Pet passports, Turkish haircut and Czech-alike beer in Skopje, Macedonia.


Until recently Northern Macedonia was open for travel from all around the world and questionably was the best place to be around central and southern Europe when it came to covaids restrictions. When my time in Serbia came to an end, I was hooked. With tremendous excitement I was crossing yet another border "like if it was BC (before covid)"

I must admit Skopje both economical center of the country and the national Capital is charming place. The river Vardar divides two parts of the city. First the more ethnic Macedonian which is at some places pretty European-like. The second Albanian/Turkish side. One has almost feeling like being in the middle East already. The old bazaar with mosques and cobbled streets is really cool.

It also hosts one of the Skopje's biggest attraction - the local fortress on the hill overlooking the city.

I went there on one of my first days to check out the city from above. And to my surprise and luck, somebody was making a beer advertisement and after me asking for one cold one, I did receive the local golden pride.

Skopsko, the local beer is one of the best on Balkan, the receipt is made by some Czech brewers and it does resemble good old Czech beer. So that made me a little more thirsty and I went down to the more European side of town to check out some of local nightlife and have a chat with the locals. Skopje is not your best and most known party destination, but is hosting some fine rock bars and has somewhat Bohemian vibe to it. So if you're looking hard, you'll find a place that suits your style. In my case it was bar Laika. Yes, named after the first dog in space. And guess what, I have met a girl with a nice big dog, which breed I can't recall as I am not expert on that, but the dog actually had a passport which I have never seen before. Somewhat pre-human Vax card...

The following day I was in need of a haircut. The weather was getting uncomfortably hot. Not knowing where to go, I stumbled upon some random Turkish barber shop. The price was ridiculously cheap and because I actually wanted a style of a haircut between Turks quite popular, he actually did quite a good job. Mind my face on this one hehe...

The next mission was to buy a skateboard and go check out the local skate scene. There happened to be a sizable contest slash meet-up of some sort, so I had to participate. Not for skating per say but as a by-watcher and beer drinker I was sure useful.

Sadly the corrupt government can't even build a decent skatepark for the local kids who are generally fully into it. Half of them will end up drunk and on drugs because not real training ground and loss of interest in the future. Well let's hope not, they are good guys 

Contest was interrupted by rain and slowly transformed itself into beer drinking session and a good hangout. So, if some of you are in Skopje during nice weather, go and get few drinks in the central city park where most of the young and young at heart meet and share their stories together. Skopians are really friendly people, but as the country is kinda poor don't be shocked when their first question will be: "and why are you here?" :)

All the best,

Global Local

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency