An entry for Amazing Nature at Tower of Peace

Going to the Tower of Peace is also enjoying how amazing nature is for there are lots of things to see there. This is my entry for #AmazingNature free topic.

This is located at the Lion's Club beside the athletic bowl in Burnham Park.  This is where I had my walk one morning while waiting for the bank to open.  Join me as we admire amazing nature at Tower of Peace for #WednesdayWalk and #MakeMeSmile#WednesdayWalk is hosted by @tattoodjay and #MakeMeSmile is hosted by @elizacheng.

Before pandemic hit, there was a Japanese who rallied the community to clean the Tower of Peace.  The reason why vandals can easily mess this place is because it is a secluded park.  It is not well guarded.  It is hidden amongst the trees that's why even in daytime one can do anything they want with the tower.

When I went there for a walk, I was curious as to how the tower would look like.  Did the vandals get to it again now that restrictions have been lifted and one can freely move around?  I have been wanting to go there just to look since restrictions have been lifted but then construction had been done around the area so there was no way to access the place.  Until now.

Upon getting there, this is the first thing that I saw.  This marker is new.  This wasn't here the last time I visited this place.

Right away, one can see the signs of life.  Small creatures can be seen everywhere.  The amount of rain that we have been having soaked the earth and let everything grow and come to life.  Freshness all around.

There are still some picnic areas but most of the tables have no more seats and one or two tables were broken in two and just left there.

It's really nice to walk among these tall trees, mostly pine trees.  There were also saplings that have been planted.  This is one thing that I question though.  There are so many trees planted but not all survive.  One mall here is proud about the number of trees they planted.  The real question is how many of those survived?  What was the main purpose of planting them?  Is it just for show?

I should have brought with me my clip-on macro lens to take better photos of the little flowers.  One of the reasons I came here is for fungi hunting because I ran out of fungi photos for #FungiFriday.  Good thing I found some and will be posting that soon.

From the main road to the tower is just a few meters and there are lots of things to share already.

Now we come to the tower itself.

The tower is in the middle and a white marker is placed below it stating "Dedicated to world peace and understanding through Lionism."  It further states that it is a joint project by Baguio and Japan dated March 1973.

I'm curious what these are.  Maybe a shrine supposed to be?  The lower one has what is left of lock I think.

A plant managed to grow in between cracks along the tower.

This is how it looks like from the tower.

There was a pool of water behind the tower.  I took several photos for reflection entry for #ShadowHunters.

I then proceeded taking more photos of the tower.

I couldn't find any plaque or whatever describing what the tower symbolizes or if the tower has a deeper meaning why it was shaped and built like that or was it just for aesthetic purposes.  The tower has a half-moon shaped fence behind it.

The tip of the tower looks like a cross or a plus sign.

I then walked a bit more around the park.

There is an area where you can work out.  Beyond the bars there used to a be trail that you can walk which would lead you back to the tower.  However, the trail was gone when they did some development there.

I then walked around some more.  Most of the trees are covered with moss and lichens.

There were also coffee planted there.  I didn't notice them at first but when I saw this one, that's when I looked around again and saw them scattered throughout the park.

Here are more of the plants and flowers that grow around the park.

If you want to spend time and enjoy amazing nature at Tower of Peace, go to the Lions Club of Baguio City.  It's right beside the BGH flyover coming from Kennon Road and Marcos Highway.  Near the Tower of Peace is a Japanese Memorial Garden that you can visit too.

I'm glad that the tower was able to maintain its cleanliness and I hope it stays that way.

I went back to the tower one last time for final photos before exiting the park.

So there goes my walk for this week.  Happy walking!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency