The colors of Bruges, Belgium

Earlier today I was checking my personal @pinmapple travel story world map (huge thank you for running that amazing project, guys) at https://pinmapple.com/@lightcaptured and I said to myself, hey, where is my post from the amazing city of Bruges in Belgium? Well, as it appears I was only considering writing about it but I've never done it, actually. How could that be possible? Moreover I found Bruges to be one of the most beautiful Belgian cities, at least in my humble photographers opinion. So, when is the best time to fix this injustice? Right now, of course :)

As we had the whole day and the night to enjoy it, you can imagine I've made hundreds of photos. Some of them, I like a lot, starting the this night zoom-burst picture and yes, it wasn't the first one I took there.

The challenge when writing about Bruges is actually the photo selection as there is so much to see, photograph and share. So I guess, I'll have to put up a second and maybe third part of my visual story about this gorgeous city...

IMG_5457.jpg

Yes! The night version of Bruges is full of colors, life and people but let's not rush and try to keep it more chronological, hehehe. Our experience there started with finding a good place to park our rental car and we've got one in mind, the huge parking next to the train station. It was recommended to us by a guy from Netherlands, also a blogger, so most of the times it is great and beneficial to read travel stories by other bloggers and I do it a lot here on the platform ;) So, cheap parking for the whole day, check!

The old center of Bruges is very close to the train station it was a short walk but we've saw few excellent specimens of retro-cars in perfect shape.

IMG_5121.jpg

There are so many things to do there apart from walking around and enjoying the amazingly preserved architecture.

IMG_5161.jpg

Swans... always hungry so take some bread once you go there. Here, I didn't have anything for this gorgeous one but still it came to me to say hello, nah, who am I joking to, it came to check me out for a snack, of course :) As you can see it was probably about a foot away from me. Or perhaps it is trained as a photo-model? :) Everything is possible :)

IMG_5203.jpg

I was amazing by the number of swans at that small square, they are not afraid of people and they come to take the food from your hand :)

IMG_5208.jpg

It was a sunny summer day with lots of puffy clouds on the sky. I must say, a perfect one for photography. Here is the silhouette of the cathedral with an interesting foreground detail.

IMG_5238.jpg

It was possible to walk around in a couch, imagine that! I've noticed an interesting fact that all the coachmen were girls. So probably I should say "coachgirls"? Perhaps for the sake of our "modern" politically and gender correct world I should simply use the colorless word "driver". Yup...

IMG_5253.jpg

Did I mention before that almost each top of every building façade is unique? It's like putting the builder stamp on it so everyone knows seeing it from far away. I saw that in all of the Belgian towns and cities we've went to during our photo-trip.

IMG_5132.jpg

One of the most popular things people do there is explore the old city by a boat where its guide sails and tells facts and stories in several languages. You should do that is it gives quite a different perspective.

IMG_5188.jpg

Nevertheless, it is not only the boat that occupy those canals. Believe it or not, people swim in them, despite the fact they don't seem quite clean. This is the place I have to admit there was a charity swimming competition that day and we spent a part of it observing the swimmers and all the audience motivating them to give their best by clapping, shouting and all other ways of support you can imagine!

IMG_5309.jpg

With regards to the food and drinks you pretty much know what has to be done! Fries, Belgian draft beer and waffles are a must!

They gave us so much and good energy to keep exploring and photographing the lovely city!

To be continued... Stay tuned for the next part! :))))


Copyright: Damian Hadjiyvanov, Light Captured


My photo site: https://hadjiyvanov.com/


For licensing my photos, please drop me a message on Discord: lightcaptured#2698

Thank you for all the support!

Have a great photo! :P


lightcapturedbanner.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency