than Indonesia. Naturally, because in addition to beaches with magnificent panoramas, Bali also chooses hundreds of tourist attractions that should not be missed.

From the coast, valleys, rice fields, rivers, even the mountains, Bali has extraordinary charm.

Not only that, Bali which is known as Dewata Island or the island of a thousand gods is very rich in cultural diversity. There are many traditional processions in Bali that we can find out and learn their meaning.

So, the story of my journey starts from now on!


This is My Mother's First Time On a Ferry


We chose the land route from Pekalongan. Using a bus and connecting by crossing the Bali Strait from Ketapang Port in Banyuwangi to Gilimanuk port on the island of Bali. This short crossing takes only thirty minutes to 45 minutes.

This was the first ship that my mother boarded. Hahaha... Good thing she's not seasick. He was very happy and I took a picture of him sitting in the passenger seat.


Trunyan Unique Village



IMG_0715.jpg
Made, my tour guide in front of the Terunyan gate


Hearing the name Bali, surely what is best known by tourists is its beach tourism. Whereas in the Kintamani sub-district, Bangli district, Bali ... there is a unique village that still maintains its culture from centuries ago.

Panorama of Mount Batur


IMG_0706.jpg

27893088_768450823363947_7628873077551529984_n.jpg


In addition to the very famous Mount Agung, Bali also has the charming Mount Batur. An active volcano, Mount Batur has an altitude of about 1,700's. At least that's what our tourguide, Made said. Yes, he only wants to be called Made. According to Made, the track to the top of Batur consists of stone stairs and dirt. The track is also not too difficult and friendly for novice climbers. Wow ... As a mountain climber, how amazed I am with Mount Batur. In my heart, I hope that one day I can climb this beautiful mountain.

From Kintamani to Batur village it takes about 1 hour and a half. With a difficult route, tourists who will visit this tourist village are strongly advised to rent a local car driver. Because if you don't memorize the route, the path taken is very dangerous. There are sharp climbs, descents, and turns from the Kintamani sub-district to the village on the shores of Lake Batur.

Crossing Lake Batur

After arriving at the village of Lake Batur, we still have to cross the lake by motorboat for about 30 minutes. The cost we spent for one person was IDR 20k, now maybe the price has changed.


27894470_265409070662721_4576781330313904128_n.jpg
Terunyan village


The blue sky landscape, the majestic body of Mount Batur, as well as the Terunyan village which was the last village before the tomb lay like a painting. I never stop amazed by this beauty. Thirty minutes on a motorboat was short.

Made guided us off the boat and stepped on the wooden barrier as the terrace of Trunyan's grave.

Trunyan's Grave

Made as a tourguide briefly explained about the funeral traditions in Trunyan village. If in Bali, Hindus who die are cremated or called Ngaben, for Terunyan residents the ceremony for the dead is carried out with the Mepasah culture. This culture is in the form of letting the corpse rot in the Trunyan tomb. The body was only covered with a white cloth, and the face was left exposed. Then, the corpse lying on the ground was only given a barrier in the form of bamboo blades arranged in the shape of a prism. Made also explained to us that the area of ​​Trunyan's grave was only enough for eleven bodies lined up. The rest, when the bodies are in the form of bones and skulls, they are collected together and arranged near a large tree called Taru Menyan.


IMG_0718.jpg
25 days old corpse


Don't rotten corpses smell?

I also have a similar query. Doesn't it smell? Apparently not! It's not that the bodies were embalmed like mummies, it's just that a large tree called Taru Menyan is said to be believed, according to Trunyan residents, to absorb the smell that comes from the body of a corpse that is starting to rot.

"Taru means Tree, and Menyan means Fragrant," said Made when explaining the reason the big tree was called Taru Menyan. So, the origin of the name Trunyan's grave is this fragrant tree.


IMG_0721.jpg
My mom and her friend inhbfromt of Taru Menyan Tree


The number of skulls that are always counted


28157192_226286701278729_6300766265032048640_n.jpg


The skulls in Terunyan's grave never diminished. Grave keepers would periodically count and trim bones and skulls. If you visit here, pay attention too, if in the graveyard there are lots of coins scattered around. Not not used, or can be taken home randomly, these coins are treasures left by relatives of the corpse. The corpse items that were also brought at the funeral were left untouched.


A-Hidayah Grand Mosque, Bedugul


IMG_0745.jpg


Enter prayer time. We stopped by a grand mosque in the Bedugul area. This mosque is also known as the Candi Kuning Mosque, maybe because of the dominance of the color of the ornaments in this mosque, yes. hehe. I forgot to ask Made the reason why this mosque was named Candi Kuning.

To reach this mosque, visitors have to climb quite a lot of stairs. However, from the courtyard of this mosque, visitors will be treated to the Bedugul lake and the very famous temples in Bali; Ulum Danu Beratan Temple.


IMG_0742.jpg

IMG_0744.jpg


IMG_0749.jpg
My mom's friend, my mom, and I


Thank you for reading.


All pictures were taken with Canon Powershot A2500


211526006_367719348117833_6779401666242969883_n.jpg

Titis N

Hi, I am the child of the universe, I like to read books with various genres. I was born in the city of batik but can't draw batik yet. I want to be a novelist, but my works are only short poems that are included in anthology books.

please share my content if you feel my content is good for everyone to read. Thank you. Let's be friends!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency