Corralejo Beach, Canary Island, Spain.

I am going to take you back a few years on my 42nd Birthday when I was in Spain for my first time, this vacation came by when, I happen to be talking to my cousin who was living in Italy at the time and still is, during our conversation we had both learnt that we had the same birthday day and born in the same year, this was amazing, then we got talking whether he was going to be doing anything special for his 42nd birthday and this is when Canary Island, Spain came up.


spain_1u.jpg

spain_2u.jpg

spain_3u.jpg

spain_4u.jpg

spain_5u.jpg

My cousin was telling me that his wife was in the process of booking flights and accommodation to visit Corralejo Beach in the Canary Island of Spain this of course got me thinking, I was well overdue for a vacation myself Canary Island's had always appealed to me and was on my bucket-list and my cousin was convincing me to go, we actually, have never met either it was always talk over social media or phone and this was a opportunity to get to know my cousin of same age, same year and same birth date.


spain_6u.jpg

spain_8u.jpg

spain_9u.jpg

spain_10u.jpg

He didn't have to twist my arm any further, I was soon looking at flight details myself and by the time, I knew it, I had a two way ticket to land in Fuerteventura Airport in Spain, from Fuerteventura airport it was going to be a 40km drive to Corralejo Beach on the Canary Island of Spain. I could not believe I was doing this but life is to short to hold back on opportunities and by the time, I woke up the next morning from the flight, I was on my way to Corralejo Beach.


spain_11u.jpg

spain_12u.jpg

spain_13u.jpg

spain_14u.jpg

spain_15u.jpg

Driving along this stretch of road towards Corralejo Beach, honestly felt like we were driving through the Sahara desert, really this road is going to take me to this popular resort on Corralejo Beach called the Bajo Negro Club and Riu Oliva Beach Resort in Fuerteventura, well I was hoping I hadn't taken the wrong bus.


spain_16u.jpg

spain_17u.jpg

spain_18u.jpg

spain_19u.jpg

spain_20u.jpg

Driving along in this bus looking out the window actually reminded me of the sand dune's on Fraser Island in Australia, as we were getting closer to our beach resort in Corralejo Beach, I could start seeing signs of life and beach, I could now start visualizing a large resort up ahead still a little distance away and it was then that, I felt a sign of relief that, I hadn't taken the wrong bus.


spain_21u.jpg

spain_22u.jpg

spain_23u.jpg

spain_24u.jpg

spain_25u.jpg

I just couldn't believe my eyes after coming out of the Sahara desert, I could see this massive hotel surrounded by these clear blue waters and white sandy beaches stretching as far as my eyes could see, the adrenaline of excitement, of been here was overwhelming this was going to be one unforgettable adventure meeting my cousin in such a paradise, I knew then, I had made the right choice.


spain_26u.jpg

spain_27u.jpg

spain_28u.jpg

spain_29u.jpg

spain_30u.jpg

Corralejo town and beach use to be once a small fishing village but today, it has grown into a lively tourist destination but has still managed to hold it's original colorful charm and atmosphere and is popular with water sport activities such as windsurfing and kitesurfing. Although when you are walking along these beaches away from the small town and the resort, it felt like you were alone here, I called it "The Quiet Earth" it was so peaceful and tranquil, I couldn't believe that something so amazing and beautiful existed as we were walking along this never ending beach my cousin's wife kept reminding us of our age by continuously scribing "42" into the sand because my cousin and myself were acting like two little kids in a fairytale story we had made that connection and felt like we had know each other all our lives even though we were living in different continents.


spain_32u.jpg

spain_60u.jpg

spain_33u.jpg

spain_57u.jpg

spain_31u.jpg

spain_58u.jpg

spain_34u.jpg

spain_56u.jpg

spain_35u.jpg

spain_40u.jpg

The climate here in Fuerteventura, Corralejo beach, they say is pleasant all year round the summers been around 35 degrees every day and in the winters it, hardly drop below 18 degrees, just my kind of place to live. There was one day when we had these angry storm clouds coming over the ocean but nothing happen they just blew away but certainly made some pretty picturesque photos with the sun hiding behind those black clouds.


spain_36u.jpg

spain_37u.jpg

spain_55u.jpg

spain_38u.jpg

spain_39u.jpg

Corralejo Beach like many other beaches around the Canary Island are made up of sand dunes that stretch out for kilometers upon kilometers very amazing to see but also they are made of a lot of volcanic rocks, this combination makes these Canary Island beaches unique and beautiful is why the waters are so clean and warmer.


spain_41u.jpg

spain_42u.jpg

spain_48u.jpg

spain_43u.jpg

spain_44u.jpg

spain_46u.jpg

spain_45u.jpg

Corralejo seaside town is on the northeast coast of Fuerteventura in Spain and is the second largest town of the Canary Islands of Spain not only we enjoyed these wonderful clean blue waters and them amazing sunsets but also the resort had the most delicious Spanish foods and seafood, I had even tasted, it was definitely one unforgettable holiday and birthday combined and a great time had with my cousin, his wife and friends.


spain_50u.jpg

spain_47u.jpg

spain_49u.jpg

spain_51u.jpg

spain_53u.jpg

spain_54u.jpg

kohsamui_4.jpg

#beachwednesday by @uwelang

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments
Ecency