The National Railway Museum: Probably the best museum in the world!


OK, this has accidentally turned into a trilogy of transport museum posts. Yesterday I posted photos of the Shuttleworth aviation collection in Bedfordshire, and the day before that I posted pictures from the Crich Tramway Museum. I didn't plan it this way, I promise, but I've stumbled onto some photos I took when when I visited the National Railway Museum in York.

I've visited this museum quite a few times before, my father used to take me when I was a child, and I've been back a few times since. It's a great place for children of all ages, and those that haven't quite grown up yet!

The museum is actually part of the Science Museum Group, which also includes the Science + Industry Museum in Manchester, and the Science Museum in London. This is, for me at least, the best of the lot. It's a stunning collection of locomotives, carriages and railway artefacts covering the history of railway travel.

They have a large collection of steam locomotives going back a couple of hundred years, including a reproduction of The Rocket, one of the first steam engines. They also had on display when I visited the Flying Scotsman, one of the most famous steam locomotives of all time, which had just been rebuilt.

They've got a great collection of trains from around the world, including a huge Chinese steam engine, and a Japanese Bullet Train. One of there star attractions in The Mallard, which holds the world record for the fastest steam train, at 126 MPH.

It's a wonderful place to visit, and a great way to spend a few hours, I recommend it to you all, I hope you enjoy my pictures from my visit...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency