Petrovaradin fortress, City Museum of Novi Sad visit and Absolut club coffee break

It was another beautiful and sunny day in Novi Sad, perfect for a long walk and outdoor activities so Mirai and I decided to go to Petrovaradin fortress which is a must when visiting Novi Sad. Since the City Museum of Novi Sad is located at the fortress, we took a chance to visit as well and then had a coffee break in one of my favorite spots when I was a student called Absolut Club, located in the city center.


Petrovaradin fortress

1.jpg

Walking along the river on Novi Sad side, on our way to cross the bridge that leads to Petrovaradin and the fortress. It's probably the prettiest view from both sides of the river and also from the bridge. Next time I have to make sure to take photos of narrow, cute, mostly pastel colored streets of Petrovaradin that still get my attention after all these years.


Walking around the fortress is an exercise itself but it's definitely worth taking time to see everything. It's a 241 year old fortification with so many interesting historical facts and definitely 'a must see' for tourist but it's also a favorite place for many locals, something we are proud to show and leaving Novi Sad without visiting the fortress would be considered a sin. :)


4.jpg

There's a few amazing spots with beautiful views, a restaurant looking over the city of Novi Sad and so many small pathways that look stunning during this time of the year, when fall is starting to show off its colors.


5.jpg


City Museum of Novi Sad

6.jpg

A lot of people find it unusual that we have two museums located right next to each other - one is a proper museum and the other one is a Museum night club, how symbolic! To be completely honest, I have mixed feelings about it, one part of me things it's kind of cool but the other one thinks it's a little bit too much.


7.jpg

Another thing I have to say honestly is that I don't really go to museums and as a local, this was my first time visiting this one. I always find Departments of Ethnology, Cultural History and Archaeology the most interesting to look at. Seeing what people used, especially in their everyday life and how it was made many years ago always gets my attention.


8.jpg

Being part of the fortress, this little tunnel leads to a very deep well which makes this museum unique compared to other Serbian museums.


Exibition "Kretanje prostora" ("Space movement") by a local painter and sculptor Djordje Lazic - Capsa is really fascinating to look at! With natural materials being used to create this outstanding exhibition, it's really something I have never seen before.


11.jpg


Absolut club

Coming back to the city center, I thought it would be nice to show my boyfriend Absolut club because the ambiance of this place kind of fits overall vibe of our day. :) I used to come here often when I was a student and my favorite things about Absolut is the interior design, the fact this was once an apartment and still has that vibe, super chill atmosphere and decent coffee.


14.jpg


I hope you enjoyed this mini tour of Novi Sad from my perspective as a local re-visiting places but also having new experiences as well. Thank you for stopping by and checking out this post! :)


banner.png

Photos taken by @nikolina and Mirai

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency