Vietnam by Motorbike - The experience of riding a motorbike in Vietnam


VietnamMotorbike.png

Vietnam by Motorbike - The experience of riding a motorbike in Vietnam

Hello Hiveans,

How's your day going?

I'll start with the downside. The traffic is insane. It's a real problem.

Some roads are narrow, some sidewalks are too small, some traffic is coming from the wrong side of the road, and some drivers are just crazy.

But the traffic is also part of the adventure.

  • It's part of the excitement.
  • It's part of the thrill.
  • It's part of the experience.

When I first arrived in Hanoi, I knew I wanted to get myself a motorbike. I had seen plenty of videos of other Westerners riding in Vietnam on their motorbikes and I wanted to embark on this adventure too.

But I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

I have been living in Vietnam which is a country with a long history that goes back thousands of year. Vietnam is a Southeast Asian country on the South China Sea known for its natural beauty, gastronomical adventures, sandy beaches, rivers, bustling cities.

I've live here for almost 2 years for my working. Unforgettable experiences are everywhere in Vietnam. Today I would like to share you guys how to ride a motorbike in Vietnam.

traffic

How bad is traffic in Vietnam?

I must say that the traffic is insane. The first time I've been Vietnam, I was so worried about how to cross the road. People just randomly cross the road, you have no problem with jaywalking. If you stand around waiting for them to stop for pedestrians to cross, you’ll be waiting a long time. It's so strange.

more traffic

Unlike European countries, we mainly use private cars and the popular means of transportation in Vietnam is motorbikes. It's a great way to travel Vietnam by riding a motorbike. You have a chance to explore cities, towns and villages. There are many kinds of motorbikes, it depends on your demand. Everyone has their own motorbike to work, school,..

What should you prepare to ride a motorbike?

If you want to experience a motorbike adventure, you can rent a motorbike. Try to rent from reputable companies that provide reliable vehicles. You can opt to rent motorbikes for weeks or months on end. For me, I bought a used-motorbike from a Vietnamese local for 10,000,000 VND. The price is quite reasonable, and quality is good. I'm happy for that.

When you're commuting on the road, make sure to wear a helmet. Helmets are actually mandatory, and you can have a valid license from home transferred to a Vietnamese license. Maybe you should have some basic motorbike skills to travel some places which are quite dangerous.

One of the best advices for driving in Vietnam is to go along with what everyone else around you is doing. Don’t be the first person through an intersection, and don’t be the only motorbike on a highway with transport trucks. Or in the peak hour, you can see many commuters honking every time.


Image from Giphy

Riding a motorbike in Vietnam can also be quite fun! If you are heading to Vietnam, I hope you can have a chance to experience a motorbike tour.

If you have any questions feel free to ask below in the comments!


Divider.png

Thankyou.jpg

RoamingSparrow.png
SpectraVentures.png

Travel Photos:@RoamingSparrow
Photo Repository:Roamingsparrow.SmugMug.com

Divider.png


dbuzzBanner.png


Help Support Ongoing Content

Bitcoin (BTC)18zopjg9Y2VA1ouCqCZapN3UzdpK3UnMdm
Ethereum (ETH)0x849C33abCb753540fD0D6cDd25df05BC20a1254E
litecoin (LTC)LdWUz5haDfkn4D1fxmte8nJePEGjJv6Lqh
Bitcoin Cash (BCH)1DRRtY3j5xzx6Dn9ofQgoosXdqGVsYYNcU
Helix (HLIX)HPnubkb9FBtSZKPjRvqD166BX4vPK3GtAz

Divider.png

Thanks for reading my post, you inspire me to keep posting!

Thank you for your support!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency