A Rainy Day at Angkor Wat, Siem Reap

As we inch closer and closer to open borders in Cambodia, I was excited when I was offered a free all-day tour of Angkor Wat before all the tourists come back and fill the temples.

Cambodia is Accepting Tourist Visas

Follow the link for more info and to apply for a Cambodian Visa
Follow the link for more info and to apply for a Cambodian Visa

Link to the official eVisa Cambodia Website

That's right, as of October 19th, Cambodia is opening its borders to tourists again. There are still many conditions you'll need to meet, but the option is now there for anyone interested in visiting Cambodia. 

Vaccinated visitors are still required to spend 7 days in quarantine and this could cost up to $1000. So it's still a hefty price to come and visit.

Between the quarantine and construction going on in Siem Reap, I would suggest chilling on visiting at least for another few months. My estimate is that by December, construction in the downtown area should be complete and the major tourist areas will be in full swing. Hopefully. 

Let's Talk About my Day in Angkor Wat

Angkor Wat Main Temple
Angkor Wat Main Temple

My friends and I were lucky enough to get selected for an app test that offered a variety of tours around Siem Reap for free. The new app we tested will be available in a variety of tourist areas and will feature easy ways to book local tours, restaurants, and transportation.

We opted for a full-day tour of the Angkor Wat Complex which included visiting Angkor Wat, Baksei Chamkrong, Phnom Bakheng, South Gate, Bayon (Angkor Thom), Elephant Terrace, Leper King Terrace, Takeo, and Ta Prohm. Seeing all these sites would easily take from 8 am till 5:30 pm closing time. 

Unfortunately, due to a motorbike accident and a serious foot injury a few days prior, I couldn't make it to the last few temples.  I did stick it out for most of the trip and made it to the Elephant Terrace before I had to give up on walking any farther.

Angkor Wat in the Rain

Ghost Town at Angkor Wat Main Temple
Ghost Town at Angkor Wat Main Temple

Between the lack of tourists and light rain, we basically had the entire complex to ourselves. I was lucky to capture these photos with no other tourists in the images.

Not a tourist in sight at Angkor Wat
Not a tourist in sight at Angkor Wat

Angkor Wat
Angkor Wat

View from the top of Angkor Wat
View from the top of Angkor Wat

Bayon Temple (Angkor Thom)

No Monkey Business Going on at Angkor Thom
No Monkey Business Going on at Angkor Thom

Just a short ride away from Angkor Wat is my favorite temple in the complex. Angkor Thom is a much smaller temple but I enjoy investigating it immensely. There are so many small nooks and crevices to find on every trip. If you have a bicycle, the roads around Angkor Thom are amazing for cycling.

You’ll find plenty of Buddhas to pray to on your adventure.
You'll find plenty of Buddhas to pray to on your adventure.

Slippery when wet. Be careful if you visit Angkor Thom during the rain.
Slippery when wet. Be careful if you visit Angkor Thom during the rain.

I think the treasure is right down this dark corridor.
I think the treasure is right down this dark corridor.

You can Get Lost Inspecting all the Carvings in Angkor Wat

Almost every wall in every temple is adorned with an intricate carving or mural. You could spend years interpreting every mural and carving. Here's just a small sampling of the intricate work that went into Angkor Wat.

There's Plenty of Nature in Angkor Wat as Well

There are plenty of on and off-road trails for biking adventures
There are plenty of on and off-road trails for biking adventures

The entire park is covered in the jungle. There is such an abrupt difference in atmosphere from downtown Siem Reap. There are countless trails to investigate, hike, or bike. Biking around the entire complex would take 2-3 hours for bikers that are in decent shape. 

After the Trip and Dinner

Unfortunately, my foot injury cut our trip short. All my friends were exhausted as well so it was for the best. We ended up having an amazing lunch at one of my favorite local spots, Star Bar. They serve a wide range of Western dishes and local fare. They also have some of the best "real" Buffalo wings in Siem Reap.

Chicken, mushroom, and bacon burger at Star Bar
Chicken, mushroom, and bacon burger at Star Bar

Hope You Enjoyed These Photos!

All images and text in this post are original and created by me.
All images and text in this post are original and created by me.

I hope everyone is enjoying these posts. I'm sure everyone is anxious to get back out on the road and enjoy life the way we could before the pandemic.

I encourage everyone to do what they can to stay safe and stop the spread of Covid. This doesn't mean living in fear. Do what's right and do what you can to stay healthy! Let's beat this thing and get back to traveling!

Currently based in Siem Reap, Cambodia, I'm a solo-traveling digital nomad. Due to the pandemic, I've been living in Siem Reap for almost 2 years now. While I'm hoping to get back on the road soon, I'm not in a rush. 

I'd love to connect with other travelers, digital nomads, gamers, or residents of Cambodia. Don't hesitate to say hi or send me an upvote!

You can learn more about me and my company at OneZen.me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency