The coasts of Alamar (from the series "Memories of a tour of Havana)/ Las costas de Alamar (de la serie "Memorias de un tour por La Habana)

I had never been to Alamar. This trip served not only to visit specific places on the list, but I also visited others that arose spontaneously and I love when that happens, because, although I like to plan and organize my days, I really enjoy letting myself be surprised. So we then went to explore the streets of this district in Eastern Havana, reaching, of course, the edge of its coasts.

No había estado nunca en Alamar. Este viaje sirvió no solo para conocer sitios específicos de la lista, también recorrí otros que surgieron espontáneos y me encanta cuando eso pasa, pues, a pesar de que me gusta planificar y organizar mis días, disfruto muchísimo dejándome sorprender. Así nos fuimos entonces a recorrer las calles de este reparto en Habana del Este, llegando, por supuesto hasta la orilla de sus costas.

It always happens that the trip there seems longer than the return trip, at times it seemed to me that I was walking a lot to get to the sea, which was what excited me the most. My travel companion, @yecier, told me to stay calm, that it was actually closer than I thought, I just didn't know the way, and he was right. I then took the opportunity to learn some signs of the route. The district is divided into numbered zones, from 1 to twenty-something, with zone 6 being one of the most famous in the area. I learned how to cross some trails and get to our friend's house faster, which was where we were staying those days.

Siempre sucede que el viaje de ida parece más largo que el de vuelta, por momentos me parecía estar caminando cantidad para llegar al mar, que era lo que más me entusiasmaba. Mi compañero de viaje, @yecier, decía que no perdiera la calma, que en realidad era más cerca de lo que creía, solo que no conocía el camino, y tenía razón. Aproveché entonces para aprenderme algunas señas de la ruta. El distrito está dividio en zonas numeradas, de la 1 a la veintitanto, siendo zona 6 una de la más famosas del área. Aprendí cómo atravezar por algunos trillos y llegar más rápido a casa de nuestra amiga, que era donde estábamos parando.

In reality, the coasts of Alamar have nothing magical, nothing strikingly beautiful, quite the opposite, it is an abandoned place, lacking attention from the government, nor are the citizens responsible for at least collaborating with environmental care, avoiding pollution with waste. And it is really unfortunate because it would be a formidable space for local development. But, at least we enjoyed the calm that the sea always brings. There was silence all morning so we took the opportunity to read a book that I borrowed from my friend's bookshelf, a selection of "The 10 best horror stories", classic works by great writers such as Horacio Quiroga, Ambrose Bierce, Bram Stocker (the writer of Dracula), Edgar Allan Poe (obvious), Emilia Pardo Bazán, Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer, Mary W. Shelley (the writer of Frankenstein), Guy de Maupassant, H.P. Lovecraft (of course it couldn't be missing) among others equally notable; So now you know: wait for the review soon.

En realidad las costas de Alamar no tienen nada mágico, nada llamativamente hermoso, más bien todo lo contrario, es un sitio abandonado, falto de atención por parte del gobierno, tampoco los ciudadanos se encargan de al menos colaborar con el cuidado ambiental, evitando contaminar con desechos. Y es realmente lamentable pues, sería un espacio formidable para el desarrollo local. Pero, al menos disfrutamos de la calma que siempre trae el mar. Hubo silencio toda la mañana así que aprovechamos para leernos un libro que tomé prestado del librero de mi amiga, una selección de "Los 10 mejores cuentos de terror", obras clásicas de grandes escritores como Horacio Quiroga, Ambrose Bierce, Bram Stocker (el escritor de Drácula), Edgar Allan Poe (obvio), Emilia Pardo Bazán, Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer, Mary W. Shelley (la escritora de Frankenstain), Guy de Maupassant, H.P. Lovecraft (por supuesto, no podía faltar) entre otros igual de notables; así que ya saben: prontito esperen la reseña.

There was a moment when it was impossible not to fall asleep, the ocean has the powers to tame my demons. It doesn't matter how tormented I am, the thousand and one things that worry me and steal my calm, the stress that inhabits me, none of that matters when I bring my body closer to the sea. It really wasn't long that I slept, but it seemed like an eternity. When I opened my eyes, Enrique had finished reading aloud the story that I assigned, I didn't remember where I had left off, but it felt warm to fall asleep with his voice, which I really like, I always tell him that.

Hubo un momento en el que fue imposible no quedarme dormida, el océano tiene los poderes para domar mis demonios. Da igual lo atormentada que esté, las mil y una cosas que me preocupen y roben la calma, el estrés que me habite, nada de eso importa cuando acerco mi cuerpo al mar. Realmente no fue mucho tiempo el que dormí, pero pareció una eternidad. Al abrir los ojos, Enrique había terminado de leer en voz alta el cuento que le tocaba, no recordé en qué parte me había quedado, pero se sintió cálido el dormirme con su voz, que me gusta mucho, siempre se lo digo.

We didn't swim in the sea, but we sat on a wall that ran across a large part of the shore. The water was cold but it was good to be in contact with Yemayá and enjoy her blessings. There my friend took several beautiful photos of me that I am happy to share with you. Some of them I actually didn't even know he had taken until he later showed them to me. He likes to take snapshots of me and then surprise me on WhatsApp by sending them to me.

No nos bañamos en el mar, pero nos sentamos en un muro que atravesaba gran parte de la orilla. El agua estaba fría pero fue bueno estar en contacto con Yemayá y disfrutar de sus bendiciones. Ahí mi amigo me tomó varias fotos hermosas que me hace feliz poder compartir con ustedes. Algunas de ellas realmente ni siquiera supe que las había tomado hasta que luego me las mostró. Le gusta hacerme instantáneas para luego sorprenderme por Whatsapp enviándomelas.

On the way back home we visited some cafes that we found walking through the streets of Alamar. We ate very good and cheap pizzas and then, of course, we sat down to drink coffee, which we accompanied with some sweets.
I hope you enjoyed this other travel chronicle that I leave you on my blog. Soon I will be showing you more of this beautiful tour that I took around the capotal of my beautiful Island.

De regreso a casa visitamos algunas cafeterías que encontramos caminando por las calles de Alamar. Comimos unas pizzas muy buenas y baratas y luego, por supuesto, nos sentamos a tomar cafeé, el cual acompañamos de algunos dulces.
Espero hayan disfrutado de esta otra crónica de viaje que les dejo en mi blog. Pronto estaré mostrándole más de este tour hermoso que realicé por la capital de mi Isla bella.


All images used in this post are completely my property.

Todas las imágenes utilizadas en esta publicación son completamente de mi propiedad.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency