The Cozy "Grandma's House" In Malioboro, Yogyakarta: The Patio

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-04 at 16.25.04 (1).jpeg

Hi guys! It's been a while since my last post. It's not because I'm lazy or already bored to write my blog, I'm just a little bit busy with my work AND I'm battling allergies and hives on my skin. That's really sad to see my smooth and silky skin get damaged. No one wants a catfish whose skin is not smooth.

To get rid of my stress, I decided to go to Yogyakarta for a night with my friends. I'm looking for a cozy and affordable hostel in the center of Yogyakarta City, Malioboro, through the Airbnb Apps. And here it is THE PATIO YOGYA.

It has three different rooms: an exclusive bunk bed (for 4 people), the Grandma's room, and a Lovers Bird room.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-28 at 21.02.06.jpeg

The Lovers Bird Room has private bathroom facilities. It is also more spacious than Grandma's Room. BUT, I think it's more suitable for a newly married couple (or just a couple). I went to this hostel with my friend, so it's a little bit awkward if I choose this room.

So, I choose Grandma's Room. It's cheaper than the Lovers Bird Room. The room is right beside the lobby. Because it doesn't has a private bathroom, so I need to walk to the bathroom at the back of the house.

But that's okay!

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-28 at 20.57.33.jpeg

The room is cozy, and I think it's beyond my expectation. What's interesting, the corner of the room is not pointed, but round. I rarely find this kind of form of the room. They also changed the picture on the wall.

I love the dark blue and white color schemes in this room. Sadly, I forgot to take a picture of the door. The door is a typical traditional door that you can never find again in this age!

But you can find more pictures about this place from Google and their website.

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-04 at 16.25.11.jpeg
And, here is my room for a night!

We went to Yogyakarta from Temanggung by bus. Unfortunately, during a pandemic, it's hard to find a bus from Temanggung to Magelang. So I use an online taxi from Temanggung to Magelang, and take a bus from Magelang to Yogyakarta.

It takes around 1,5 to 2 hours from Temanggung to Terminal Jombor, Yogyakarta. From Jombor, I take an online taxi to The Patio Yogya. It only needs around Rp30.000 or $2,1.

Arriving at the hostel, we were greeted by the hostel keeper: Anggit. Anggit said we were the only guests here. So we can enjoy all the facilities like our own (lol).

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-04 at 16.25.04.jpeg
This is the lounge. The center of this house. It's really cozy, and we can move the pillow (or bean bag) to the beside of the pool.

Anyway, this house is full of old pictures, wayang (traditional puppet from Java), topeng (mask), etc. It really feels like visiting our grandma's house.

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-04 at 15.43.55 (1).jpeg

This is the kitchen and dining room. It's in the same place as the lounge and pool. We can use the refrigerator and stove for free. The mineral water, tea, and coffee are free. We'll get our breakfast at this place too.

At the night, Anggit makes coffee for himself (he live in this house too). And he asked us if we want a cup of coffee or tea or not. He also offered whether we wanted to buy dinner or not, because he want to buy his dinner at the nearest resto in here. We said no because we already ordered McDonald's (lol).

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-04 at 16.25.02.jpeg

My favorite facility in this place is the pool! It's a little pool, you can't swim in here (obviously). But that's okay. It's more like jacuzzi without a hot water (don't forget how warm Yogyakarta is).

It's nice to be able to soak in the pool while looking at the clear sky, enjoying a cup of hot tea, and being dropped by the fallen flowers.

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-04 at 12.10.44.jpeg

It was fun! We, I and my friends, just sitting on the edge of the pool, had a good conversation about the future, snacking, and yeah. Time just flies so fast, that was already 10 pm. It was too late, I still had my task to do from my work.

So, I sitting in the dining room and just watching my friend having fun with the pool. 30 minutes after I finished my work, we decided to go outside and see the scenery of the night in Yogyakarta (mostly because Anggit keep asking us whether we want to hang out outside or not).

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-04 at 16.25.03.jpeg

Last but not least, the sharing bathroom! I like the design of this bathroom. Sadly (again) I don't remember taking proper photos of this room. They have two bathrooms with a shower and one toilet. The bathroom is super clean and smells good. It's weird, but I want to say that it's really fresh in this room.

This bathroom is located a bit far from my room. At night, if I wanted to pee, I had to pass through the lobby, the indoor living room, and the outdoor living room to get to the toilet. It's a bit scary because, at night, the main light will be turned off.

But nothing happened. I mean, when I wanted to pee at night, it wasn't that scary. Although this house is an old house from the Dutch colonial era, it is not as scary as old houses in general.

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-04 at 15.43.55.jpeg

I thought it would be creepy at the night. But no. The "soul" in this house is very friendly [if you know what I mean]. Even in the dark, you will feel safe and comfortable.

So that's it! That was my staycation in The Patio Yogya! Actually, we must check out at 12 am. But, because we are the only guest here, we can check out in the afternoon. So, after had breakfast, chilling in the pool, have a good yet fun conversation with Anggit (he is super kind anyway, I'll give him 5 stars for his friendliness), and have a powernap, we check out at 3 pm lol.

I really like this house and I definitely will come back again later.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency