This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Escape 3 Points Eco-lodge, paradise in Ghana

Ghana 2011 799.JPG

I first became aware of Escape 3 Points Eco-lodge in 2010 when I was doing research for an eco-tourism adventure company I was starting doing trips to Ghana. At this time I lived in Denver, Colorado so I was very far away. It had been 5 years since I had last been to Ghana in 2005 and a lot had changed. To complete my research I was also planning a trip for the beginning of 2011.

One of the objectives of my trip was to visit as many eco-lodges and community based tourism sites as I could. I developed a survey for the Eco-lodges and before travel I tried to communicate with as many of them as possible and send the survey to them to self complete first. Escape 3 Points Eco-lodge was one of the few that did this and who would have imagined that me and the owner have developed a great friendship since then and even continued business interests.

Escape 3 Points is located in the Western Region of Ghana, it is at least 7 hours drive from the capital of Ghana, Accra. It is about 2 km from Cape Three Points, which is the most southern point in Ghana and the closest land point to 0,0 where the prime meridian and the equator. This town is also known for an iconic light house.

Ghana 2011 746.JPG
Along the road to Escape 3 Points

Ghana 2011 745.JPG
Waling through the jungle

Ghana 2011 694.JPG
Crossing a bridge in one of the villages.

The day that I visited Escape 3 Points was one of the longest during my research trip in 2011. The plan was to walk across the whole Cape Three Points complex using heritage trails. We started at Green Turtle Lodge which was probably one of the first Eco-lodges in Ghana that is now defunct. We stayed their the night before, this was one of my favorite places back in 2004 and 2005 when I lived in Ghana and one of the inspirations around why I wanted to create a travel company taking people to some of these places. The first leg was about a 3km walk to the next resort Ezile Bay where I stopped and met briefly with the manager. We then continued onto Escape 3 Points which is at about the 7km mark on the map below. Some of this walk took us through jungles, along deserted beaches and unfortunately much of it was along a road that winds through the jungles and rubber plantations. The whole journey ended up being about 20km and we finished right around sunset. I think I will detail the whole trek in another post.

image.png

We reached Escape 3 Points around lunch time. I can't remember if we got lunch this time or not but I got shown around and took a lot of pictures of the property. Sadly I was not able to meet Akwasi the owner at this time as he was out of the country briefly. But I really felt for the place. It has such a good and relaxing vibe. Akwasi, his wife Kettie and their workers have built the whole place by hand. I think they started in around 2008. He is also the owner and builder of the treehouse that I stayed in another community Busua that I showcased in my Asa Baako post about a month ago.

Ghana 2011 760.JPG

In 2011 when I visited they had about a half dozen chalets, a dormitory and restaurant. All the structures were hand constructed with eco-friendly materials. Akwasi is an architect and put his love for design into each structure.

Ghana 2011 752.JPG

Ghana 2011 753.JPG

Ghana 2011 759.JPG

Ghana 2011 758.JPG

Ghana 2011 757.JPG

Ghana 2011 756.JPG

Above is one of the houses this uses a cob wall, reclaimed wood, and bamboo. It had an outdoor bathroom with composting toilet and a loft with the bed over a small living room. Today these go for about 40 Euro a night. Of course the bed would be made the the place would shine before they give it out to a guest.

Ghana 2011 800.JPG

Here is a tree house made from Rafia and Bamboo.

Ghana 2011 763.JPG
Some of the wonderful flowers in the grounds.

Ghana 2011 770.JPG

Ghana 2011 768.JPG

Ghana 2011 767.JPG

Ghana 2011 766.JPG

Another house made with adobe bricks, rafia, wood and bamboo. This one has a great porch and an amazing view from the lofted bed.

Ghana 2011 779.JPG

Ghana 2011 778.JPG

The dormitory for budget oriented travelers and youth.

Ghana 2011 798.JPG

Ghana 2011 788.JPG

ghana_2011_808.jpg

ghana_2011_809.jpg

ghana_2011_781.jpg

ghana_2011_782.jpg

Of course the primary attaction is the clean beach which is one of the best I have been to in the world and the water activities. The point break is also world class for surfing just a little ways down the beach.

Here is a video showing some great drone shots. It is not mine though.

ghana_2011_828.jpg

ghana_2011_829.jpg

The Cape Three Points light house is also an iconic fixture worth a visit. It is about a 15 to 20 minute walk down the beach.

My next major trip there was in 2018 I went and stayed a few days but I can not find any pics from this trip. Then in 2019, I went with some friends and we stayed a few nights and really enjoyed the beach.

img_0100.jpg
My buddy Eli doing some yoga at the yoga platform.

img_0134.jpg
Me and bucket after the rough road journey

img_0179.jpg

img_0152.jpg
I was enjoying life outside of one of the chalets.

img_0405.jpg
Warnings on the beautiful beach.

img_0402.jpg
Setup for camping and leisure.

img_0520.jpg
The beautifully restored warram catamaran that Akwasi's father build over 20 years ago.

Here is a great documentary about it.

Akwasi is also an avid permaculturist. He has a farm that supplies much of the fresh food for the restaurant, mushrooms, moringa, veggies, honey and more. We share so many interests. I even did their most recent website for them www.escape3points.com.

Thanks fr visiting this little slice of paradise with me. I hope you can get a chance to experience it yourself.