Watching Oppenheimer reminded me of that time in Hiroshima

Hello everybody and welcome to another travel post of mine. For anyone who's new here, welcome! My (cyber)name is nomnomnoodle, a full-time foodie and a part-time traveler from Thailand. For now, just these 2, but I figured when I´m confident enough to write a post about something other than these 2, I´ll then embrace more sides of me.

Last couple of days, I went to the cinema and watched Oppenheimer, aka the father of the atomic bomb, the destruction that put an end to World War II. And of course, Nolan always reaches our expectations. The biographical movie is neatly and cinematically done and needless to say, I was impressed and reminded of the unfortunate history of WWII. As a consequence, I want to write a post about the time I went to Hiroshima with my family back in 2018 and show you guys the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum that I visited.

Me writing this post with such empathetic feelings for all losses and pray that our world never has to face anything horrible like that again. So, it´s our duty to learn from our past and this museum is one of the places that struck me hard. It might be some disturbing objects from the museum that makes you feel uneasy, but nothing bloody or scary, I promise.

Here we go, in 2018 we took a train for a day trip in Hiroshima.
Screenshot 2023-07-25 192317.jpg

IMG_2310.JPG

Coming out of the station, the first thing we saw are the origami paper birds, the symbol of peace.
agimvlo9.jpg

We walked to the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum. We can see the ruined building "A-bomb dome". The bomb was detonated almost right above this dome.

IMG_2331.JPG

IMG_2315.JPG

IMG_2314.JPG

IMG_2313.JPG
"The ruin shall be preserved forever"

IMG_2319.JPG

IMG_2322.JPG

Screenshot 2023-07-25 194126.png
The actual roof tile that they picked up from the water.

Then there´s a memorial for the loss.
IMG_2345.JPG

IMG_2347.JPG

You can see a lot of art, painting.
IMG_2350.JPG

Peace
IMG_2353.JPG

IMG_2365.JPG

It´s time to go inside the museum. "No more Hiroshimas."
IMG_2383.JPG

The size of the bomb compared to a human.
IMG_2384.JPG

The damage of the bomb on a single glass bottle, compared to a normal glass bottle.
IMG_2390.JPG

IMG_2393.JPG

The glass
IMG_2398.JPG

The fused lump of small glass bottles. Shows how hot it was.
IMG_2400.JPG

This is a school uniform that was donated by 2 families of the boys who were deceased, The cap and belt were donated by the Kurakichi family, and the school uniform by the mother of Fukuoka Hajime.
IMG_2394.JPG

The dress. She managed to crawl out from the ruin but unfortunately died afterward.
IMG_2408.JPG
I also heard in some survival video saying that wearing white clothes did help deflected some radiation too.

The rusted tricycle was buried for 40 years before it was brought to the museum.
IMG_2395.JPG

The melted lamp.
IMG_2407.JPG

"Help me"
"Water please"
IMG_2401.JPG

IMG_2402.JPG

"That was hell."
IMG_2406.JPG

We left the museum very heartbroken and even now that I wrote about it, still very hard for me to not be emotional for the victims. Still, being able to learn and see how many people desire no more war. I'm hopeful and determined to be one of the forces to pass and move forward to the next generation as a lesson for humankind to never repeat this tragedy ever again.

Thank you so much for sharing this experience with me and I´ll see you in the next post.
Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now