Kakudahama - A great place to relax and feel the sea πŸ‘ΉπŸ£πŸŽŽ My Japan

053kakudahama (6).JPG

One of the big advantages my recent place of residence has to offer is the close proximity to the sea, more specifically the Sea of Japan. As a young person, the big sea had always been far away. It took me several hours to get there, and with a bit of luck I had made it there once a year. But even as a child and teenager, I was already carrying in me this longing for wind and waves, for wide blue horizons and salty air. And on my travels across this planet I often felt most comfortable where I was closest to the sea.

Not that I don't like mountains and forests, on the contrary, I feel very great there as well, I actually enjoy it everywhere in the open nature. But near the water it is simply best, there my senses and my thoughts feel completely free and also so wild, and I am able to start dreaming all of a sudden.

Fortunately, I don't have it so far to the sea now, and I've already made it down there quite a few times this year. The first time we sat on the beach back in February and had a little picnic. And now in the summer, as often as time allows, I come to the beach and we plunge into the waves and enjoy the warm and sunny weather.

Of course in the city the coast is quite built up and there are not too many untouched spots. But when you get out of the city, there are always interesting panoramas and sights to find. One of my favorite waterfront spots is in Kakuda, which boasts the beach and mountain of the same name. The road then winds along the coast, with Kakudahama (θ§’η”°ζ΅œ Kakudabeach) on one side and Kakudayama (θ§’η”°ε±± Mount Kakuda) on the other. No matter what time of year I come here, the area just always has an impact on me.

053kakudahama (3).JPG

Kakudahama is a several hundred meter long sandy beach with a few beach houses. Most of the time, however, there is not much going on here, except for the peak season in early to mid-August. The waves are a little rougher here, as they are not kept in check by the usual tetra-pods.

053kakudahama (4).JPG

The rocky hills usually drop off quite steeply and often end right at the water's edge, where you can enjoy quite spectacular views.

606 around kakudahama (2).JPG

053kakudahama (5).JPG

A little further up, you can see the coastal road and in some places it is even possible to walk down some path almost to the water's edge. Those pathes down there offer a partly quite adventurous walk.

606 around kakudahama (6).JPG

But also from the road you can enjoy a very nice panorama, the jagged rocks and the sometimes calm and sometimes rough sea show a wonderful contrast and invite you to dream a bit.

606 around kakudahama (14).JPG

Japan consists to a large extent of mountains and hills, and many roads had to be built through these areas. Therefore, when driving through the country, you will pass over many bridges and through many tunnels, not only here in Kakuda.

053kakudahama (8).JPG

Right next to the Kakudabeach you find a first climb, from which you have a nice view over the whole beach and the surrounding area. From here another trail starts, which would eventually take you up all the way to the top of Mt. Kakuda.

053kakudahama (9).JPG

But even from this first climb, you already have a great view. The rocks dropping directly into the sea offer a wonderful backdrop, and also the green of the trees and grasses and the blue of the sea harmonize perfectly with each other.

605 next to kakuda (2).JPG

And even late at night, everything at Kakudahama looks quite romantic and inviting. Walking on the beach at any time of the year has such a relaxing but also a vitalizing effect. The sea always has an impact on me and I just can't escape this effect.

605 next to kakuda.JPG

On some parts of the beach you can find the boats of the fishermen, who always try for the big catch on and out of the water. The sea is a very important source of food for the people here in Japan, fish and other seafood are regularly on the menu in every household.

606 around kakudahama (3).JPG

Right next to the Kakudabeach you will find this small white lighthouse, which should have shown many boats the right way. The lighthouse is nestled in the hillside, a sight that makes my thoughts go on long journeys.

053kakudahama (7).JPG

Japan is a country with rainfall in abundance, everywhere it greens and grows. Same on the hills right next to the sea. It is not the best idea to go off the beaten track, because besides the thick vegetation you will meet many other small creatures.

606 around kakudahama (10).JPG

Like for example the many spiders that you can see everywhere, especially in late summer and autumn. And who likes to run through spider webs all the time on his hikes or walks and be careful not to have unwanted companions sitting on his shoulder?

606 around kakudahama (12).JPG

In some places you can find small statues that serve as devotional places. The sea gives, but it also takes away all the time, and we should be grateful but also full of respect at the same moment. For the rough but charming beauty that is there in front of us. Sometimes gloriously blue, radiant and glittering, and then rather green or gray, with big waves and full of elemental force. But always impressive and fascinating.

053kakudahama (14).JPG

I love just sitting on the shore and looking out at the water. And letting my mind wander, thinking about what might be there on the other side of the sea. And who might be sitting there looking over at me.

I am very grateful for these wonderful places in my immediate neighborhood and I am already looking forward to my next visit to Kakuda. Longings offer a lot of potential, but now and then they also want to be satisfied. Happy are those who are still able to dream. Dreams become hopes, and hopes often inspire us to great achievements and accomplishments, and let us create wonderful things.

And that's why I'm going to dream a little longer, and see where this journey will take me. The horizon is also only the first goal, and as you know, there is much much more to discver behind it.

And I am wishing you all a wonderful day as well, see you soon....

またね matane



[//]:# (!pinmapple 37.794251 lat 138.821291 long Kakudahama - A great place to relax and feel the seaside d3scr)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency