One day trip to Subotica, Serbia - Part II

Hello and welcome to part two of our daily trip to Subotica, a city located in the North of Serbia, very close to the Hungarian border. This trip happened on October 5th when my boyfriend and I decided to take advantage of nice and sunny fall weather and go on a one day adventure to explore Subotica.

In case you missed part one, you can check it out HERE


In this post I will share photos of Subotica Synagogue as I took a lot of them and I thought I would share some in its own post.

1.jpg


Details in architecture are really stunning and even thought it's not my religion, I still admire the beauty of it. We didn't go inside and just ended up admiring from the outside and took a lot of photos.


Subotica Synagogue was built in 1902. and in 2018. was opened again after a full reconstruction. It is also a Monument of Culture and one of the symbols of Subotica city.


Another interesting fact is that this is the second largest synagogue in Europe!


This monument next to the Synagogue says "In memory of 4000 Jewish citizens with whom we lived and built Subotica they perished in the fascist death camps during the World War II - Citizens of Subotica, July 10, 1994"


Thank you for reading! I have one more post to share from this one day trip and then it will be Belgrade's turn! :)


banner.png

Photos are mine taken with Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency