Shibuya Sky 47 Stories Above Tokyo - Tokyo Travel #2

Shibuya Sky.jpeg

If you're like me and grew up in the 80's & 90's Blade Runner was a movie that had a huge impact on your life. If you wanted to visit the future, a future similar to Blade Runner, Tokyo was your go to city. Neon lights, endless buildings, tech and ramen. Irashai, irashai.

Screen Shot 2021-11-23 at 11.19.37 AM.png

When I first came to Tokyo 20 years ago I stepped into that Sci-fi world I had always dreamed of. It was a euphoric feeling I've only experienced a few times in my life. Back in October I had a chance to experience that euphoric feeling once again when I visited Shibuya Sky, a rooftop observation deck & lounge in the heart of Shibuya on top of the newly built Shibuya Scramble Skyscraper.

Sky11.jpg
(Shibuya Scramble is the building on the right)

As luck would have it I arrived just before 4pm on a Tuesday. I hadn't even thought about it, but the sun would be setting at just after 5pm so I had arrived at the perfect time to catch the daylight, the sunset and the evening lights.

After paying the $20 entry fee on the 14th floor a private elevator took me up to the 45th floor where I exited and took the escalator up to the 46th floor and the locker room.

IMG_1323.jpg

All hats, bags and other loose items must be placed in a locker so they aren't blown off the building or worse, thrown off to injure pedestrians below.

After storing your belongings you walk out onto the 46th floor viewing area and the amazing views begin. This area is only a small corner of the building looking North towards Shinjuku, but the view is incredible.

IMG_1324.jpg

Miyashita Park, which I have written about @rt395/miyashita-park-the-park-with-a-skate-park-in-shibuya, is bottom, center, right.

This section is only an appetizer though, a sneak peek of the panoramic views that follow as you make your way up the escalator to the rooftop.

IMG_1326.jpg

IMG_1330.jpg
This is no ordinary rooftop though. There is a bar/lounge here, closed due to COVID, as well as an elevated helipad covered in artificial grass where people can lounge at.

IMG_1333.jpg

Sky2.jpg

On the West side of the helipad there are hammocks installed facing Mt. Fuji incase you need a tan or a nap. I think I could see my house from here!

IMG_1338.jpg

Whoever thought up this rooftop was a genius. It has these simple amenities without being burdensome or overbearing, simple, wabi sabi.

The main attraction leaves you breathless. Enjoy these views!

IMG_1341.jpg

IMG_1344-1.jpg

IMG_1334.jpg

IMG_1357-1.jpg

IMG_1365.jpg

IMG_1348-1.jpg

IMG_1367.jpg

I stopped to take a break and check in on things at HIVE.

IMG_1368.jpg

As I sat there taking everything in the sun began to set and the experience just got better.

A silhouette of Mt. Fuji appeared and the city lights below began to beckon me.

IMG_1372.jpg

IMG_1379.jpg

IMG_1389.jpg

Sky4.jpg

Sky3.jpg

Sky5.jpg

IMG_1412.jpg

The contrast between the fading, natural light and the growing, artificial light was incredible.

Sky7.jpg

Sky8.jpg

Seeing the lights down at Shibuya Crossing I decided to finish my tour and dive into the excitement that awaited me below.

Sky9.jpg

Exiting Shibuya Sky takes you to the indoor portion of the 46th floor.

IMG_1431.jpg

It's mainly an open space to wander and ponder.

IMG_1434.jpg

The views here are amazing too though. Looking down on the Hikarie building.

IMG_1437-1.jpg

Tokyo Tower calls out.
IMG_1442.jpg

IMG_1443-1.jpg

IMG_1440.jpg

Paradise cafe offers you one last chance indulge on your experience.

IMG_1445.jpg

IMG_1444.jpg

And then you exit to the elevators back down to the world below.

It was a surreal experience for me and the only thing that could have made it better was my wife by my side. I'm looking forward to coming back with her now.

If I had to recommend only one place to visit while in Tokyo, it would be Shibuya Sky, just before sunset.

Shibuya Sky is located in the Shibuya Scramble skyscraper, adjacent to Shibuya Station. Admission is $20 and well worth it. For more detailed information their website is here:
https://www.shibuya-scramble-square.com/en/

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe....

Sky10.jpg

Alls photos taken with my iPhone 11.

Thanks For Reading.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency