Lions Head Hike

When I lived in the UK I used to walk or run every day. I had a border collie who was full of energy and needed to go out daily, so this made me get out and exercise.

560980_10151313722028332_1082720472_n_10151313722028332.jpg
(my dog at the back and my parents dog at the front)

Since being in South Africa I haven't done as much walking or running and I've been desperate to get back in to it.

I do home aerobic exercises but no cardio!

tempImageQBdAUx.gif

So this weekend my husband and I finally got out and did a hike (or half hike - we struggled) up Lions Head in Cape Town.

We wanted to get going at 8:30am but my little boy is teething and was up through the night and so we overslept. We finally arrived at 10:30am.

tempImageoahy1R.gif

It was a beautifully clear and sunny day, but not too hot. Perfect conditions for a hike.

The trail was busy and lots of people were already returning from their hike.

We took our 5 month old son with us, luckily my husband carried him. He was definitely the youngest out walking that day and got lots of "aww how cute".

tempImage7smI3g.gif

tempImage1heCAb.gif

The views as we ascended were so lovely, we could see for miles.

My husband and I enjoyed walking and talking but we did struggle somewhat as we (as I said above) haven't hiked for so long. We only made it about half way and then tuned around.

Hopefully next time we will make it all the way up.

tempImageIMwXKv.gif

tempImageJY1JDr.gif

tempImageGmK8Yk.gif

On our way back down the views were just as good.

tempImageMmc7Ce.gif

This fynbos was recently burnt in a wildfire. Interestingly, fynbos needs fire to germinate. It acts as a mineralising agent.

tempImagesx4WuZ.gif

We saw lots of wildlife and flowers along the way. Birds, a mouse, bugs, impressive spiders webs (luckily not their inhabitants) and more.

tempImageTiXm0v.gif

Spot the butterfly....

tempImageJdkYdV.gif

Our under used legs ached afterwards but we really enjoyed our hike. We will definitely do it again soon. We decided we will try and get out hiking often and try other routes.

There are so many to chose from... Watch this space!

Signature .png

All pictures are my own and canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency