Oslo Reptile Zoo - One of our favorite places when visiting Oslo

Oslo Reptile Zoo

A good while ago me and @emuse went to Oslo for the autumn break and to celebrate her birthday. I talked about our first day in the capital in this post about five weeks ago. I was meant to do a little series of our trip over that week but I ended up getting swamped with work and forgetting about it. Luckily my iPhone has this feature where it reminds me of the good times I've had by putting together a little picture collage.

We've been to Oslo before this and while we love the pinball bar I talked about in the last post (we went there again this day) there's another place we've visited every time we've been to Oslo. That's the Oslo Reptile Zoo. We both love animals and I find reptiles to be particularly awesome. I love their scaly patterns and their bright colors.

We went in the middle of the day and was a little bit unlucky with the timing as it was full of kids. We took our time and walked around for a bit until it calmed down and I was able to get some pretty awesome photos of these animals if I dare say so myself. This will be quite a picture heavy post with some text here and there.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


Lowering my exposure

One thing that sucked was that the terrariums and the hallways were blasted with lights. It made it really hard to get some good pictures through the glass walls. I eventually got the idea of lowering the exposure on my iPhones camera and it worked wonders. When I did that we had to go a whole new round of the zoo just to take pictures. At least there were less kids this other time around.

You'll notice this next set of pictures will have darker surroundings because of that. I thought that made the pictures really cool especially when I managed to get the animals in a good position and posture.

image.png

image.png

image.png


Snakes

This next guy is peaking his head out of the lumber to be like "hey wanna buy some drugsssss?". They had a bunch of awesome snakes but they were always hiding themselves in their caves or corners so it was hard getting good pictures of them. I did get a few of them though.

image.png

image.png

Blue Geckos

Apart from the silk monkeys I'll be showing off towards the ends these little blue geckos were one of my favorite reptiles in the zoo. They're just so small, cute and colorful and they always look like they have a smile on their face. Even though they don't have face muscles they look so expressive in their faces. We were lucky to get this lil' guy to pose on his branch for us. Love these pictures I snapped of him.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Silk Monkeys

Here they come. My definite favorite animals in this whole zoo. Not reptiles at all but cute lil' slik monkeys. These guys are so cute with their little faces and bushy hairdos. They somehow look like old men to me. These guys are quite active so there's some patience involved in getting good pictures of them. That wasn't an issue for me though. I would gladly stand here just observing these guys for hours if I could. Everything is just so cool about them.

With great patience comes great reward however and in the end I was able to snap a decent amount of cool pictures of these guys. The hardest part was getting a good focus on them and finding a good balance for the exposure so the pictures wouldn't become oversaturated.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

They also had some western pygmy marmosets (picture) but these guys were to energetic and wild to get a picture of. They're related to the silk monkeys but a little bit smaller and without the bushy hairdo.

One thing we learned after visiting here is that they've opened a reptile zoo in Bergen where we live as well. We definitely have to go there sometime soon to check out what they have. I did see some sad news that they lost their silk monkeys recently due to sickness and that made me really sad.


Golden sushis and comedy

Later that evening we had ourselves a night out. We went to get some sushi before going to a comedy show. I'm not one to photograph my food every time I eat so you'll just have to imagine how a gold coated maki roll looks like.

The show was called Latter Live which is a show that gets recorded for TV where 10 comedians get five minutes of standup each so it's kind a of a marathon of comedy.

What's funny is that one of the guys performing is our neighbor in Bergen which basically means we flew for an hour to another city to have our neighbor make us laugh. Luckily there were other comedians both experiences and inexperienced. All of them made us laugh however and one of them was barely 20 years old which means the future of comedy in Norway is in good hands.

image.png

I have one more set of pictures from this trip that will come in a separate post. Let's hope I manage to get around to posting them before five weeks. I hope you enjoyed looking at all of these awesome reptiles!


All images in this post are taken by me.

Follow me on: 3Speak | PeakD | Hive.Blog

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency