Faret Art Park Tachikawa, Japan

Faret.jpeg

@Mizuosemla commented in my Tachikawa Green Springs post yesterday about how he/she liked the art which made me remember there is actually quite a bit of public art around Tachikawa, especially just outside Green Springs. So, here are photos of some of the sculptures you might see walking to Green Springs.

Faret2.jpg

*Faret, pronounced Fahrei, is a 5.9 hectare development with integrated art projects. It consists of 109 displays by 98 artists from 36 countries. The name comes from the Italian word Fare, which means to create. The T was added on the end for Tachikawa.

IMG_0409 copy.jpg

Now, I am no art connoisseur, but I do appreciate good, thought provoking design. I can especially relate to sculptures since I am a builder. Many of these pieces give me pause to look at the materials, design, colors, etc, more so than a painting. Some I just don't understand though.

IMG_0408 copy.jpg

I really appreciate pieces you can interact with, like this bench that sways a bit when you sit on it. Pray the stone slab above your head doesn't break!

IMG_9490.jpg

I imagine this piece was done by an African artist.

Faret3.jpg

I think this was my favorite piece.

IMG_0411 copy.jpg

The street just outside this walkway are lined with smaller sculptures.

IMG_0412 copy.jpg

IMG_0413 copy.jpg

Faret4.jpg

Back to the walkway looking towards Green Springs.

IMG_9488.jpg

IMG_9489.jpg

IMG_9491.jpg

IMG_9492.JPG

Another interactive piece, a chair.
IMG_9493.jpg

Looking at this block of granite, I am interested in how they split it to give it the textured face.

IMG_9494.jpg

And the last piece I took a picture of.

IMG_9495.jpg

Some of the art is incorporated into the buildings, like the above photo. This is just a sample of the many different art pieces.

Faret Tachikawa is about 5 minutes from the station and spans a few blocks.

Screen Shot 2021-07-19 at 6.38.39 PM.png

Faret has it's own website and even a navigational app for your phone!
Website - https://en.faretart.jp
Apple App - https://apps.apple.com/us/app/faret-tachikawa-art-navi/id1151280429

So there you have it, another reason to stop by Tachikawa if you are ever in Tokyo. IF you missed my Green Springs post it's here: @rt395/travel-to-green-springs-in-tachikawa-japan

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency