Copper Falls State Park

The Bad River flows across Ashland County in northern Wisconsin to Lake Superior and is also the name of the Bad River Band of the Lake Superior Tribe of the Chippewa.

ns3q4m.jpg

0ne of the trails through Copper Falls State Park in northeastern Wisconsin is named for the Doughboys who were the first to build trails and bridges through the park when they returned from WW1. Further work was done on the Doughboy Trail in the 1930s by the Civilian Conservation Corps.

yaco0d.jpg

Red Granite Falls and Brownstone Falls

k1tny4.jpg

cm009z.jpg

I have hiked those trails to get back to the falls each summer for most of my life and had been avoiding visiting there because I knew I was no longer able to do the hiking and climbing that the trails required.

I was quite pleased during my most recent visit to find handicap trails that allowed me to go quite a distance along the tiver and enjoy much of it's beauty.

xojefa.jpg

uth45k.jpg

Most of these photos will work well for @shasta's #BoulderSunday challenge.

gaote8.jpg




uxeumm.png
banner by @shasta

Information about the Shadow Contest

HERE

comment_contest_medium.gif

banner by @barbara-orenya

This week's Contest is HERE

80pli5.png

by @barbara-orenya

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency