Pre-Covid Series: Daytime Wandering in Saigon

Living in Ho Chi Minh back in 2019, I loved wandering around the city. Everything is within walking distance and it's easy to get anywhere living downtown in District 1. Today, I'd like to share some photos from my days wandering around Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. 

The Pre-Covid Series is a series of posts about my trips and adventures pre-pandemic. You'll get to hear about some of the amazing places that I was able to visit before travel was extremely limited. Hopefully soon, I'll be able to return to a life of traveling soon.

TO PLEASE THE CURATION GODS... EVERY PHOTO IN THIS ARTICLE WAS TAKEN BY ME BETWEEN SEPTEMBER 2019 AND DECEMBER 2019. IF YOU SEE ANY OF THESE PHOTOS SOMEWHERE ELSE OTHER THAN MY SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNTS THEY WERE STOLEN FROM ME.

Don't Forget to Wear a Mask!

I needed to mask up just to deal with the smog in Saigon
I needed to mask up just to deal with the smog in Saigon

Even though these photos were taken way before COVID was a thing, I learned that you need a mask when walking around during the daytime in Saigon. Air quality could reach extremely unsafe levels and I spent the first few days sick and coughing from not wearing a mask. 

Coffee and Pho to Start the Day

Pho is the perfect breakfast in Ho Chi Minh.
Pho is the perfect breakfast in Ho Chi Minh.

I would start my day with a hearty bowl of noodles and a strong cup of coffee almost every morning. You can find countless pho restaurants that offer bowls of noodles for less than $2 USD.

Iced Americano with Trà đá Tea
Iced Americano with Trà đá Tea

Almost every coffee shop will serve your drink with an additional drink. Trà đá is a traditional Vietnamese tea that is served with many meals and at almost every cafe. The coffee in Vietnam is exceptionally strong and the unsweetened tea is a refreshing contrast to the coffee.

Ho Chi Minh City Museum

Ho Chi Minh City Museum
Ho Chi Minh City Museum

The first stop for this trip down memory lane is the Ho Chi Minh City Museum. Here you can learn more about the history of Vietnam. Entry tickets are only 30,000 VND ($1.30 USD). 

Next Up, I Head to the Cat Cafe

Catfe in Saigon
Catfe in Saigon

After a few hours of wandering through the museum, it's time for some relaxation. Nothing calms me more than chilling with some cool cats! At the end of Bui Vien Street in District 1, I found this amazing cat cafe. While the drinks might be a little more expensive than a regular cafe, it's totally worth it. 

Lunch at the Asiana Food Court

Asiana Food Court, District 1, Saigon
Asiana Food Court, District 1, Saigon

On to lunch at the underground Asiana Food Court in district 1. This food court features tons of restaurants that offer foods from around Asia. You can find Thai, Indian, Chinese, Vietnamese food, and more. the price is always great as well.

360-degree photo of a paper lamp installation at Asiana Food Court
360-degree photo of a paper lamp installation at Asiana Food Court

The food court also has a nice park outside and I had a chance to take some 360 photos.

The small amphitheater area outside Asiana Food Court
The small amphitheater area outside Asiana Food Court

Reflective lake views in 360 degrees
Reflective lake views in 360 degrees

Time to Get Ready for a Night on the Town

It's probably getting late so I need to start prepping to head out for a night of partying and DJing. First stop, new sneakers, and some new tunes.

It’s gotta be the shoes
It's gotta be the shoes

Of course, there's always time for a trim. The BEST barbershop in Vietnam has to be Liem Barbershop in District 3. This hipster paradise has plenty of professional barbers that will have you looking like a superstar. The price is right as well. I think the rate for beard and hair cut was less than $3 USD. Don't forget to tip these artists!!!

Best Barber in Ho Chi Minh City!
Best Barber in Ho Chi Minh City!

Ending the Day With the Best Burger in Ho Chi Minh City

Marcel Gourmet Burger is the Best Burger in SE Asia
Marcel Gourmet Burger is the Best Burger in SE Asia

After a long day of wandering, it's time for a hearty dinner. If you are looking for the best burger in Vietnam (maybe all of SE Asia), I would recommend Marcel Gourmet Burger. Their burgers rivaled anything I've had in Asia or back home in the US. A quick stop here is the perfect end to a long day of wandering around Saigon. 

Balcony Views from my Home

Phew, that was a long day. Time to chill on my patio and wait for the night to start!

Yes, I lived that close to the Cat Cafe
Yes, I lived that close to the Cat Cafe

Vaporwave life in Saigon
Vaporwave life in Saigon

Want to see what Saigon is like once the sunsets? Check out these previous articles about Saigon at night.

Saigon is Neon City

Nighttime Parties on Bui Vien Street

Hope You Enjoyed These Photos!

I hope everyone is enjoying these posts. I'm sure everyone is anxious to get back out on the road and enjoy life the way we could before the pandemic.

I encourage everyone to do what they can to stay safe and stop the spread of Covid. This doesn't mean living in fear. Do what's right and do what you can to stay healthy! Let's beat this thing and get back to traveling!

Currently based in Siem Reap, Cambodia, I'm a solo-traveling digital nomad. Due to the pandemic, I've been living in Siem Reap for almost 2 years now. While I'm hoping to get back on the road soon, I'm not in a rush. 

I'd love to connect with other travelers, digital nomads, gamers, or residents of Cambodia. Don't hesitate to say hi or send me an upvote!

Again, everything in this article was produced by me. EVERY PHOTO and line of text.

You can learn more about me and my company at OneZen.me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency