Argentina - Stop in the city of Azul, Buenos Aires to see sculpture in front of the cemetery. / Parada en la ciudad de Azul, Buenos Aires para conocer la escultura frente al cementerio. 😱👻

After our stop to see the Laguna de San Miguel del Monte (which by the way WE COULD NOT SEE), we continued our way to the south of Buenos Aires. We were calm, we had no planned itinerary, other than not arriving at night in Sierra de la Ventana, our main destination. That is why my cousin, the driver, was in charge of making us go through small tourist sites so that we could get to know our province a little more. At one of these stops, we visited the cemetery of the city of Azul and its imposing sculpture 😱.

Luego de nuestra parada a ver la Laguna de San Miguel del Monte (que por cierto NO PUDIMOS VER), continuamos nuestro camino hacia el sur de Buenos Aires. Íbamos tranquilos, no teníamos ningún itinerario planeado, más que no llegar de noche a Sierra de la Ventana, nuestro destino principal. Es por eso que mi primo, el conductor, se encargó de hacernos pasar por pequeños sitios turísticos para que conozcamos un poco más nuestra provincia. En una de estas paradas, conocimos el cementerio de la ciudad de Azul y su imponente escultura 😱.

Have You Been Here (7).png


I think my aunt who was also traveling with us almost had a seizure when we told her that we were making all that trip to get to the cemetery. She didn't understand why, since my cousin hadn't said what exactly she wanted to see. I didn't know about this place either: about the city of Azul if I had heard, but I didn't know where it was either 😅.

Creo que a mi tía que también viajaba con nosotros casi le agarra un ataque cuando le dijimos que estábamos haciendo todo ese viaje para llegar al cementerio. Ella no entendía el por qué, ya que mi primo no había dicho qué era exactamente lo que quería ver. Yo tampoco sabía de este lugar: de la ciudad de Azul si había escuchado, pero tampoco sabía donde quedaba 😅.

image.png
Source: Screenshoot from Google Maps.


It was a long stretch from the lagoon to Azul: more than two hours of travel. I was in the passenger seat, so I couldn't take any naps like the ones in the back did. So getting there was a huge relief for me because I admit I was falling asleep a bit, plus I was already excruciatingly hungry 😂.

Fue un largo tramo desde la laguna hasta Azul: más de dos horas de viaje. Yo iba en el asiento del copiloto, por lo que no podía dormir ninguna siesta como lo hicieron las que viajaban atrás. Así que llegar fue un gran alivio para mí porque admito que me estaba durmiendo un poco, además de que ya tenía un hambre atroz 😂.

IMG_20210814_124411553.jpg


I remember that literally my expression was this ---->😱 when I saw the large statue in front of the cemetery. I wasn't expecting something like this at all, it was a total surprise.

Recuerdo que literalmente mi expresión fue esta ---->😱 cuando vi la gran estatua frente al cementerio. Para nada me esperaba algo así, fue una total sorpresa.

IMG_20210814_124225158.jpg


This great work was built by the Italian architect and engineer Salamone in 1938. It represents the archangel Gabriel and on his back are the letters RIP. Everything is built in cement and is a great symbol of the city of Azul.

Esta gran obra fue construida por el arquitecto e ingeniero italiano Salamone en el año 1938. Representa al arcángel Gabriel y en sus espaldas se encuentras las letras RIP. Todo está construído en cemento y es un gran símbolo de la ciudad de Azul.

IMG_20210814_124336642.jpgIMG_20210814_124322474~2.jpg


What was funny to me was that the letter part reminded me of that Minecraft game. Maybe because of the slightly square structure? I don't know, but I couldn't help but marvel at such a construction.

Lo que me resultaba gracioso es que la parte de las letras me recordaba a ese juego de Minecraft. ¿Quizás por la estructura un poco cuadrada? No lo sé, pero no podía dejar de estar maravillada con semejante construcción.

IMG_20210814_124449192.jpg


IMG_20210814_124457377.jpg
IMG_20210814_124218976.jpg

The statue of the archangel was also wonderful. I think that after all these years the cement was ruined a bit, but this effect of humidity made the whole work look a little more gloomy. I don't want to go there at night 😂!

La estatua del arcángel también era maravillosa. Pienso que después de tanto años el cemento se arruinó un poco, pero este efecto de humedad hacía que la obra completa luzca un poco más lúgubre. ¡No quisiera pasar por ahí de noche 😂!

IMG_20210814_124401343.jpg


Although my aunt had a little over the fear of being at the cemetery gate, she did not want to know anything about us entering. Well, visiting the inside of the cemetery didn't seem like a great plan either, so I didn't put up much opposition to this request 😂.

Si bien a mi tía se le había pasado un poco el miedo de estar en la puerta del cementerio, no quería saber nada con que entremos. Bien, visitar el cementerio por dentro tampoco parecía un gran plan, por lo que no puse mucha oposición ante este pedido 😂.

IMG_20210814_124519378.jpg
IMG_20210814_124535819.jpg
IMG_20210814_124626568.jpg

After this stop, we ran to find a place to eat. It was already after 2 PM, our stomachs were roaring 😂. While we were in the car, my cousin revealed his true plan with this trip: to visit the works of the Engineer and Architect Salamone, author of this work. Turns out there were several on our route, and this was the first. This was immediately interesting to me: if this one was that good, the others would be too! I will share them with you soon ❤️.

Después de esta parada, fuimos corriendo a buscar un lugar para comer. Ya eran pasadas las 2 PM, nuestros estómagos rugían 😂. Mientras íbamos en el auto mi primo reveló su verdadero plan con este viaje: visitar las obras del Ingeniero y Arquitecto Salamone, autor de esta obra. Resulta que había varias en nuestra ruta, y esta era la primera. De inmediato esto me resultó interesante: si esta era tan buena, ¡las demás seguro que también! Pronto las compartiré con ustedes ❤️.

Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading ❤️.
¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer ❤️.


IMG_20210814_115608322.jpg


With love. / Con amor.
Lau 💕.

(All the images were taken by me. / Todas las imágenes las tomé yo).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency