Lost in San Francisco

Digging back into my photo archives to exactly ten years ago I was in San Francisco, that was the last time I was in the States. Memories are a bit sketchy so I'm just going to wing it as usual. If anyone lives in SFO and can tell where I went that'd be great.
DSCN2331.JPG

Hubby and I were staying with friends who lived in the suburbs somewhere, I remember it was on the end of one of the metro lines, but I have no idea which one, but I think it was across the Bay. Anyway, over the weekend, they took out town to do the touristy stuff, as you would do when you're in San Francisco.


First stop was China Town for lunch. San Francisco is America's oldest and largest China Town due to it being on the west coast near to Asia. I don't have any photos of China Town, I just remember it being very China Town, if you know what I mean.

One funny thing I remember was about our lunch there. We offered to pay for the meal as a thank you to our friends for hosting us. When we paid the bill, we forgot about the massive tipping culture in the State, and just left behind the loose change. In less than a minute later, a lady from the restaurant come running out after us. She said we didn't leave enough tip and asked for something like five bucks! It was absolutely hilarious!!!!


Zig Zag Road

Next stop, downtown to Lombard Road, or better known as zig zag road, one of the most famous landmarks in town. I don't know if the locals actually like driving here, and I imagine had it not been for annoying tourists like us, our friends probably would never come here. I think if I lived in San Francisco, and given the choice, I'd probably drive here just once, to check it off my been here and done it list. And never come back again. To be honest, there isn't much thrill driving slowly down eight sharp bends down the 180m stretch of road, not to mention it doesn't do your car brakes much good.

Anyway, this is my only been here and done it photo. I'm so grateful to our friends for taking us here, and finding a difficult spot by the side of the road so I can take this tourist photo. I got to give it for the views though, it was quite something.
DSCN2286_edited.jpg

DSCN2292_edited.jpg


Unknown Park Palace of Fine Arts

I couldn't tell you where this is to save my life. The fact my friend bought us here probably means it is of some significance. I'm pretty sure my friend told me what this place is, it's that just that I forgot. It's been a whole decade!!! We walked around the gardens for a bit, but because it was March, there weren't many flowers or stuff. It was an ok visit.
DSCN2294_edited.jpg

Thanks to @discoveringarni and @silversaver888 for letting me the name of this unknown park


A viewpoint somewhere

Now we're at San Francisco's most famous landmark, the Golden Gate Bridge. No visitor comes to San Francisco without seeing the Golden Gate, just like no visitor goes to London without seeing the London Bridge. If you've never been before, just so you know, Golden Gate Bridge isn't golden, and I couldn't see a gate anywhere. And if you're a local, you're probably laughing at me making this stupid comment 😁
DSCN2309_edited.jpg

Here's a group photo with our hosts and their two kids. The elder kid Chris was a teenager back then, tall and skinny with spots all over his face. A couple of years ago he graduated from college and joined the US Navy. His mom was dead proud of him, and so would I if I were his mom. The kid is second generation Vietnamese, and I think it's great to see the opportunities available to the younger generation.
DSCN2312_edited.jpg


FORT POINT NATIONAL HISTORICAL SITE

Based on the time stamps on my photos, twenty minutes later we were at the Fort Point National Historical Site. Actually, I can't remember if the previous viewpoint is part of the this historical site, or whether we drove in between these locations. Anyway, both offer a magnificent view of this world famous iconic bridge.
DSCN2324_edited.jpg

Built in the 1850's during the height of the California gold rush, the Fort's main purpose was to protect the San Francisco Bay area. When the Golden Gate Bridge was built in 1930s, they were going to demolish the Fort to make way for it. Luckily that didn't happen and they change the bridge design to build above the Fort. That's why you can see underneath the Golden Gate Bridge at such a close distance. Today, the Fort is preserved as a national monument so the younger generation, and tourist can learn about a part of American history.
DSCN2338_edited.jpg

DSCN2334_edited.jpg

DSCN2339_edited.jpg

Sadly I don't have any images of inside the Fort, apart from this crappy one of the site layout. Without this, I'd be lost again in this post.
DSCN2342.JPG

I'm going to close this post with the American flag, also known amongst other names, as The Stars and the Stripes. This flag is flown above the Fort Point, and for the eagle eye non Americans, you'll notice this flag looks a bit different from the one we normally see today. Each of the stars represents one of the 50 states in America. There have been various versions of the flag over the years as states have joined the Union.

I count 29 stars on this flag and the 29 star flag was flown between 1847 to 1848 upon Iowa's ascension to the Union. However, Fort Point was built in 1861, in between the 33 star and 34 star flags, so there maybe 4 or 5 stars which I haven't captured on this photo. Nevertheless, I think this is a really nice way to capture the birth of Fort Point.
DSCN2333.JPG

livinguktaiwan divider.png

DSCN2311_edited.jpg





You can checkout all my travel post on the Pinmapple here or click on Mr Pinmapple below

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments
Ecency