Gomel through my eyes. River, bridge, tower, church, steamboat.



cl8kk174j02010vkce1we79yp_2.webp

Hey there!
Today, I propose to take a walk with me through my hometown, which is 880 years old. It is far from being a capital city, so the city has not turned into a stone jungle. Lots of nature, few cars, slowly strolling pedestrians, blue skies and buildings that are more years old than me. This is the city of Gomel, Belarus. Let's begin.

To get to this bridge over the river Sozh, you need to take any public transport to the city center. The time from anywhere is no more than 30-40 minutes. This shows how small this city is with a population of 600K people. From the stop to the bridge is a 5-10 minute walk through the park, which I'll show next time. There's a lot to see there, too.

On the way, I took a picture of a building that is definitely more years old than I am. It is restored, I would have dreamed of seeing it when it was built. Sometimes restoration leaves only a slight smell of time. Here it remains, but very faintly...


On the bridge is a block with locks for happiness in family life. A fortress of ties between two people, so to speak. An old Slavic tradition, when newlyweds hang a padlock with their names, initials or some other sacramental phrase. Have I done such a thing in my time? I honestly don't remember. I'm not a superstitious revolutionary, so I might have missed this custom...


The views from the bridge to the church and part of the promenade on a sunny day and clouds I would call ordinary. Unusual is the sense of peacefulness that comes to me here every time I am here...


Clouds of feathers diverging from the main body is probably something I have noticed only this year and only in this city. However, I have seen similar pictures in other people's posts on Hive. Does anyone know an explanation for this at all?

It was a day off and the docks and shore on the other side were dotted with a couple dozen fishermen with fishing rods. Seriously, I watch them all the time when I'm here. Never once have I seen them catch anything. Maybe it's just an escape from the house to get some privacy. My escape with the camera, goodies, and beer was this time...

The bridge is definitely more years old than I am. I think I even have childhood pictures of me and my parents on it. It was the most beautiful and longest bridge of my childhood. You know, the thrill of jumping, running, rolling around on the floor, squealing and squirming like crazy. 😅 Sorry, kid!

That part of the shore with the beach that is almost never crowded. A couple of couples in love who can't get away from each other, the occasional naked swimmer (just kidding) and a crazy photographer in +30 degrees with a sweaty back and very hungry... 😅

A couple of photos from the shadows. The clock tower of the castle, which I will show next time. In fact, this castle was the home of the family that was the head of the town. Intellectuals, counts, their spouses, and a bunch of kids. And this area and the whole park were their possessions. Can you imagine your home and your lot like this? Now it's a public area, a space of kings to touch. Breathe the scent of the earls, I would say.

Finally, this is the steamer that never sails. In that very bay of the Sozh River. I wrote about it here: A steamboat that never sails.

There were also a couple of guys fishing nearby with a rod. It was my first outing with a camera, I don't know. In fact, it was the first camera I had held since I was a kid. When my dad let me hold his. But only to hold. 😅

After this walk, I was so tired and hungry that I just sat on a bench and stared into the void, remembering stories of my life. I was interrupted by a sir who needed help with his phone and for me to take his picture. It was funny. I came out for the first time with a camera (which he didn't see, it was in his backpack) and the photographer's job found me immediately. 😂 Maybe that's a sign? Well, I'll think about it....

That's it for now! Thank you if you read to the end! Upvote is up to you, but chatting under the post is a must! I'd love to hear from everyone!


I am also a member of the following communities!⬇️

All banners are clickable






_stdd2.gif


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency