The home of the KGB. Tartu. Estonia June 2021.

SPG_7940.jpeg

No we are not on the hunt for a new mobile phone, this building during Soviet times was the local headquarters of the KGB.

SPG_7939.jpeg

Down i went, it was cold in here which was a blessing as outside it was that hot I was sweating like a pikey with a mortgage.

Engaging the young lady at the tourist counter I passed over my €10 note, she had no change, I bartered and accepted a couple of fridge magnets in lieu of hard cash.

"Now that"s what I call a real deal"

SPG_7918.jpeg

SPG_7933.jpeg

It is small and cramped, there are PIR sensors that detect you and set off an audio track of guards shouting and folk screaming. that caught me unawares a couple of times.

SPG_7920.jpeg

I have discovered during my wanders through former Soviet Countries, that Uncle Joe, is still revered in some communities and age groups.

SPG_7935.jpeg

The exhibits tell a sad, but inspiring story of life in Estonia during Soviet times.

SPG_7927.jpeg

SPG_7921.jpeg

SPG_7919.jpeg

I was told this was a memorial to known members of the Tartu Youth resistance movement, arrested by the KGB and sent to Siberia over a four year period. The cross indicating a sad demise.

Although small the museum is full of artefacts and history of the time, explained in various languages.

Others came and went
ticking off their bucket list
things to do.
seconds turned
to minutes
minutes became an hour
there is no rush
these people remembered here
fought for your freedom
Respect.

Homage paid, I ventured back into daylight.
[//]:# (!pinmapple 58.373161 lat 26.719979 long d3scr)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency