Vienna, Austria - City to City Tour 016

14 - Vienna Tour.jpg

Vienna, Austria is a city that looks like a group of Bitcoin billionaires got together and made a city. One billionaire says "I like statues. Get me 100,000 of them!". The next billionaire says "I like fancy walls, make every wall extra fancy!". Another billionaire says "I like parks, we'll have 50 of them!". Another billionaire says "Palaces are cool, let's make 10!". "Churches? We should probably get 20, just in case."

Vienna looks like a city made by rich people who were forced to spend their money for tax reasons. It's as if a variation on Brewster's Millions was used to make a city.


I didn't expect to go to Vienna. Of course I'd heard of it, but it was never on my radar for places to go. It's almost a crime that I was oblivious of how impressive and lavish this city is. I had been posting about my trip on Facebook and was on my way to Budapest, but I still had a couple of days to kill. A friend on Facebook recommended that I stop in Vienna. I'm so glad I did. Very few cities have surprised me as much as Vienna did.

12 - Vienna Tour.jpg


06 - Vienna Tour.jpg

I arrived by train from Bratislava and found a room in a nice little place called Time Out City Hotel Vienna. The room was a far cry from being called "deluxe", but the price and location were right.

After I dropped off my bag, I went out exploring. It was golden hour and the sky looked amazing!

10 - Vienna Tour.jpg

11 - Vienna Tour.jpg

13 - Vienna Tour.jpg

I couldn't believe all of the giant buildings, covered in little decorations and flourishes. Topped with statue after statue. I felt like I could have spent a month getting lost in the details covering the countless of buildings.

16 - Vienna Tour.jpg

I wandered around well past sundown, and I kept taking dozens of pictures. Unfortunately all of the photos look like trash. My poor phone just didn't have what it takes for a decent night photo.


59 - Vienna Tour.jpg

I returned to my room and slept. The next day I went out early to put my camera through its paces. Vienna is a place where memory cards go to die. If you're planning a trip here, make sure you have lots of storage space for all of the photos that you'll take.

62 - Vienna Tour.jpg

It seems like half of my photos are vertical instead of horizontal. I kept attempting to capture the grandeur and magnitude of the city. It's hard to put into words how stunning and impressive this city is.

66 - Vienna Tour.jpg

67 - Vienna Tour.jpg

69 - Vienna Tour.jpg

The way I tour cities is usually aimless. Sometimes I'll have some places that I want to see. But usually I just go out and wander. Often I'll search on my phone for a restaurant that I want to eat at, then meander towards it.

On this day I just wandered with no destination in mind. I saw an incredible looking church in the distance, so I went to it.

83 - Vienna Tour.jpg

85 - Vienna Tour.jpg

86 - Vienna Tour.jpg

90 - Vienna Tour.jpg

91 - Vienna Tour.jpg


79 - Vienna Tour.jpg

It was difficult to make any progress towards getting anywhere in this city. Even the most mundane things like doors would call out to be photographed.

71 - Vienna Tour.jpg

Unfortunately, this post isn't going to be very informative. I was struck dumb by the scale and beauty of Vienna. I don't know what the photo above is, probably the entrance to a bakery or something 😀.


03 - Vienna Tour.jpg

The statues in Vienna really had me thinking about some weird things. It seems like pretty much everyone in Vienna got a statue made out of them. So did that mean there were like good and bad statues to be made into? Like if you got into trouble, you ended up as a stair statue with no body? Would people beg to be a roof statue, but end up on a door or a bathroom?

116 - Vienna Tour.jpg

I imagine Vienna was like an Oprah car give-away episode. Everyone gets a statue!

163 - Vienna Tour.jpg

Girl feeding the ducks! You get a statue!

149 - Vienna Tour.jpg

Lady in the chair! You get a statue!

111 - Vienna Tour.jpg

Dudes with no pants! You get a statue!

107 - Vienna Tour.jpg

Guy with a shield! You get a statue!

133 - Vienna Tour.jpg
Dude on a horse! You have a hundred statues, have another statue!

18 - Vienna Tour.jpg

Hobos in the park! You get a statue!

156 - Vienna Tour.jpg

Naked guy that we caught in the barn with the horse! You can bet your bottom dollar that you're getting a statue!


131 - Vienna Tour.jpg

OK, enough of my statue tangent. Back to wandering around. The feeling in Vienna reminded me of Disneyland, but without the rides. There's a fantastical element to everything. But at the same time, it's a real city where people live, work, and conduct business.

136 - Vienna Tour.jpg

141 - Vienna Tour.jpg

103 - Vienna Tour.jpg


167 - Vienna Tour.jpg

After a few hours of wandering, I returned to my room for a hotel beer. I got cleaned up a little and rested some. Then I went out for dinner.

178 - Vienna Tour.jpg

I went to an area where they hold markets. Most of the market stalls were closed, but it was an area that I hadn't seen yet so I took some photos.

181 - Vienna Tour.jpg

184 - Vienna Tour.jpg

192 - Vienna Tour.jpg

207 - Vienna Tour.jpg

Everything seemed so colorful and ornate. It's hard not to fall in love with this city. Everywhere you turn, there's something amazing and beautiful that catches your eye.

212 - Vienna Tour.jpg

217 - Vienna Tour.jpg

236 - Vienna Tour.jpg


238 - Vienna Tour.jpg

After the sun set, I found a little restaurant and had some dinner. The tour through Vienna made me wish that I had more time to spend in the city. I felt like I had barely scratched the surface of what Vienna had to offer.


246 - Vienna Tour.jpg

The next day I checked out of my hotel and caught a train to Budapest. My visit to Vienna was short, but it left a big impression. The scale and beauty of this city can't be understated.

I hope you enjoyed my tour. It's hard to tell how my attempts at humor will come through the screen. Hopefully you like some of the photos and will join me in Budapest tomorrow.


Something unique from Vienna

56 - Vienna Tour.jpg

This picture isn't very good and you may have to zoom in. On the right is the "Kids Info" office. On the left is a weird drawing of a lady with her private bits hanging out. That's Vienna I guess.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency