A deserted London during Lockdown and Covid19 – Part 1

Having Lived in London for 6 years and lived in the CBD of London at Old Street, I can safely say this was a once in a lifetime occurrence.

Naomi my wife and I took this opportunity to be tourists in our own city! It was a truly eery but magical experience. So please bear with me as I take you on a tour of our beautiful city!!

Living at Old Street we were very lucky with our location, I could walk to work in the morning within 10 minutes to join over 1million other workers who also work in London city (CBD). All of the photos were taken during usual rush hour times during the week.

20200323_141505.jpg

The photo above shows Bank which usually has a footfall of 150,000 commuters from the underground daily let alone the thousands that walk and bus to the area daily to walk and see the sights. The below photos are from sounding streets of Bank. One of Poultry where the world famous Ned – Members only Club is located (the street I am stood at the end of taking the Picture of Bank)

20200321_113557.jpg

From Bank I walked the loop back towards home turning Left at Bank (for our daily exercise during lockdown).

20200405_111435.jpg

This took me to our next destination where the photo below shows Liverpool street station that usually has a footfall of 175,000 commuters. This photo was taken at 8am when usually there is a sea of people. I have also put photos of the streets around Liverpool Street station.

20200405_111222.jpg

Looking back on the deserted city and its bright blue summer skies you can see The Gherkin peaking through the deserted streets. I have to add that all of the streets are usually packed with heavy traffic, cars, Black Cabs, Big red Buses and everything in between. At this stage Naomi and myself decided that our best way to see our beautiful city was not on foot, as it is so vast.

20200405_111102.jpg

For our daily exercise we would cycle around London on “Boris” bikes to do some sightseeing and bring you along for the journey.

This is where it starts getting interesting and you will definitely start recognising the sights.

20200502_154712.jpg

So, we set out on our Boris Bikes. Cycling down the route we took yesterday through Moorgate down to Bank. At Bank we took a right to head along to St Pauls.

20200323_133844.jpg

From St Pauls that usually has around 1.74 million visitors a year to its famous Cathedral alone. That’s roughly 4712 visitors a day. Having dominated London’s Sky line for over 300 years it is definitely up there for its beauty and its history. At 365 feet (111 m) high, you can see it from far and wide. You can also pay about £20 to go inside and have a look around (we still are yet to).

20200404_150845.jpg

From here we headed down onto the Embankment to follow the river Thames to our next bunch of exciting detonations including Trafalgar Square, Buckingham palace, China Town, Covent garden and tower Bridge.

Thank you for reading my Blog. If you like what you see please give me a follow and a like.
If you would like more facts or details on these blogs do drop me a comment with feedback.

If you would like more facts or details on these blogs do drop me a comment with feedback.

See you in Part 2!

All content is original and my own writing and photos of us exploring.

[//]:# (!pinmapple 51.513370 lat -0.088946 long d3scr)All content is original and my own writing and photos of us exploring.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency