The Mussels In The Bay Marks The End Of The Adventure Filled Journey.

Well Hello There Fellow Hivers And Travelers

Adventure awaits us!

Dana Bay has a lot of things to do and see and I am most regretfull that I did not do more when I went down to the ocean side! Well I shouldn't be I am planning a lot of adventures for this year! I told @Misshugo that we will do as much as we possibly can! No sitting around at the lodge contemplating the day away!

We just need to get up early get in the car and drive until we find or see something interesting! Even if it's something silly like chasing birds! But we gotta do a lot this! When we return home I want it to feel as if we were gone for a year!

I already have a few things in mind. I really want to visit the strawberry farm and pluck as many as my little bucket can carry! (SSShhhh I am planning on stuffing my pockets too) But don't tell her! Once we have that settle I would love to visit or go to a beer tasting event, I'm sure there should be one down there! Even a wine tasting would do! Or perhaps both!

Needless to say visiting the Brothers Roastery is something I will do! Perhaps twice a day everyday!

Enough of my rambles, I'm getting myself excited over here! Lets continue!

Last week I shared our journey onto the beaches of Dana Bay which is very close to Mossel Bay I think it's about a 20 kilometer drive away give or take! On these beaches we found a few "Hidden Caves" I say hidden because if you stand on the cliffs you can't see them at all, Naturally.

I am sure a lot of the locals know of them! But I did not and I found them super amazing to come down on! I think I mentioned in the previous @pinmapple post that the Betty wasn't shocked at all. That's because she's seen them a thousand times before!

Check out the previous posts I shared! In order of postings.

A Prawny Adventure down in Dana Bay

Exploring Mossel Bay Point Near Cape St. Blaze

The Saga Continues Exploring The Cape St. Blaze Trail

Finding And Exploring Hidden Caves On Dana Bay Beach


The Adventures Didn't End With The Caves

After growing bored as the excitement ran out from discovering the caves (I like to say that I discovered them even though the Betty has seen them before.) Well we then decided to continue with our walk down the coastline, I didn't really know what lay ahead but thinking about it the Betty probably did.

We came down a rock bed that had all of these "Rock Balancing Pillars" on them (At least that's what google calls them!)

Interesting thing though, this is somewhat off topic but I thought it would be worth to share. So I googled what it might be called and I came down this wikipedia page and it's stated that "Rock piling in protected wilderness areas has been considered vandalism."
Can you believe? I do understand why though! Check it out Rock Balancing

Okay back to the story at hand! Coming down on these and well most of them are still standing despite the strong winds on the beach front! However I do think that when the tides come in they tend to wash away so perhaps people build them daily or perhaps the tide doesn't reach this far in.

IMG-20211228-WA0032.jpg


I Suppose Everyone Can Just Assume What I Did Next!

Well. Well I found myself a spot with a lot of rocks lying around and I started building like a madman with a calm and cool expression!

Trust me it's not as easy as it looks and once i struggle I get annoyed and just quit putting effort in! But not today, today I was going to leave my mark on this beach! Well even if it's only for a day! Mark it I will! The next person walking by with the same level of amazement well yeah I was part of that little bit of amazement they received!

IMG-20211229-WA0070.jpg


My First Stone Pillar Done!

Yes okay it looks awfully crappy I know but dayum guys and gals this ain't no easy task to do! Especially when the rocks grow smaller. I mean it's easy to just stack a bunch of big rockies on top of each other! But the smaller they get the more tricky it gets to balance them! Weird I know one would think it be harder with big rocks! But these small rockies can make you juggle left and right!

IMG-20211228-WA0048.jpg

Hmmm the Betty took secret photos of my successful failures.😂 Well at least I didn't give up that easily this time around! I kept on trying and kept on trying until I built a few.

Well they weren't the best but I don't give no worries! I had fun!!

I only notice now that the sun all but disappeared. Actually not for long if I think of it because not long after stacking the rocks we did go for some swimming. Or did we? I am so confused now I'll have to ask the Betty perhaps it was a different day.

Ah well it doesn't really matter does it?

Damn I'm getting old!

IMG-20211229-WA0069.jpg


The Best One Is In The Middle!

Can you guys see my attempt! I didn't get a close up photo of mine! But I am sure it's better than all the rest!

"Cough Cough"

Let's say so please??

The one to the left was the Betty's attempt at building one. It was like she has done it before? How can this be? She had no struggle with it at all, she just slapped it together no worries. But perhaps she's done it before!

Building leaning towers of rock.

IMG-20211229-WA0064.jpg


The Betty's Pride

Well I thought it could to add a singled out photo of the Betty's magnificent stone structure!

Look how skew they are placed at the top. Trust me I did not dare try that other wise my whole structure would have collapsed! I bet it's the gentle touch of a woman.

IMG-20211229-WA0065.jpg


The Unknown Artist

Now this is talent and above all patience. I did not even stand to close because of the fear of knocking this one over. And who knows perhaps the "Unknown Artist" waited behind a bush in silence just for the one who dare destroy his art piece.

Notice how high up it stretches with added support. By the way this person must have some brain on him to be able to strategically place those support stones!!

IMG-20211229-WA0071.jpg


Where The Mussels Are Plenty

In the previous post I mentioned that I think I know why they call it Mossel Bay well I suppose this right here is the reason. Mussels are everywhere you look! At certain spots on the beach the rocks are covered with mussels. (Primarily those that get a lot of water splashed on them) In fact so much that you cant even step on the rock beds without getting the sensation or fear of cutting your feet open on them.

In my opinion, I would say that this is why they named it Mossel Bay (Mossel is legitly just the native word for Mussel, I suppose most could have figured that out😅)

IMG-20211229-WA0087.jpg

I remember asking the Betty

"Can't we take some of these mussels home Boo, I'll make them for us"

She look at me with a boggled mind asking me.

"Are you alright in the head love?"

She asked with some genuine concern!

"Well if I have to be honest, no I really ain't. I am a wee bit crazy love, perhaps a wee bit too much crazy."

To this day I still don't really know what was wrong with that question, are they even edible?

Perhaps not if I was asked such questions.

IMG-20211229-WA0086.jpg

Well folks I'd say this marks the end of our lovely adventures on the beaches of Dana Bay! From both me and @misshugo we wish everyone a great weekend and safe travels!
Oh and don't forget to take more photos of your adventures. You can never have too much.
But there is more to this post I added a little bonus parade below.

IMG-20211229-WA0068.jpg


The Fishy Adventures We Had.

Not to confuse this with the sketchy adventures we had "Laughs Naughtily"

I am adding this because of a post I made long ago on Hive. I wanted to make a second part of that post a while back but I noticed I didn't have enough photos left. So I decided to squeeze this into one post with two sections.

Well lets go!

So this post sort of link in with A Prawny Adventure down in Dana Bay I did also link it at the start of the post!

In that post I shared how we caught some prawns that we want to use for fishing. Well the Betty's dad at least. However this year I am joining him on those adventures!

He was a little sad at what he caught, he said it wasn't much. I do agree but at least it was more than enough. But he was hoping on more.

I say this was enough because my Betty has absolutely no love for fish as well as her mother so myself her dad and brother digged in and feasted on the fresh salt water fish!

Laughs as I'm typing this my mouth is actually watering at the thought of how it tasted!

IMG_20220101_193822.jpg


The Dried Out Star Fish

Have any of you folks ever seen a starfish in person? Okay yes this is a dead dried out little star fishy. But I have never seen anything of the sorts! Well I have but that was in Finding Nemo so I suppose that doesn't really count.

Well this is now an ornament on their television cupboard and I do quite fancy it!

IMG_20220101_203825.jpg

As we cooked the fish we stared out at the sun setting over the vast horizon, drinking a beer with the Betty at my side! How much better can life really get than that!

IMG_20220101_194220.jpg

pixlr_20221112201942766.jpg

To everyone who made it this far into my post Thank you for the read and the support.

If you found this entertaining or educational please consider a re-blog and up-vote.

Most of all please leave a input in the comments below, whether is good or bad critic I would like to know, whether its your opinion or your way of doing things in a different manner I would like.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Connecting the people of #HIVE across South Africa. #hive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency