LEYTE, PHILIPPINES (PART 4): Are you a lakeaholic?

Photo Background Minimal Text Facebook Post (1).png

Wait, what? Are we really down to the last gem of the Leyte Peninsula that I visited with my college buddies back in 2016. I can remember typing word after word for the first Leyte adventure and now we're ending yet another Province?

Before we could even finish the last chapter and seal this Leyte/Southern Leyte book under the "Happy Ever After" Travel Collections of mine, it's but right to reminisce where we went and what we did.

Here's a quick run-through from Day 1 where we felt small standing on top of the country's highest bridge, to Day 2 where we had a great view atop Mt. Hanginan, and in Day 3 where we were captivated with Canigao's pristine charm. [If you haven't read them, links are below. You're welcome! šŸ˜Š]


Hive_Leyte_Day1.png


Hive_Leyte_Day2 (1).png


Light Blue Traveling And Vacation Instagram Post.png


Let's now focus on the featured travel destination for today.

Every time I bring you to a new place, you also get to know me more. And you'll be knowing me more as I look back on this day more than five (5) years ago.

Lakes aren't my cup of tea. On top of caves, I'm not such a big fan of lakes. The reason behind this is simple: I don't know how to swim. It was only in February 2017 when I learned how to swim, more of how to float haha! šŸ¤£ The reason why I didn't learn to swim earlier is that it terrifies me if I can't see the bottom of the ocean. If the ocean floor is too dark, it's a no, no for me. You'd find me wearing a life vest and just hanging around the boat's perimeter (just in case something happens, I'll just shout and the boatman will surely rescue me).

But of course, when Maerose and her family decided to bring us here during our last day in Leyte, who am I to say no, right?

DSC_1287.JPG

Lake Danao is a long ride away from Ormoc City proper (about 17 kilometers). I can remember passing by acres after acres of green meadows and fields either waiting for harvest or waiting for the planting season. I didn't take a lot of photos on our way to Lake Danao tho. It was Day 4 and if you've been following our adventure, we've had a fair share of thrill as well as body aches and sunburns. I didn't have enough energy to continue taking photos while on our way to Lake Danao. But I can clearly recall that we came to a point where there was just fog all around us and everywhere you look were just colors of the earth: green, brown, and the gloomy blue sky above us.

DSC_1306.JPG

Then there she is... waiting to be discovered, waiting to be part of the stories that kids will tell to their friends when they go back to school after that summer.

DSC_1217 (2).JPG

We rented a cottage by the lake. This was the view from our cottage. It was getting gloomy minute after minute and this added thrill to the already haunting idea of lakes inside my brain. Or maybe I watched too many movies about lakes luring tourists only to be eaten by snakes alive and whole.

DSC_1202.JPG

Other tourist rented floating cottages just like this:

DSC_1200.JPG

There's a shallow part of the lake where people can swim, even the nonswimmers. But even if it's safe, I was hesitant to make my way to the waters.

DSC_1183.JPG

We had lunch by the lake. It was pretty relaxing to just eat lunch and take in all this wonder of nature can give. Then, we saw people kayaking and this sparked an idea. An idea I despised deep inside.

DSC_1201.JPG

The idea didn't entice me. Well, it did, but 80% was purely hesitation and doubts and fears that I might drown in the case when the kayak will capsize. I know, I know, there's no strong wind nor strong current or waves but basing only on the kind of company my friends and I share, we can be overly ecstatic like unstoppable 3-year old kids. And that might be enough to turn overturn a small boat.

We rented a small, wooden boat that can fit the four of us. John and Ning were on one side.

DSC_1274.JPG

While Maerose and I sat on the opposite side. It was a good thing that we're only four (4) in the group. This way, there's a balance on the boat. If ever we're five (5), one person will surely have to wait in our cottage and we'd just take turns in riding.

DSC_1278.JPG

As you can see there were no life vests. So we had to be very careful not to move so much or else we'll be shouting for help. Surely, I'll be the first one to shout. šŸ¤£ Luckily, no accidents or any life-threatening event happened during the conduct of this activity.

We even had the balls to take photos as if sitting on the boat wasn't scary enough. Here are some photos snapped during our kayaking in Lake Danao:

DSC_1224.JPG

DSC_1220.JPG

DSC_1199.JPG

DSC_1247.JPG

DSC_1253.JPG

DSC_1252.JPG

DSC_1257.JPG

Here's John trying to nail his pegged travel shots:

DSC_1232.JPG

DSC_1230.JPG

While I am so afraid the entire time we were on that boat, we passed by some fishermen. Look how chill they all are. And there I was shaking deep inside. Haha!

DSC_1218.JPG

Here are more shots of Lake Danao:

DSC_1184.JPG

DSC_1185.JPG

DSC_1192.JPG

DSC_1191.JPG

Before the rain could even bother our lively souls, we headed back to Hilongos where we'll be riding the overnight boat ride back to Cebu. Sadly, as any journey, this one ended but glad it ended with happy and grateful hearts!

DSC_1304.JPG


Fellow wanderers, we're done revisiting the Provinces of Leyte and Southern Leyte. You are all awesome for joining me on my #Project81PH journey since the day I started writing here in Hive! This gives me more reason to continue doing what I love doing! šŸŽ‰šŸŽ‰šŸŽ‰

And today, I'm also revealing where we will go next. Drumroll, please!

āœØCORDILLERA AND CENTRAL LUZON!āœØ

I'm taking you to:

šŸ“Mt. Pulag
šŸ“Baguio
šŸ“Aurora
šŸ“Nueva Ecija
šŸ“Pampanga

Are you excited for a new leg of #Project81PH? So am I! Fasten your seatbelt for the next destinations. See you in the next post! āœˆļø


IMG_20190518_173638.jpg

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that thereā€™s no limit to oneā€™s potentials. Right now, sheā€™s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes thereā€™s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where thereā€™s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ā¤ļø

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency