Walking the East Coast Line, Lamai Beach.

An few weeks ago when I visited Koh Samui Island I spend a week there and must have walked about 60km that week around different parts of the island the East Coast of the island was the most beautiful having clear blue waters, soft white sand, and many amazing rock formations. Even though Koh Samui is the second-largest island in Thailand, it didn't seem that big, its 25km in length and 20km at its widest point easy access to all points of beaches.

27.jpg

40.jpg

60.jpg

2.jpg

28.jpg

Koh Samui Island is almost circular island the road around the island is called Ring Road, it makes sense if you were to drive around the island you would be covering a distance of about 50km taking you just under a couple of hours driving at a safe speed but I was more interested walking the coastlines and it is on the east coast of the island where you will find the best beaches lined with resorts, bars, and restaurants.

7.jpg

1.jpg

6.jpg

5.jpg

8.jpg

On this particular early morning, the day started with cloudy skies but towards mid-day, the blue sky started marking an appearance which made me happy considering its monsoon period at the moment here in Thailand but a bit of rain wasn't going to stop me. What I was liking about Lamai Beach is there seem to be more life here than its sister beach in Chaweng which I walked along the previous day. Maybe because more ex-pats live in the Lamai province been cheaper than Chaweng Beach which is the main tourist area.

32.jpg

59.jpg

9.jpg

4.jpg

3.jpg

Koh Samui Island has always been the most visited island in Thailand because of its crystal clear water beaches and beautiful palms and coconut trees lining the coastlines but having walked most of the beaches in my week on this paradise island you could see what impact this pandemic has done to this once island traveled by millions of tourist from backpackers to the rich this island has a budget for all, is why it is so popular but at the moment it's sad to say but it is like a ghost island, one thing nature has certainly had time to recover and I will say the nature part of the island is looking at its best but I can't say the same for the many abandon resorts I saw on my walks along this eastern coastline.

20.jpg

22.jpg

26.jpg

41.jpg

21.jpg

I couldn't believe my eyes seeing this old Thai lady she didn't look a day shy of one hundred years old sweeping up all the fallen leaves on the beach keeping it clean for when the tourist come back. God Bless her 🙏

23.jpg

24.jpg

25.jpg

35.jpg

39.jpg

And another thing I couldn't believe Hive has expanded to Thailand, hotel resort located on Lamai Beach so you all know where to come and spend your Hive tokens 😁🤣

37.jpg

38.jpg

36.jpg

18.jpg

42.jpg

19.jpg

It wasn't all lost along this beautiful part of the island there was a hand full of people making this side of the island look more lively, I came across this bar called the La Bohemia bar-restaurant the owner being from Israel, he had fitted this place out into a chilling atmosphere with a soft, comfortable look, sitting at the bar facing the beach having a beer made me feel how lucky I am to be having a beer on this paradise island today.

10.jpg

61.jpg

13.jpg

12.jpg

14.jpg

11.jpg

After having a couple of cold beers at the La Bohemia bar-restaurant I continue my walk along the east coast taking in the breathtaking views and the cool breeze feeling like a million dollars and happy to be alive.

17.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

34.jpg

33.jpg

Further down the beach, I came across a couple more resorts with an open bar-restaurant I couldn't help notice the names of these resorts I must admit they must put a lot of thought into naming these resorts because they certainly have that inviting feeling about them like this one "No Stress Beach Restaurant" pretty cool I thought, the name alone would want me to have a cold beer there.

30.jpg

31.jpg

29.jpg

By the time I had reached the "No Stress Beach Restaurant" I had already walked about 8km it was late afternoon and the sky was getting ready for that afternoon monsoon like clockwork, so I decided to walk off the beach and get myself on the Lamai Beach Road there I could find a cool place to have a bit to eat relax and have a couple of more cold beers. I was told that their was a really cool place on Lamai Beach Road called Cocktails By Pik, which is the most popular in Lamai town for good food and few cold beers enjoying a Fonzy atmosphere.

43.jpg

44.jpg

45.jpg

49.jpg

57.jpg

After walking off the beach from the alleyway I came out of Cocktails By Pik was about a 300 meter walk along Lamai Beach Road according to google map and it was spot on walking into this bar-restaurant was like going back in a time machine an absolutely amazing place. All that I was seeing here was way before my time but hey, I still listen to some of this music today the Beatles and @littlebeatle will love this one she sings just about every Beatles song with that huge guitar that is almost bigger than her 🤣 and does a great job doing soMick Jagger the Rolling Stones love them Elivs Presley and more, places like this you could spend hours sitting back going back in time.

46.jpg

53.jpg

58.jpg

52.jpg

50.jpg

I could imagine how this place would be pumping if it wasn't for this crazed pandemic their would be a lot of rock and rolling happening here and I do hope it comes alive again in the near future cause I love to come back here and see it, in full swing but for now I will observe have my dinner and head home for a nice hot bubble bath at my hotel. Lamai Town, till next time love you and leave you it has been quite a adventurous day learning about you and Lamai you do have a lot to offer I will be back.

56.jpg

51.jpg

47.jpg

54.jpg

55.jpg

tinman88_3.jpg

This post is also for #wednesdaywalk run and organized by @tattoodjay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency