The 6 Hours : From Mysterious Temple To 0 Kilometers With Itineraries

“Travel makes one modest. You see what a tiny place you occupy in the world” – Gustave Flaubert via goodreads

mactravelogue.png


The Beginning


What can you do for 6 hours in Yogyakarta?

In my previous series I offer some options such as visiting beautiful abandoned quarries, dining with a view, and enjoying the vibrant nightlife of yogyakarta. This time, I offer the option to visit some temples, sky view, and the beach.

Unlike the previous 6 hours when I travelled alone, I was traveling with 2 of my cousins. I picked these places because it includes everyone’s preference. I love visiting temples, my male cousin loves the mountain view and my female cousin enjoys lounging at the beach. This time, I will also include an itinerary of the trip that you can use as an estimation if you want to visit these places when you visit Yogyakarta.

My cousins arrived later than what I expected. They reached the hotel at around 7PM and it was on a rainy evening. Then, we went right away to find some food. They were telling me that the train ride was exhausting and they couldn’t even get sleep. While we were having dinner at a food stall near our hotel, we talked about the places we’d visited the next day. So, we decided to go at around 9 AM to Sambisari temple, Plaosan temple, heha sky view, parangtritis beach, and the 0 kilometres, where the old dutch buildings are.

The next day, before we went to the places, we stopped at our childhood favorite eating place in Yogyakarta, Gudeg Mbok Djum. It sells authentic yogyakarta’s cuisine called Gudeg that consists of sweet jackfruit, some proteins, and crisp beef skins. My female cousin doesn’t really like it, so we just ordered rice and a sweet egg for her.

We decided to use Alfamart, an Indonesian local’s chain , for the grab driver to pick us up. After waiting for about 10 minutes, our driver arrived and we’re ready to start the adventure. He asked us where we wanted to go and we mentioned all the places that we intended to visit.


Candi Sambisari


DSC00851.JPG

This small mysterious temple called Candi sambisari is where we first visited. It was my choice to visit this place. As I am on a mission to visit all the temples around the area and all temples in Indonesia. If you like to know the architecture side of it, you can read it here Timeless Architecture : 9th Century Hindu Temple The Mysterious Candi Sambisari
. This temple is easy to find on google maps and it’s located among local’s houses. Many temples open around 9 AM to 5PM. It is important to know so that you won’t be disappointed like I did many times.

DSC00923.JPG

The exact address of this temple is below :

Alamat: Jl. Candi Sambisari, Sambisari, Purwomartani, Kec. Kalasan, Kabupaten Sleman, Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta 55571

The entrance fee for this temple is 5000 IDR/person for domestic tourists and I believe around 20.000IDR/person for foreign tourists. In Indonesia, if you are a foreigner, expect to pay higher prices for attractions including temples, nature, and almost everything. The view in this area is worth it, especially if you like ancient structures, vibrant mini wildlife of butterflies and just want to see one of Indonesia’s coolest architecture.

DSC00871.JPG

My cousins weren’t really that impressed but they were still having fun around the temple. But mostly, they were just sitting while I took pictures and examined the structures. It should not take too long for one to be in this place. You can circle the place approximately 15 minutes at max and you can continue the journey to another temple or other places. In our case, we visited Candi Plaosan Lor and Kidul.

DSC00925.JPG

But before going to Candi Plaosan, my male cousin stopped to buy an old styled Indonesian pancake. Unlike the modern pancake, this pancake is thicker and is filled with simple fillings like chocolate or cheese or milk. For a slice of it, the pancake starts from 4000 IDR which is still a cheap price.

DSC00932.JPG


Candi Plaosan Lor and Kidul


DSC00935.JPG

It was starting to drizzle when we were moving to our next destination, Candi Plaosan Lor and Kidul. I have been to this temple a few times by now and am still in awe of its beauty. I also have written the temple architecture in a series of the timeless architecture Timeless Architecture : Mid 9th Century Temple A Symbol Of Tolerance Candi Plaosan
. In my opinion, it was a majestic structure.

DSC00941.JPG

There are two temples in this area, the plaosan lor and kidul. The plaosan kidul is a smaller one and looks like smaller temples and unlike the plaosan lor which is bigger in size and is breathtakingly beautiful.

The exact address of this temple is

Alamat: Jl. Candi Plaosan, Plaosan Lor, Bugisan, Kec. Prambanan, Kabupaten Klaten, Jawa Tengah 57454

The temple is closed on Monday. So you need to avoid visiting during that day and it opens from 8 AM to 5 PM. The entrance fee itself is around 5000 IDR/person for domestic tourists. While visiting this place, I walked around with my female cousin and My male cousin wasn’t showing too much interest in this place.

DSC00945.JPG

I took some of my best shots in this place and my female cousin was willing to be my model and pose for the camera. We had fun and she had fun too despite it was drizzling.

DSC00967.JPG

While taking pictures, she asked me one thing and two about the temple. Since I am well-versed about it, I could spark her interest in this temple that was built by a queen as a gift to the king.

To visit the next temple, we have to walk about 3 minutes. But the rain started pouring down, so we decided to leave the place right away.

DSC00974.JPG

DSC00978.JPG


HEHA SKY VIEW


DSC00989.JPG

Heha sky view is my male cousin idea. This place is somewhat a new tourist attraction and classified as an amusement park. In this place, visitors can see the hills and the houses beneath it. A lot of selfies are here too. So, if you love selfies, this is the place to go. The journey from the temple to this place took about an hour. It was quite long and exhausting for me personally. Somehow, it was my turn not to be too excited about this selfie place.

Upon arriving at the place, we saw plenty of people swarming the place. I have no idea why people visited places like this. Perhaps just the same way people have no idea why I visited temples. But, since my cousin was also accompanying me to the temples, now it’s my time to do the same.

The exact address of this amusement park is

Address: Jl. Dlingo-Patuk No.2, Patuk, Bukit, Patuk, Gunung Kidul Regency, Special Region of Yogyakarta 55862

To get into the place there is an entrance fee of 15000IDR/person. The price is worth it considering the view and the cleanliness of the toilet. I would say that if you like to take photography, this place can be a good set as well. I heard, the evening is the best time to go. So, learn from my lesson, never go to this place during a rainy day and in the afternoon.

DSC00992.JPG

Both of my cousins were excited about it and really wanted to take pictures of themselves. So, I was more than willing to do it for them.

DSC01011.JPG

DSC01003.JPG

DSC00987.JPG


Parangtritis Beach


Our next stop is the beach. Though it was drizzling, that didn’t stop us from getting excited about it. We decided to go to Parangtritis beach, the classic choice if you want to see the sunset in the city. People in Yogyakarta also abbreviate this place as Paris, or parangtritis. It was raining cats and dogs on the way there. Thankfully, when we arrived, the rain stopped.

The entrance fee to this beach is 10.000IDR/person and driver is okay not to be included. The exact location of this beach is

Desa Parangtritis, Kretek, Kabupaten Bantul, Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta

DSC01052.JPG

We saw ATVs around and we wanted to try it. Whereas, my female cousin wanted to lounge under the umbrella. On the other hand, I also just want to take pictures and sit. So, before we went under the shade, we stopped by an ATV rental after asking random strangers about it. This place is great if you love catching sunset. And it completes the journey with a beautiful view of the sunset if you are lucky.

DSC01114.JPG

DSC01178.JPG


0 kilometer


After spending about an hour on that beach, we got back to the city. We asked the driver to drop us at 0 kilometres.

DSC00772.JPG

0 kilometres is a street known for its old dutch buildings. The buildings now belong to the post office, Indonesian bank and a government owned bank. There is also a historical monument next to it. This is a special intersection that connects all places in yogyakarta from south, east, west and north.

DSC00776.JPG

This is a great place to take pictures and also check out dutch-indo buildings. The surrounding area is filled with such architecture that is quite different from the other architectures in its surroundings especially if we go to the south, it’s the royal’s palace.


Traveling 6 hours and wanting to cover more places is about time management. I learned from my 6 hours series that I am really bad with timing because there are places that I stopped for more than an hour which is a bad idea considering the community can take an hour too. So, I learn to set 25-30 minutes/place to cover more places. It would be different if my reason to travel was simply letting my feet decide where to go. Usually when I travel for 6 hours, it’s about discovering new places that I really want to visit for the 2nd time. I hope you enjoy this travelogue. I also pin it closer to the area of where I haven’t made the pin yet. And below is where I provide the itinerary that you can see how much you’d spend around these places.


Itinerary

This itinerary only includes the transportation, entrance ticket, attraction fees, and estimation for parking fees. This does not include your personal expenses and food.

image.png


Hope you enjoy these recommendations and this itinerary guide!

thumbnail.jpg

Mac's Pinmapple Travel List

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this !


image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency