Dragon Cape Hike of the Beaten Track.

Phuket Island in Thailand been the largest island in Thailand has some of the most natural nature hiking tracks you will even come across in this exotic tropical island there are 52 known hiking trails that will take you through hillside terrain, deep jungle rain-forest, through to waterfalls, and pristine hidden beaches a hiking track to suit any enthusiast hiker.

raw_1.jpg

raw_19.jpg

raw_61.jpg

raw_22.jpg

raw_29.jpg

raw_42.jpg

I have visited Phuket Island a few times now and each time I find myself there I choose a different trail to hike on this time around I decided on taking the Dragon Cape trail only this time I wasn't going to walk this trail you can if you like but it's very steep climb the other options you have you can hire a motorbike or a mountain bike but I decided to be lazy this particular day I hired a motorbike only because it was so hot and I wanted to get to that highest point of the mountain to that cool breeze sooner then later and back down the other end to Dragon Cape beach.

raw_10.jpg

raw_7.jpg

raw_32.jpg

raw_60.jpg

raw_30.jpg

raw_17.jpg

This hiking trail is about 8km and you can start from the southern side of the island from Rawai village taking you up through some of Thailand's most astonishing landscapes and ending up at Dragon Cape Beach on the way back down the trail, it's a rough dirt track very challenging on a normal motorbike a trail motorbike would have been better but it was all fun weaving around all the pot holes I wouldn't recommend it on a wet day.

raw_34.jpg

raw_4.jpg

raw_9.jpg

raw_38.jpg

raw_11.jpg

raw_15.jpg

I stopped a few times on my way up to take in the breathtaking views and a few photos and mostly to rest my arms from rattling I finally made it to the highest point of this trail after about one hour slowly crawling up avoiding all the pot holes on this dirt track but all worthwhile with the beautiful sparkling Andaman Sea in front of me and the cool breeze blowing in my face really put a smile of my face been up here on top of the world without a worry or care in the world.

raw_35.jpg

raw_41.jpg

raw_36.jpg

raw_16.jpg

raw_40.jpg

raw_47.jpg

Getting back down this dirt trail was going to be even more challenging maybe doing it with a motorbike wasn't such a great idea but I didn't want to waste most of my day walking using up my energy I wanted to get down to Dragon Cape beach swim around in that blue crystal water and do some rock climbing around the beach.

raw_43.jpg

raw_37.jpg

raw_44.jpg

raw_56.jpg

raw_59.jpg

raw_55.jpg

raw_48.jpg

After a steady rattly ride down the dirt track I made it safely to the beach and was looking forward to swim and a bit of rock climbing the rock formations here was amazing and interesting, and the views around the beach just stunning, it wasn't a crowded beach which made it even more delightful.

raw_3.jpg

raw_2.jpg

raw_5.jpg

raw_14.jpg

raw_18.jpg

raw_8.jpg

raw_51.jpg

You can drive to this beach from the other end of Patong beach but you see no views just a boring drive doing, it via the dirt trail this leads you to the most stunning viewpoints high up the mountain overlooking the Andaman Sea coast line and then you can get back down to the beach in the way I did it much more challenging and worth the effort for those breathtaking views you see along the way.

raw_6.jpg

raw_19.jpg

raw_23.jpg

raw_58.jpg

raw_53.jpg

raw_54.jpg

raw_49.jpg

I have found Phuket Island no matter what you are looking for there are a diverse range of hiking trails to suit anyone and the most amazing part in what I have seen so far they are all amazing whether you walking, mountain biking or motorbiking you always come to a point of amazement whether you end up at a hidden beach, waterfall or the highest point were you can see the best of sunsets it always keeps you coming back wanting to see more.

raw_50.jpg

raw_57.jpg

raw_52.jpg

raw_62.jpg

raw_63.jpg

raw_64.jpg

tinman88_9.jpg

This post is also for @beachwednesday Edition 19 run and organized by @uwelang

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency