Reminiscing My Visit to Venice, Italy

Venice is a popular travel destination in Italy.

Two and half years ago, I stayed two nights in Venice on my way to Rome to celebrate the Easter Tridium. It was my third time to visit Venice.

A souvenir from my first visit.

Water Taxi Ride

Photos and gif in this article by silversaver888

Taking a water taxi when arriving in the evening in Venice, Italy is most picturesque. Entering this gorgeous and historic Italian city of Venice through the Grand Canal is totally romantic.


The ambiance and colors of Venice are breathtaking and special in the evenings. The downside is: the fare between Marco Polo Airport and my hotel in central Venice is pricey!


My hotel was located by the waterside. The convenience of not having to walk some distance with my luggage in the evening on my first night in Venezia made taking water taxi a great use of travel money.


It took 20 to 30 minutes for the trip between Venice Marco Polo Airport and this waterside hotel in the city center. This photo was taken approaching my stop. Going under this popular bridge to disembark in front of the hotel was just an added thrill for me, and felt ceremonial, LOL!



Piazza Di San Marco

Photos and gif in this article by silversaver888

The top attractions on the Piazza Di San Marco are:

The Basilica di San Marco (St Mark’s Basilica) is the cathedral church of Venice. It houses Saint Mark’s relics.

[//]:# (!pinmapple 45.434974 lat 12.339931 long d3scr)

The Campanile di San Marco, the bell tower of St. Mark’s Basilica. It is the tallest building in Venice. At the top of the Tower is a golden statue that represents the archangel, Gabriel.

Here are 360 degrees views of the Piazzi di San Marco.


Palazzo Ducale, the Doge’s Palace was originally a fortified castle founded between the tenth and eleventh centuries. The building has been the doges residence and public offices since the old castle was built in 810. During nearly 1,000 years, 120 doges ruled over Venice from the Doge’s Palace.

[//]:# (!pinmapple 45.433792 lat 12.340392 long d3scr)


The Columns of Saint Mark and Saint Theodore The two columns are made of granite and marble and were placed near the entrance of the square in 1172. During the eighteenth century, public executions were held between the two pillars. You can see the Columns of Saint Mark and Saint Theodore on the photos above.

One of the rules of Piazza San Marco: it is forbidden to throw rubbish or feed the pigeons. Obviously, the rules are not enforced.



The Rialto Market

Photos and gif in this article by silversaver888

Let us go to the market!




And it was not the "busy" season yet!




Gelato burger!




Italian seasonings galore!



There is no farmable land here; so no meat, dairy or grains. Originally constructed of wood, the whole city was a fire hazard; so no wood-burning ovens for pizza. As a trading city though, Venice did have access to spices from around the world, not to mention endless access to fish.


I had Pasta al nero di seppia (Pasta in Squid Ink Sauce) for lunch!


It was delicious!

Here is a recipe of Pasta in Squid Ink Sauce. This is a recipe which I use.



I have many other photos to share with you, but chose mostly those that are not usually shown of Venice.

This last photo was taken the morning of Palm Sunday, as the palms that will be used for the celebration were being unloaded from the boat.

From Venice, I headed to Rome and celebrated the Paschal Triduum (Holy Thursday, Good Friday, and Holy Saturday) and Easter Sunday at the Vatican.


[//]:# (!pinmapple 45.488226 lat 12.315127 long d3scr)
♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

Oh, I'd like to share a memento during my first trip to Venice. I was 24 years old then. What can I say...

I am enamored by the city!


😍#ilikeitalot!😍


All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6, unless specified,

and were previously shown here.













Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!


Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!

@silversaver888

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
78 Comments
Ecency