An Afternoon stroll around Royal Leamington Spa

Hail to the Hive!

The first time we passed through Royal Leamington Spa we only got off the boat to do a grocery shop but this time I had an afternoon to spare so thought I'd grab my camera and go for a wander.

Coffee First Though!

IMG-8418.jpg

The bridge just beyond where we had moored the boat leads into the town centre so it shouldn't be to difficult to find my way.

IMG-8417.jpg

Within minutes I find myself among an array of barber shops and Tattoo parlours. My kind of area.

IMG-8396.jpg

and I do like that bike! Very nice.

IMG-8395.jpg

All Saints Church was right next to this area built in a gothic style in the 1800's

IMG-8397.jpg

adds a bit of class to the neighbourhood.

IMG-8398.jpg

Just around the corner from all saints there were a few parks to relax in.

IMG-8402.jpg

It's always nice to have these spaces in an urban setting and I think it does a lot to relax people who live and work in an urban area.

IMG-8401.jpg

I liked the gates to this park so decided as I only had an afternoon I'd take a wander around this one.

IMG-8404.jpg

Such a beautiful park with lots of things of interest to see. Whats that inside there?

IMG-8405.jpg

Ahh it's a memorial statue to the man the park is named after.

IMG-8406.jpg

He apparently believed in the health giving prperties of the local mineral water it says below..

IMG-8407.jpg

I've never rally understood why in the UK there are so many sun dials seeing as how the sun is very rarely showing itself in this country.

IMG-8408.jpg

Talk about a useless, yet beautiful, time piece.

Show yourself sun! I need to know the time, I could be late for an important meeting!

IMG-8409.jpg

I chose another exit to the park to make my way back to the canal and at each turn in leamington Spa there is beautiful architecture and engineering.

IMG-8411.jpg

IMG-8412.jpg

Apparently these locks symbolise peoples relationships. It's a practice I have seen on other bridges around the world.

IMG-8416.jpg

Writing your names on the locks, locking it to the bridge.....

IMG-8414.jpg

and then throwing the key into the water below.

IMG-8415.jpg

Time to head back to the boat but I couldn't resist taking a shot of the lovely graffiti boards in juxtaposition to the beautiful architecture of a time gone by. The old and the new fused by the waterside.

IMG-8400.jpg

I think I will return to Royal Leamington Spa and explore further when we pass this way in the near future. It has caught my attention and is a lovely place that I have barely scratched the surface of

SHGIF.gif

NEON.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency