Observatorium Bosscha, A Fun Trip to Learn Astronomy

Hi everyone. Are you okay? The last few days, the wind was so strong in Jakarta. Scary. It rains often. Several areas in Jakarta, often hit by floods. Hopefully this year isn't too bad. Ah yes, I also read news about the new variant of covid-19. Turns out, the pandemic isn't over yet. Hope you can take care of your health. don't forget to wear a mask.

This place is very impressive to me. This is a great place. Oh yes, I want to let you know, if the photo of this post is a gift from my friends. I got this photo from many friends who are photographers. As long as I was a journalist, I never kept a photo. I always rely on my friends. This time I asked my friends to get these photos.

boscha.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



I frequent this place because I became a journalist. There are many stories that I make every time I visit this place. There are binoculars or eclipse that I can make as news. One more thing, every month of Ramadan arrives, this place becomes mandatory coverage for journalists. Yes, because this is the place where fasting begins.

What's the name of the place? Yes, Bossha Observatory. This place is one of the interesting tourist attractions in Bandung. Of course, every year there are many students who visit this place. Educational journey. They named it that way. In this place, you can see the beauty of the moon and stars through large binoculars.

boscha1.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



boscha2.jpg
Picture By Nurdiani latifah

boscha3.jpg
Picture By Nurdiani latifah



boscha4.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



For those of you who are very interested in astronomy, this place is a good place to study. You can learn astronomy on the way. At that time, I was interested in astronomy. Currently, I am more interested in social sciences. But, when I was 10 years old, I could never visit this place. I always envy my friends who can visit this place with their parents.

OK, let's move on to another story. This place became one of the oldest stars in Indonesia. This place has been under construction for a long time. This place is almost trying 1 century. as well as one of the telescopes in this place. Perhaps, built by the Dutch government. The building is old. But, when it comes to stargazing, you will be amazed by the enormous binoculars.

boscha5.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



boscha6.jpg
Picture By Nurdiani latifah

boscha7.jpg
Picture By Nurdiani latifah



You don't have to worry, this place is earthquake resistant. I had an earthquake when I was in that place. The building remains solid. This place has several telescopes. There is a very large telescope called the Zeiss Telescope. Next there are the Unitron telescope, the Schmidt telescope, Bamberg and Goto. Everything is still very good to use.

If you visit this place, you can find out how it works from the Zeiss Telescope. If the weather is favorable, you can do binoculars using the Protable telescope and the Bamberg Telescope. You can see the stars and moon in the sky with a telescope. In addition, using the telescope, you can visit the multimedia room for information on astronomy. there are many things you can know if you visit this place.

boscha7 (1).jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah




boscha9.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



boscha10.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



The Zeiss telescope is almost a century old. This telescope can see double stars. Reportedly, to bring this telescope is very difficult. The journey was not easy. Of course, this telescope is a relic of Dutch colonialism. This telescope is very important for the development of science (astronomy) in Indonesia. We need to thank you, Even this telescope is still working very well

Then, how about this place? Did you know, if this place is older than the age of Indonesia? This place was built in 1923 by the Star Association of the Dutch East Indies. The construction of this place took five years. With the aim, to advance astronomy in the Dutch East Indies. actually, Bosscha is someone who is very meritorious for this place. Karel Albert Bosscha. He was the professor of Soekarno, the first president of Indonesia.

boscha11.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



boscha12.jpg
Picture By Nurdiani latifah

boscha13.jpg
Picture By Nurdiani latifah



Bosscha also became a major donor in the construction of this place, he paid the funds for the binoculars star. After Indonesia's independence, the Dutch East Indies Star Assembly handed over its workshop to the Indonesian government. I don't know when this place was handed over to the Indonesian government. Exactly in 1951.

Not long after that, the Bandung Institute of Technology was founded. Bosscha became part of ITB. Its function, as a formal astronomical institution. This is a brief history of the places I visit most often. Interested to visit this place? I hope you are interested in visiting this place.

boscha14.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



boscha15.jpg
Picture By Nurdiani latifah

boscha16.jpg
Picture By Nurdiani latifah



Then, what if you want to visit this place? but, I don't know what the rules are to visit during the pandemic. Before the pandemic, this place was open for visits. There is day and night. For the daily price is relatively cheap. IDR 15,000. at night, IDR 20,000, however, visiting time is limited only from 17.00 - 20.00. Only Tuesday to Saturday. The visiting time is divided into three sessions. Each session a maximum of 200 people. Too much, right? But, you don't have to worry.

This place is so spacious. You can also alternate stargazing with binoculars. For those who want to visit at night, it is only open from 17.00 - 20.00. Well, it just opened in April-October. Every year, this place is visited by 60,000 visitors. 40 percent of that amount came from the band. The rest are from Jakarta. So that's my story. Hopefully this story adds to your insight. Hope to try and visit this place too.

boscha17.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah





About Author

Nurdiani Latifah

My name is Nurdiani Latifah. I currently live in Jakarta – Indonesia, after 25 years I live in Bandung. I am a media staff at an NGO in Indonesia. I have worked in this institution for almost 2 years on issues of women and peace. I had been a journalist in Bandung for 3 years.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency