Wild Garlic Forest - Hainich Germany


As a little interlude to all my travel articles from back in the days when traveling was still possible, here are some photos from a more local excursion I did the other weekend in Germany.

May is usually the time when you can find carpets of wild garlic in many of the German forests. The biggest carpets can be found in the Hainich National Park.

This year the bloom was quite late, already nearly at the end of May. This is why I had to go twice. During my first visit the flowers weren't blooming yet and for photography this makes a huge difference. It was quite a feast for both the eyes and the nose on my second visit - in case you like the smell of wild garlic.

Here are some of the photos I captured. Enjoy!

If you ever want to visit, make sure to stay on the paths. There's plenty of photo opportunities along them.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency