Slowly Getting Back To My Life | A Day Trip to Clear Lake

DayTrips-ClearLake.png

Welcome to my first Day Trip since the pandemic started. I'm now fully vaccinated. I decided it was time for me venture out and see what the outside world was doing. My intention is to take shorter trips before I come back fully to traveling out of state.

During the course of this pandemic, the only places I've been to were doctors offices and clinics for tests. I have several underlying conditions I'm dealing with. I didn't mind staying in as I wanted to keep myself protected.

But three weeks after my second vaccine shot, I couldn't wait any longer. It was the weekend, and the weather was a beautiful 78 deg. Skies were clear, and a light breeze kept me cool during the heat of the day.

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

My destination: Clear Lake, Texas

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

Screenshot_2021-05-01 Clear Lake Park.png
Location for Clear Lake Park, Clear Lake, TX from Google Maps

Clear Lake, Texas a master-planned community south of Houston. Its coordinates are: 29°33′18″N 95°6′54″W. Since the annexation, it became the second largest master-planned community in Houston. It is located on the western part Galveston Bay. 1

At the time Europeans arrived, the area around Galveston Bay was largely inhabited by Akokisa and Karankawa tribes.[9] The first substantial European presence in the area came as a result of the pirate kingdom established by Jean Lafitte in the early 19th century from his base on Galveston Island.[10] Everyone probably has read about the famous pirate. One of the earliest settlers in the region was Anson Taylor, namesake of Taylor Lake, who supplied Lafitte's Galveston colony with produce and game from around Armand Bayou.1

I've lived in the Gulf Coast area for over 50 years. The Clear Lake area remained undeveloped until the early 1900s. When I think of Clear Lake, I sometimes forget its transformation. Due to its growth, the area is known as Bay Area Houston.

Now, the city is a thriving business community. The area's most important business sectors are aerospace and tourism. NASA has a huge influence in the area as Clear Lake is home to the Johnson Space Center, which was established in 1963.1

Clear Lake, from which the city derived its name, is situated on the shores of Clear Lake and Armand Bayou. It's part of the Clear Creek tributary system, which is at the mouth of Clear Creek and empties into Galveston Bay. Galveston Bay is the recipient of the lake, which flows through Seabrook Shipyard, one of the busiest harbors for recreational vessels in the U.S.2

20210411_123906.jpg
Image of Clear Lake Park plaque near entrance to fishing pier taken by me

Clear Lake Park serves its community, Clear Lake City, and surrounding areas. It's a waterfront park for recreational activities. Everyone is welcome.

So we just packed up ourselves and headed out before noon. We weren't able to take the RV. We traveled light since we weren't going too far.

What to see and do in Clear Lake

Once we arrived and got situated, our biggest problem was deciding which side of the Park we wanted to camp out for the way. We decided on the West side. That way, I could be closer to the lake.

According to Lisa Ferguson's description in the Texas Explorer, Clear Lake offers endless recreational activities, such as boating, sailing, water skiing, jet skis, camping, hiking, swimming, kayaking, canoeing, and fishing, If you're a photographer, you'll think you've discovered heaven as the amazing sites are just too good to pass up. Boating enthusiasts can choose from 19 marinas and over 7,000 boat slips in the Clear Lake area, which is the third largest concentration of pleasure boats in the United States. 3

The Armand Bayou Nature Center nearby is one of the largest urban wilderness preserve in the nation. It features a boardwalk through the marshes, numerous nature trails, and boat tours offering views of natural habitats for animals ranging from bison to seagulls to butterflies. The Texas Armand Bayou Coastal Preserve features one of region's most popular paddling trails. 1

The area includes a large farmers' market, the Farmers Market at Clear Lake Shores, that provides outlets for local retailers to provide their wares and produce to the community.

On Clear Lake Shores, the Watergate Yachting Center is only only one of the numerous marinas for boating and fishing.1

Or, you can just do as we did and relax under the nearest shade tree. I couldn't see the majestic views from under the main covered seating area tat house picnic tables. Besides, it was too crowded.

20210411_132745.jpg

text16.png

20210411_132646.jpg

text16.png

20210411_132715.jpg

text16.png

I moved around a bit to get closer to the lake. I noticed several families had come early to stake out them a smaller covered area. I could tell they had a family group waiting to arrive as they readied the bar-be-cue pits, unpacked their supplies, and set the tables.

20210411_124108.jpg

Scenery

Each year, numerous hotels in the area support the tourism industry in Clear Lake.

20210411_125121.jpg

text16.png

20210411_123459.jpg

text16.png

I was happy to have captured the three seagulls perched upon their own pilings. They seem content. I wonder what they are thinking as they look out over the crowd of people enjoying themselves onshore?

20210411_123719.jpg

text16.png

20210411_124002.jpg

text16.png

20210411_125103.jpg

text16.png

20210411_123954.jpg

Family Activities

The picnic pavilions offer shade and seating just in case a quick rain event decides to roll through. Happy to say the rain stayed away today.

20210411_124118.jpg

text16.png

The park contains several smaller picnic tables that are able to accommodate a small group. The tables are positioned between two trees to provide some shade. They are also spaced far enough apart to provide a bit of privacy.

20210411_125149(1).jpg

text16.png

Clear Lake is an example of brackish water. That means the water is a mixture of saline water and fresh water. Other examples of brackish waters are swamps estuaries and salt marshes. The birds and animals have adapted to this type of natural habitat.

You'll find Red drum, Gafftopsail sea catfish, and Black drum if you're lucky enough to snag one. Today, I just wanted to relax, so I didn't even bring my fishing equipment along.

When it comes to fishing, I love every opportunity to cast my rod in the water. I then settle in and see what happens.

20210411_124010.jpg

text16.png

20210411_125257.jpg

text16.png

Children

I noticed that as soon as the families were situated in their particular areas, the children headed across the field for the play area. What I liked about it was that there seemed to be two or three teens assigned to accompany the small children to the play area. That is so important today.

20210411_123852.jpg

As soon as the children tired of the play area, they returned to feed the sea gulls. I enjoyed watching them.

20210411_135912.jpg

text16.png

Other children constructed a swing on a large tree. I remember the days of my youth when my siblings and I did the same thing. Nothing fancy; just the simple pleasures in life can bring hours of play time.

20210411_135922.jpg

After several hours, it was time to return home. I had taken my meds and was getting tired.

It was a fun day watching the activities in the park and relaxing under the shade tree.

Thanks for coming along with me for my visit to Clear Lake Park.

@flaxz initiative #iamalivechallenge (Published my Haveyoubeenhere travel post today)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

B.I.S.S.-March-Sanwiteer.jpg

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.
1 "Clear Lake (region)". Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clear_Lake_(region)
2 Information Clear Lake Park Plaque information. Publication of the Coastal Coordination Council.
3 "Clear Lake, Texas." Ferguson, Lisa. Texas Explorer. http://www.texasexplorer.com/clearlake.htm

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency