BILIRAN ISLAND (PART 2) - Falls Be With You

Hive_Sambawan_Title Photo.png

Hey there! It's Patsitivity again! What can I offer you today? Hmmm...🤔 As promised, I'm here to continue sharing my Biliran Escapade with my Bogo Familly.

Last time, I shared with you my serene experience in Sambawan Island, Biliran. Join me today as I revisit Day 2 of our Biliran Trip. Let's go! 😊


To be honest, when someone asks me what can one possibly do in Biliran, the only thing I can think of is just exploring Sambawan Island. That's it! End of story. But Day 2 of our Biliran Trip unfolded fascinating gems that Biliran has been hiding from me all these years. I mean how can I not know that Biliran is such a beautiful Province until I went there last 2019? It's either it was hidden all these years or I just didn't research enough to realize how magnificent it is.

1.png

2.png

We docked in Kawayan from Sambawan and traveled around forty (40) kilometers to Caibiran, Biliran to reach our first destination for the day. We were still on board Sean's car. The good thing about having a friend to drive for us is, yup, obviously from what you can see in the photo, we can sleep soundly and not worry about anything until we reach our destination. A harsh reality for our driver friends! 😂


TOMALISTIS FALLS IN CAIBIRAN, BILIRAN
Some things are not worth it 💔


7.png

Did you read the caption for this portion of my story? If not, go back and read that again.

Yup, not all destination is worth it, unfortunately, including this one! Read on to find out why.😞

Although Sean and Maerose are from Eastern Visayas, they're not familiar with Biliran. So we hired someone who can show us around. I forgot Kuya's name already but he told us that we should go to Tomalistis Falls. When we got there, we stretched our muscles a bit, took some photos before going down to where the falls is located.

3.png

Cebu takes pride in a number of amazing waterfalls but I couldn't recall having to go down such a steep hill just to reach a waterfall.

"We didn't sign up for this". 😠Halfway down the steep hill, everyone was complaining that the road going down seems to be endless. Our sleepy souls suddenly felt so alive. The steepness woke us up and took the hangover away. It was too steep that even when we're still going down, we were already thinking about the difficult journey going up after we see the falls. 🤣

After the cemented steps, some makeshift wooden bridge made from bamboo welcomed us. With this, I discourage elderly people who have problems with their knees to visit this place.

4.png

A few more steps and this greeted us. Wait! If you're asking me if you're indeed seeing an open sea with cottages ready to take as many guests that day (This was pre-covid so no social distancing to consider), I had no clue as well. But what you see is what you get!

I remember signing up for a day tour to as many waterwalls as we can visit that day, but not this! Continue reading tho to find out what we saw next.

5.png

6.png

When we reached Tomalistis, we were disappointed to the bones. Tomalistis is located on that cliff by the open sea. The water coming from the falls flows directly to the ocean. Although, as you can see, Jelo might seem to be enjoying his first bath after drinking hard liquor directly from the bottle the night before, the rest of us didn't take a bath.

8.png

Everyone was disappointed; we were expecting some massive falls to set the mood for the day. But we're here anyway, so we took photos and pretended we were excited about going up the steep slope later when we're done here. Goodluck! 🤣

9.png

If you'll go here for the beach, I must say that it's perfect. Although I haven't seen a shoreline there but the water was inviting just as any typical beach in the Philippines. But, just like us, if you'll go there for the falls alone, maybe you should reconsider it! This is not a warning, just a piece of friendly advice!😊


TINAGO FALLS IN CAIBIRAN, BILIRAN
This is what we were looking for


16.png

About 16 kilometers away from Tomalistis Falls, still in the town of Caibiran, we found what we were looking for!

We still need to walk and go down a few steps but not as steep as the pathway to Tomalistis. We're so done with the steep hillside! 😂

10.png

A few more meters and ... tada!!! We found this gem. I couldn't believe what my eyes were seeing. Tinago which means hidden in English is indeed a name that suits this place. It's a hidden gem revealing itself to us as if it knew we were longing to experience what Biliran can truly offer during our visit. It was too big that it can still accommodate more people. ❤️

11.png

12.png

Snapped some photos and without wasting time we immersed ourselves into the ice-cold water of Tinago Falls! If it's not yet clear how happy we were to be here, the next photos will prove it. Haha! 😂

14.png

15.png

Dozens of crazy pictures with the craziest bunch of people I know! Definitely no boring moments with my Bogo Family! If you ask me what kind of vitamins we took when we were toddlers, I don't know. Haha! It's just that our energy factory seems to be up and running 24/7! ❤️

17.png

Striking a few more poses before we say goodbye to Tinago Falls.

13.png

19.png

Excuse me, please allow me to highlight my chubby cheeks here! Haha! 🤣 I've lost some pounds since this travel.

18.png

Just a fun fact, below is my signature pose. Honestly tho, I don't pose just for the picture. I really like looking back at any place I go to before I leave and take that final glance. As the photographer says 1,2,3, I intently look at the beautiful scenery in front of me and savor it while it lasts.

20.png

We don't want to say goodbye to Tinago, but we still have one to two more falls to visit. So with a heavy heart, we took off and started the last leg of Day 2's adventure.


ULAN-ULAN FALLS IN ALMERIA, BILIRAN
Last but definitely not the least


Save for Later.png

It was past two (2) or three (3) in the afternoon when we reached Ulan-Ulan Falls located in Almeria, Biliran. As our guide mentioned, there were two falls to visit in one site. Isn't it fascinating?

We decided to go to Level 2 first before the main event. This time we had to walk into the woods and across the edge of some rock formation which requires zero to minimal margin of error. Scary, but you have to focus or else you'll find yourself 60-80 meters below with no signs of life.

22.png

21.png

Picture taking again, we surely love posing in front of the camera! 😁

24.png

Then we went down to Level 1 to meet our final, and as they've been telling us, the best destination of the day. Help us verify this!

27.png

She's the tallest of the three waterfalls we've visited that day. And even at a distance, you'd see how magical this one is. No words, just peace and joy deep inside each one of us as the realization of how blessed we were to be given an opportunity to be here finally sank in. ❤️

25.png

26.png


There you go! That's Day 2 of our Biliran Trip. Imagine I've been keeping all these photos in my hard drive all these years without uploading a single one! Now I get why my friends don't trust me in matters like this! What I meant by uploading the photos after one month is uploading it after two years or more! I'm hilarious!😅 But it's never too late, I guess!

I've realized that we need these photos out for people to see that the Philippines is not only about Palawan. Don't get me wrong, I love Palawan. What I'm trying to arrive at is that there's more to Palawan, Boracay, Bohol, and all other mainstream tourist spots in the Philippines. And I couldn't wait to take you to all these hidden gems one of these days, should we go to Tawi-tawi in my next posts? 🤔

Wait, did you forget there's Part 3 of my Biliran Trip with my Bogo Family? Haha! Let's finish that first before we move on to the next Philippine gem waiting to be unraveled.

I'll see you next time! Stay safe fellas! 😊


IMG_20190518_173638.jpg


Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potentials. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency