Hong Kong Disneyland: A First-Timer's Journey (Last Day of My Trip)

Disneyland Hong Kong

DSC00514 - Copy.jpg



Today I will be posting about my last day in Hong Kong. I spent this day in a place I never really expected myself to go. Don't get me wrong, I've always loved amusement parks and all the rides too. However, I don't consider myself a huge Disney fan so I never considered going to their parks and after hearing about the long queues it made me avoid it like the plague. I've been told over and over again though that if I like amusement parks, I should check out Disneyland sometime since it's basically an amusement park with an insane budget behind it. So in the end I decided to go check it out since there happens to be one in Hong Kong. I've never been to a city before that has a Disneyland park.


Daytime at the Park



DSC00534 - Copy.jpg
This was right when it opened. As you can see it was already super crowded.


I decided that I would go as soon as it opened to try and dodge the long queues. Well, little did I know that everyone thinks the same way. I arrived in the morning, earlier than I'd woken up in some time. Only to find that the train that goes there was already full even at this time. I got off the train and sprinted to the entrance. Luckily I had opted for the "skip the queue" ticket which helped quite a bit.


DSC00522 - Copy.jpg
The new Frozen zone recently opened at the park. I never watched the movies lol.


Once inside I thought I had been through the worst. However once I arrived at the first ride I wanted to try, I realized that queueing is just a part of life at this park. That was until I saw a sign next to the normal queue that said "priority access". Finally, I saw some light from the long shadow of the regular queue. I opened up the Disney website and immediately purchased the priority access pack for myself. This only gives you a one time pass for each ride mind you. So it's not like you can skip queues all day long unless you wanna spend a fortune. It was enough for me though and I finally felt like I would be able to enjoy this park.


DSC00554 - Copy.jpg


I ran around looking for the shortest queues and went on those rides, thereby saving my priority ride for a second ride once it was later in the day and the queues had started being long. I was going to spend the whole day here after all and get the most out of my ticket. Also I heard that there is a lights and fireworks show at the end of the night which I didn't want to miss. I wanted to get as many good photos as possible.


LR-9.jpg



I ended up having a much better time than I thought I would. A lot of the attractions were kind of lame in my opinion and catered to children. Others are a lot of fun though and I had a great time on some of the rides. I would say the best rides for me were the Big Grizzly Mountain Runaway Mine Cars, Mystic Manor, and Hyperspace Mountain. The last one was similar to a ride I've been on here in Bangkok. Although compared to the Disney one, this felt more like a knockoff ride ordered from Wish. The quality at Disney is just so much better and it makes a huge difference in the ride.


DSC00540 - Copy.jpg


Some of the other attractions weren't my thing though. There was this one live show with Moana which I honestly thought was just cringey but then again I'm sure it's mostly aimed at the younger fans. I was so tired at that point from walking around that I just needed a break and decided I'd sit and watch it while taking a rest.


DSC00558 - Copy.jpg




Evening Time at the Park


LR-1 - Copy.jpg


I had a dinner booked at the park which was great. I had some spicy kebab and for dessert, you had about twenty choices and I tried most of them. I was very full when I left the restaurant and very ready to experience the evening time here. There was still some time to go before the fireworks would begin though so I kept walking around and using up my last couple of priority passes on the rides. The evening here is cool since it's a whole different vibe and everything looks much cooler in a way.

LR-8 - Copy.jpg


As you can see here in the next photo, it looks way cooler at night than it did in the daytime. A lot of it did honestly. So I guess it does make sense to stay here the entire day and get to experience both the day and evening ambiance.

LR-7 - Copy.jpg



Soon after that, it was finally time for the lights and fireworks show. My ticket came with a special area to watch the show, which was really cool. It was totally worth staying until the end to watch this show and I am happy I decided to do that. Although my feet were killing me and I was close to leaving many times throughout the day lol.

LR-4 - Copy.jpg

I decided to record most of the show to try out the filming on the camera but now and then I'd take some photos as well. There are lights, fountains, and fireworks which all together make for a great show.

LR-3 - Copy.jpg



This place would be insane on some psychedelics lol. Just had to say that cause I thought about it a few times while I was there. Rides like It's a Small World, Mystic Manor, and this lights show would be crazy while tripping. Not something you wanna get caught with in Hong Kong though. Maybe if I ever go to Paris or the States.

LR-2 - Copy.jpg

These are my favorite photos of that day. I didn't wanna make the post too long either. So that brings us to the end of my post. As I already said, I had a much better time at Disneyland than I thought I would, and with the priority passes it's actually something I could see myself doing again. The weather was also great that day so I got lucky with that.

I hope you like the photos and that you've enjoyed this small trip through Disneyland park in Hong Kong. I recommend going if you've never been to one before. It's not as bad as I had thought it would be. Do bring some good and comfortable shoes though. Also if you can afford it, definitely go for the priority access pass since it will save you a TON of time at some rides. Alright, see y'all in the next one!

Peace, Straw

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency