WWII Bunker/pillbox/watchtower hunting South East of Athens

This time I want to share with you the odd co existence of nature's beauty with the ugliness of war relics. The following content is a several days result of driving and hiking around the South East end of Attiki region. All pictures and videos are fresh though few of those places were initially explored by me years ago (and revisited now). At this point I want to give credits to http://fortifications.gr/ as a source for some important military details. Without it I would never know what kind of equipment was used in those places.

Ready? Let's go.

This part of the region, surrounded by sea was a very strategic area from the ancient years as it gives you the chance to observe and control marine traffic of a huge area from one single point (like for example Sounio where ancient Greeks used to have a fortress). As I walk towards my first target I have the sea on my left hand offering a unique show under the (rare for early June) cloudy sky:
DSC_0001.jpg

Great company for those cute thyme bushes:

DSC_0002.jpgDSC_0003.jpg

Climbing up the hill the view doesn't get any worse. Or maybe it's even better?
DSC_0005.jpg

A bit of a struggle to climb up to the top with all those loose stones but worth the effort:

DSC_0006.jpgDSC_0007.jpgDSC_0008.jpg

Spoiler: The above watchtower shot from 3 different angles is among the smallest ones I'll post, if not the sole smallest one. It is lucky to survive as it was about to be demolished in favour of a house that would be built in its place. Due to lack of money and/or legal issues the house wasn't built and today one can only see the attempt for its foundation a few steps away:

DSC_0011.jpg

Curious about the view of this house or (even more intriguing) what those (Italian or German) soldiers were enjoying at times they were not busy killing or trying not to be killed?

DSC_0009.jpgDSC_0010.jpg

Not bad eh? The following view is not bad either as I walk down the hill to my next target but look
how talented are humans in spoiling heaven with concrete POS:

DSC_0012.jpg

Minutes later right by the sea is where a medium sized pillbox patiently waits:

DSC_0014.jpg

You can see how the difference of its purpose (opposed to the previous watchtower) is reflected in its smaller windows:

DSC_0017.jpgDSC_0018.jpgDSC_0024.jpg

Here's an attempt to show you its (not precisely accessible) inside:

DSC_0016.jpg

With all those cracks it has it's a great object for observation by Technical University students:

DSC_0019.jpgDSC_0020.jpgDSC_0022.jpg

For non engineers here's how this happen: Concrete has great resistance to "pushing" forces but breaks easily to "pulling" ones. That's why us humans put rods of iron in it. Iron gets oxidised (especially in extra corrosive environments like this one by the sea) and then expands applying forces to the concrete that the latter cannot handle. Have a look how the corrosive air from the sea (and the sea itself) turn iron to practically (and sometimes literally) dust:
DSC_0023.jpg

They say "rust never sleeps" for a reason...

Not sure are not bored by this technical parenthesis so I'll bribe you with some flowers I find on my way, well taken care by humans:

DSC_0026.jpgDSC_0027.jpgDSC_0028.jpg

Another day exploring leftovers of WWII, my car takes me as close as possible to my next target and I continue hiking:

DSC_0029.jpg

Halfway to the top I find signs of a more contemporary war, this one against birds:
DSC_0030.jpg

You see the area is famous for its Quails and Partridges and some of them end up at a hunter's dish.

On the top of the hill I find one of my richest findings: The ruins of a whole complex that used to belong to a WWII Italian artillery. Up there Italians used to have 4 cannons - each circular base of them you that you see below has a diameter of 8 meters:

DSC_0031.jpgDSC_0038.jpg
DSC_0041.jpgDSC_0042.jpg

Once a pillbox (of the 3 back in the day), now just a pile of stones:
DSC_0043.jpg

No surprise they had lots of trenches up there as well:

DSC_0033.jpgDSC_0035.jpgDSC_0039.jpg

Once again, I turn my back to the sad stories and enjoy the view for a moment:

DSC_0044.jpgDSC_0040.jpg

As I start leaving these Italian ruins behind me I think how funny it is that today I might have more friends in Italy than in Greece. Actually, now that I think more about it the same might apply for Germany too. Times are changing aren't they?.

I head for the beach of Legrena, not far from that hill, where more WWII stuff is waiting. It's a marvellous beach and a place that attracts a lot of birds hence the signs informing visitors about the rich fauna for the area:

DSC_0046.jpgDSC_0047.jpg

I'll place this image below and let you imagine the reason for me "WTF" face of me as I look at this property:
DSC_0048.jpg

Not obvious? Let me zoom in:
DSC_0048b.jpg

Yep, the guy either built around the WWII pillbox or kept the cannon on his rooftop. Here's one more:
DSC_0066.jpg

I picture the lovely beach (an early bird like me caught it empty) before I collect more WWII stuff:
DSC_0049.jpg

The guy with the property you saw before has actually made use of all the WWII stuff he found around including this bunker:

DSC_0050.jpgDSC_0051.jpg

However, the cannon you saw on his roof is not the only one - look at this:

DSC_0052.jpgDSC_0053.jpgDSC_0057.jpg

Weird AF. Not the view though:
DSC_0058.jpg

At the spot I find this construction made from cement and stone that some say it used to act as a dock for hydroplanes back in the 30s:
DSC_0055.jpg

On my way back I find the only accessible gun standing alone and rotten over the bunker you saw before:

DSC_0060.jpgDSC_0061.jpg
DSC_0062.jpgDSC_0064.jpg

Don't laugh at its conditions, it's actually a small miracle it has a minimum of integrity exposed in extreme corrosive conditions for more than 7 centuries. Below is the entrance of the bunker that this gun used to protect:
DSC_0065.jpg

I leave the place behind and drive up to Sounio as there's more to see. I park the car and start hiking the hill which right before the top offers me the following view:
DSC_0078.jpg

The top of the hill offers me less scenic ruins of WWII but important nevertheless. This spot used to host a German artillery hence the stone constructions you see below:

DSC_0079.jpgDSC_0080.jpg

The artillery used to have a Wurzburg Riese radar up there, today we can only see it's concrete case:

DSC_0081.jpgDSC_0082.jpg

I assume this used to host a cannon willing to shut down enemy planes:

DSC_0083.jpgDSC_0084.jpg

Fortunately it didn't shut down the Temple of Poseidon at Sounio though it had effortless view to it:

DSC_0086.jpg

At this point it's a good chance to remember an Ancient Greek saying meaning more or less "nothing bad happens without a benefit". In this case, Hitler being an ancient Greek heritage adorer he left our antiquities unharmed while he showed less mercy for other places like for example Athens's port (Piraias) which he bombed (and since there's antiquities almost everywhere around there I can't promise we didn't lose any during those operations).

I leave that hill behind and drive the car close to another one for further exploration. As I walk up I regret not parking my car closer under the shade of those lovely pine trees:

DSC_0100.jpgDSC_0088.jpg

First world problems...

On top of the hill I find a circular stone construction of 12 meters diameter, supposed to host a Freya German radar. It's in bad shape today:

DSC_0093.jpgDSC_0094.jpg

The following used to be a watchtower/pillbox:

DSC_0095.jpgDSC_0097.jpg

Which in the absence of danger is a fantastic viewpoint:
DSC_0096.jpg

Hellas is in no scarcity of ruins with a view:

DSC_0098.jpg

Time to hike one more hill:
DSC_0101.jpg

It's right next to the previous one. The ruins I find on its top look like a German bunker to me but it's quite destroyed (bombed back in the day?) and I can't tell much more about it:

DSC_0102.jpgDSC_0103.jpg
DSC_0105.jpgDSC_0106.jpg

Here's a clip I shot in this one, sorry if you see my fingers in front of the camera in the middle of the clip but I was trying to get rid off a spider while trying to keep a steady hand and remain silent 😄:


Are you still with me? Hope so cause now I take you to a lovely little bay for the next one.
Isn't this sweet?

DSC_0110.JPG

At this small fishermen's nest is where my last finding is, struggling to survive the elements of the sea:

DSC_0111.JPGDSC_0112.JPG

This one is an Italian pillbox, today used as storage room from the local fishermen who also paint it from time to time. Maybe I shouldn't have mentioned the obvious. I mean...who would be paint a pillbox white?

DSC_0113.JPGDSC_0114.JPGDSC_0115.JPG

The next hilarious panoramic is only here to give you an idea about the view - not to win a photo contest (trust me it's mainly the stitching software to blame, I've taken much better ones with much less care than I showed on this one):

DSC_0116.JPG

I hope you enjoyed those contradictory images,

See you on the next one!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency