Relieving Stress and Enjoying Coffee In The Middle of Rice Field

What is normal for some isn’t normal for another.

Sipping a cup coffee in the middle of a rice field surrounded by fish ponds, farmers passing around not caring about guests and listening to the bugs chatter was one of a kind experience.

image.png

you could see my bag on that long table

thumbnail.jpg

Today, I had the chance to experience drinking coffee in the middle of a rice field. This coffee place is called Kopi Mpat. In this place, guests must reserve a place before being able to enjoy the lush green of the rice field view. Since yesterday, I have been trying to secure a spot in this place that really looks serene. Only today, I was able to secure a spot in this lovely place.

Located 30 minutes from the main road of Mungkid, Magelang Central Java. This hidden gem is not quite easy to spot but thankfully with google maps, you can safely reach this place without the map trying to send you to a random rice field. But for me, this place was only 6 minutes from my family’s house. Though I still needed to use grab service to reach the place, it was quite reachable by walking had I not been lazy.

image.png

Like a tourist, I had a small conversation with my grab driver who briefed me about the place saying that in the past the place was more real than it is now. In recent years, it’s more organized, cleaner, and better-managed. Though, the impression I had from google reviews was disagreeable. Some mentioned this place to be overpriced with unfriendly staff and just so-so. I don’t generally trust the reviews but it helps to help me prepare for what’s to come.

The road to this place is quite narrow but smooth. Upon reaching the place, I spotted some cars that had plate numbers from other provinces and cities from Java. My brother said that he would better visit another place and a father one with better views. I could understand because the family’s house has a similar view and is located just in front of a rice field with coconut trees. We also have a semi bungalow with plenty of plants and bug chatter that woke me up in the morning. So, that is probably one of the reasons why in this place there were only outside visitors.

Before we’re getting into the middle of the cafe, there is a security guy that asked us if we already had a reservation. He doesn’t really come off as “friendly” but I guess, that’s okay. Then, he would say that the guest is on the way to the cafe over the radio so the other staff could lead me to the place.

image.png

Then, I was walking 100-150 meters on a narrow road with fish ponds on the left and the right side. It was really fun because it felt like I was wandering through a paddy field. This place reminded me of my time in Ubud and exploring the rice fields and houses around the campuhan ridge walk. After a few minutes, I saw some chairs and tables organized neatly. My eyes lit up as I saw the aesthetic views of the chair and the view.

image.png

thumbnail.jpg

I was greeted by the owner who made me choose if I wanted to sit in the chairs with the hill views or a single chair at a long table. The difference was, the other chair is booked so I had to leave at 1PM but if I choose the single chair I will have no time limit. So, I decided to sit on the long chair because I want to soak up the ambience while reading a book and enjoying my coffee.

image.png

The way to the cafe and the cashier

As opposed to when I normally go to a coffee shop, I don’t want to take too many pictures. Instead, I was just sitting, enjoying the coffee, checking out the bugs that visited my table and looking around at the farmers that passed by around us. My sitting spot was perfect. In front of me is a fish pond and behind me was a small water fountain that had a really melodious sound. I was alone for a while until it was lunch time when the place was packed with visitors.

image.png

In this place, I ordered Robusta coffee which is served in the local way, Tubruk, a method in which coffee ground is only added water and then we had to wait until the coffee steeped to drink it. This coffee method meant to take time for us to wind down, wait, and just enjoy the moment spent.

image.png

The coffee itself was like any other coffee served at cafes and anywhere really. But adding the touch of local cookies called ampyang coklat, a sweet palm sugar cookie with peanuts made it nice. Though overall, the interesting part was the ambience of drinking it.

When the visitors started coming, some of my peaceful time was distrubed. What I observed is that people went either with their friends or family members. The people in this place were also either chatting or taking pictures or making tiktok. While I was there I spent some time having a video call with my mom who just got vaccinated and also trying to finish Alice in the wonderland.

It was lunch time when I was about to leave. So, I decided to buy food from there. I ordered Nasi campur which is mixed rice and is filled with some vegetables, tempe, and fried fish with egg. In my fish there was a fried fly that I joked with my mom over the phone, “ oh well, I got extra proteins”.

image.png

The food here is western priced and for the locals these aren’t something affordable and many locals would say “overpriced”. The market segment of this place seemed to be high-end professionals, tourists, and international tourists who are willing to spend around 10$/person for the food and the drinks.

image.png

After eating, I decided to explore the place. But before that, I was paying for my meal then I spotted fish food that cost around 0.04$. I bought a packet and explored around the fish pond. It was quite a walk from one pond to another. But I felt like I was in a different place and my mind was fresher than before I got to the place. Now, I can understand what my brother was saying. In our house, we also have a rather large pond where I can do the same thing and for free. But coming from the city, it was all new and not quite normal.

image.png

image.png

I walked until I reached the field with a clear view of the mountain. It was so hot that I felt my skin was slightly burning. Even taking pictures was quite difficult as I can’t see my screen properly. But I am happy that now I get to provide you with some pictures that your eyes could feast on.

image.png

image.png

image.png

thumbnail.jpg

Then after walking around the place, I ordered a grab ride back home. Inside the car, I was told from the local whose house is nearby that he often sees only fancy cars in that place. He asked me, “So, what's coffee like? Is it that different from what you make at home?”.

image.png

“ Yes, it's the same as how we make it at home. It tastes the same but the view is different. It’s what seems to be something they sell, the place and experience, not the drink nor the food.”

He added, “ yeah, the locals don’t go there either. I don’t really hangout in places around here.”

That further proof of what my brother said earlier that such a place is normal for them and doesn’t pique their interest. Even going to the mountain for them is also normal. But again, for me, it was one of a kind experience as a hermit. So, if you are a hermit like myself, and find yourself in this part of the hemisphere, you can check out this place. I promise you, it won’t be that disappointing.

thumbnail.jpg

Hope You Enjoyed This article!



image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency