A Short Trekking in Yehembang Village

It was late morning on the day when I started trekking in Yehembang village. My uncle has agreed to take me trekking around the village because he also needed to go to his farm.

Located inland, this village was very lush. There were many plantation along the village road. It's quite obvious that most of the people living in this village were farmers. Many coconut trees grew along the road. There were also cocoa plants in between.

We kept on walking for about 20 minutes, then my uncle turned into a smaller road. He said, there was a valley by the side of the road. In the morning time, on a bright day, the view of the valley with the sun rising in the east was so magnificent. Shadows of trees, and plants were casted on the road in the early morning.

The road to the farm.

The valley.

We walked passed the valley. It still looked great even though there black clouds hanging on the sky.

From where we saw the valley, we continued off road. My uncle took a small path among the bushes by the road into his farm.

There were various plants growing everywhere. There were coconuts, nutmeg, bananas, vanilla, all growing at the same place. My uncle disappeared between those plantation.

While it was easy for him to walk between the plants, I had to struggle a bit to walk especially because it was a sloping ground.

Nutmeg.

Ferns growing in area of the farm.

Later, I met him again with a bunch of bananas. He put the bananas down on the ground, and cut them out from its main stem. All bananas then went into the sack he prepared before.

We stored the sack of bananas in safe place and continued to different part of the farm. As if from nowhere, Poppy, my uncle's dog showed up and joined the trekking.

Finally we got to the area where coconut trees were planted. We did not climb coconut trees to get coconuts. The old coconuts usually fall down from trees. My uncle collected some of the coconuts. He kept on warning me not to stand under a coconut tree, because a football-sized coconut may hit our head as it fell from the tree.

My uncle walked carrying coconuts followed by his dog, Poppy.

After we had the coconuts, my short trekking was over. We had about 12 coconuts altogether. I carried 4 of them to my uncle's house.

It's not over for my uncle. As we arrived at his house, he went to a small open building in the backyard with all the coconuts. He peeled all the coconuts with a machete. Then he gave me ten coconuts to bring home. "These are souvenirs from the village," he said.

That was my short trekking. My uncle said there were other places to explore: some under ground water tunnels in in the farm. I will go there another time, and share my experience here.

Thanks.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency