Enjoying scenery from the temple of the Golden Mount in Bangkok, ชมวิวจากวัดภูเขาทอง

The monsoon rain which has been pouring down during the past two weeks has stopped for fours days. The rain has been a blessing in disguise in several ways for me personally. For my trees and plants, they seem to be very happy with new green leaves dancing as if being intoxicated during a pool party. This also helps cutting down the water bills! Psychologically, I have become much more appreciative of all the days with hot sunshine. I feel that these sunny moments are so precious that I should not waste them.

D749EA6002894A73896ECBE69D38EE63.jpeg

So, I took an old senior friend who used to be very nice to me when I was a student in Europe for sightseeing at Wat Saket. She really needed to get out into the open air more often. It’s funny how older people here tend to become inward looking and afraid of going sightseeing temples or museums on their own.

AD910958189448B2ACB7830275899A2E.jpeg

Source

So, I did manage to drag my friend to accompany me to the temple of the Golden Mount or Wat Saket. My plan was to make her having a walking exercise up the steps of the Stupa which is about eighty meters high. She should enjoy the views of Bangkok and feel a sense of achievement for climbing up those steps.

3B7B2F7EE28941E7BE5A451A9F909E4A.jpeg

(You could see the Prince Palace hotel in the distance; that’s where Steemfest4 took place last November. It’s almost a year, time flies. This temple was where I took @gamer00 and @dabbi2006 to experience typical Thai temple fair with thousands of people everywhere!)

1CA7A796C40E4D21A83644BBF544EE11.jpeg

Luckily the sky was rather cloudy making the late afternoon walk very pleasant; we could climb up those steps without sweating. The breeze was surprisingly strong and blustery making me feeling like being by the seaside. I thought the Divine guardian angels must have approved of my deed. So, we had a really lovely time there; there were less than fifty people so we had plenty of space and very calm atmosphere. My friend told me that she had never been there before. I could hardly belief that she did not make the most of what our Buddhist tradition has to offer.

7A21387AD3BE486990A7BCA0F495F5DF.jpeg

My friend came from a high society background with unending social events and parties with top social elites and rich families. But those good old days have become far and few in between after two major financial collapses during the past thirty years. Lots of people found it very difficult to adjust to the new reality. I always feel sorry for those including my relatives and cousins for not understanding Buddhism deeply enough to become more flexible and alert to changing reality.

16B488C48EA546EB96E7A214054CD621.jpeg

So, taking my old friend to Wat Saket will induce her to get more acquainted with Buddhist teaching and get a chance to live in the moment. I let her wander around quietly on her own gazing at the views of Bangkok. I guessed lots of thoughts must have been rushing through her brain and yet I could see the calmness in her eyes. The sacred Buddha relics in the Stupa were giving out very gentle healing vibes. I could feel that sacred energy when we stood still after our walking meditation around the stupa. I always seek out good and healing vibes from the old temples and old shrines in Bangkok.

F2FFE08B6D4D4832B3F5BA1D78133CF7.jpeg

วันอาทิตย์ที่ผ่านมาอากาศดีมาก แดดออกไม่จ้าในตอนบ่ายและไม่มีฝน เราดีใจมากเพราะช่วงที่ผ่านมาสองสัปดาห์นั้นมีฝนตกแทบทุกวัน ข้อดีของฝนคือทำให้ต้นไม้ในสวนโตเร็วและช่วยประหยัดค่าใช้จ่ายด้านนํ้าประปา และยังทำให้เราเห็นคุณค่าของวันเวลาที่มีแสงแดดแม้อากาศจะร้อนอบอ้าว เราก็คิดว่าต้องใช้เวลาที่ดีนี้ให้เต็มที่ อย่าปล่อยให้สูญเสียไปโดยเปล่าประโยชน์ เราก็ตัดสินใจชวนกึ่งลากเพื่อนรุ่นพี่ที่เคยรู้จักตั้งแต่สมัยเราเป็นนักเรียนที่ต่างประเทศ ไปไหว้พระและเดินเที่ยวที่วัดภูเขาทอง หรือวัดสระเกศ เราคิดว่าเพื่อนควรจะไปเดินไต่บันไดขึ้นไปที่ภูเขาทอง เป็นการออกกำลังกาย และได้ไปกราบพระบรมสารีริกธาตุ เพื่อจะได้เป็นมงคลต่อชีวิตและเป็นกำลังใจให้คิดแต่สิ่งดีๆด้วย

181138319CF8417A8652389747EDCE8E.jpeg

0052B3E8C6E14178AAC3980BD37FFFEE.jpeg

เราแปลกใจมากที่เพื่อนรุ่นพี่บอกว่า เขาไม่เคยมาวัดนี้มาก่อนและไม่รู้จักด้วย เราจึงต้องถามว่าพี่เป็นคนไทยหรือเปล่า ทำไมไม่รู้ว่ากรุงเทพมีวัดดีๆและของดีหลายๆอย่างให้ตามไปศึกษา นี่อาจเป็นเพราะเพื่อนคนนี้มาจากครอบครัวไฮโซที่ต้องเข้างานสังคมตลอดเวลา จึไม่มีเวลาใช้ชีวิตเงียบสงบจากผู้คน เพื่อศึกษาธรรมและค้นหาความหมายของชีวิตที่แท้จริง ต่อเมื่อประเทศไทยโดนพายุการเงินโถมเข้าใส่สองครั้งในรอบยี่สิบปีมี่ผ่านมา ทำให้หลายคนต้องปรับตัวกับความจริงที่เปลี่ยนแปลงไปอย่างกระทันหัน เราก็เศร้าใจที่เห็นหลายคนปรับตัวปรับใจไม่ได้ รวมทั้งญาติและคนในครอบครัวเราเองด้วย เราคิดว่าคนที่ไม่เข้าใจคำสอนของพระพุทธเจ้าบ้างเลย จะต้องช็อคอีกในอนาคตอันใกล้ เพราะเรารู้ว่าจะมีการสูญเสียเกิดขึ้นอีก เราก็ดีใจที่เพื่อนได้เดินชมวิวเงียบๆ ทบทวนและปล่อยความคิดออกไปกับสายลม ได้กราบพระและได้กราบพระบรมสารีริกธาตุด้วย ทำให้ได้กำลังใจและพลังดีๆกลับไปด้วย

5E3D89D96A704CF482FE9D251DF0FED0.jpeg

424B66A75AD044B4B8190CC26EA76DD6.jpeg

8D6009FFDEAA4BAD8AD81E549CF8D09F.jpeg

There are still lots of hidden gems among old temples waiting for me to discovered. The temple of the Golden Mount or Wat Saket is high on my list of healing energy.

3E849B7B8B994C98970742D512F258CE.jpeg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

#beautifulsunday by @ace108

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency