This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Share Our World: Washington National Cathedral

I am so excited to share this beautiful gothic cathedral with you today.

If you are going to DC this is definitely a place you should put on your "to visit" list. It is 3 miles northwest of the White House (downtown). It is a little complicated to get to using public transportation. I took the metro to the Woodley Park-Zoo stop and walked the 1.2 miles. There are buses that go along that route too.

Gothic Architecture

Once you get there you are greeted with this great Gothic architecture.


Here is a view of the flying buttresses from the top floor.

Flowers

The walk up to the cathedral was also full of blossoming flowers

I loved the flowers. Dogwoods are some of my favorite flowers.

Arches

Another thing that I really liked is the arches.

I went on a tour. I always do tours of places to learn about them. It was amazing.

Fun Facts

It took 83 years to build (1907-1990)
There are 231 stained glass windows
It is the highest point in DC at 301 feet tall and 676 above sea level
There are 112 gargoyles
There are at least 6 chapels

Chapels

War Memorial ChapelChildren's ChapelBethlehem Chapel
Chapel of St. Joesph of ArimatheaDon't remember the nameResurrection Chapel

Resurrection Chapel

I was totally amazed at the mosaic art in this chapel.

Here is a stunning mosaic you see as you enter the chapel.

Then you turn around and see these gorgeous dark mosaics.


And of course the stained glass! I did a whole post of it earlier in the month Art Talk: Stained Glass Windows at the National Cathedral. Here are a few.

One of the most interesting things about the stained glass in this cathedral is that it was a mixture of religious and American history.

This piece is called Space Window and has a piece of lunar rock in it that was brought back in 1969 from the Apollo 11 mission. Here is a great video of the window.

Bishop's Garden

I have shared so much with you and there is one more place I want to highlight, it is the Bishop's Garden. It was in bloom and so wonderful in April when I was there.

Details

I will end with some beautiful details

Share Our World Series

2022
Share Our World: The George Washington University
Share Our World: Washington Monument
Share Our World: The Sonoran Desert
Share Our World: Spring 2022 Round Garden
Share Our World: Winter Wonderland

2021 posts are here 4 Year Hive Birthday (2021)
All the 2020 posts are here 3 year anniversary on HIVE
All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

Logo
Center