Trogir, Croatia - City to City Tour 026

Trogir.jpg

Trogir is an ancient city that has been continuously inhabited for over 2300 years. This fortified city, located on a tiny island, was the 26th stop on my grand tour of cities around the world.

This beautiful old city is another place that I had never heard of until I arrived here. It is another example of the benefits of joining a tour group instead of wandering on your own as I did for most of my trip.

17 - Trogir.jpg


20 - Trogir.jpg

My dad and I arrived here with our adventure tour group after a day of white water rafting. The summer weather was perfect and the skies were surreal. I was feeling better after being sick from the onions that I ate in Mostar and was looking forward to having dinner and exploring Trogir.

03 - Trogir.jpg

I love the sky in this photo. I don't know what the structure is, but it looks pretty cool. What I don't love is the overflowing dumpster in the foreground. I've tried cropping it out, but it removes the best part of the sky. I'm sure a photoshop pro could clone-stamp it out, but I don't have photoshop.

05 - Trogir.jpg

Trogir has an old fortress that dates back to the 15th century.

07 - Trogir.jpg


10 - Trogir.jpg

I'm not sure if it's actually legal to make a blog post about Croatia without at least one picture of boats. So here is my boat photo for this post.


11 - Trogir.jpg

Some of the old buildings and streets in Trogir aren't exactly beautiful, but there's something about the age and history that attracts me to them.

14 - Trogir.jpg


18 - Trogir.jpg

Trogir has an old cathedral that was a lot of fun to explore. Inside, there were some strange pieces of art that drew my attention.

26 - Trogir.jpg

27 - Trogir.jpg

29 - Trogir.jpg

This crucifix seems pretty normal at first glance, but if you look a little closer, you can see that it's decorated with a bunch of sculls and crossbones. It's like a pirate crucifix or something.

22 - Trogir.jpg

Some of the walls and doorways had awesome, intricate details carved into them. This type of super detailed decoration always appeals to me. I think it comes from growing up with "Where's Waldo" books. It's like there are a hundred different stories being told in one piece of art.

30 - Trogir.jpg


Earlier in the day we had gone rafting. It was the only activity that we did with other groups of people. I left my phone in the van because I couldn't risk having it damaged. And I didn't take many photos with my gopro. Here are a couple of screen grabs from the videos that I took.

51 - Trogir.jpg

55 - Trogir.jpg

The rafting trip was pretty fun. It was calm for the most part, but we did hit a few rapids. I'm always a little disappointed with rafting because I want the huge, crazy rapids that they show on TV. But that's way too dangerous for regular tourists like myself. The rapids that we hit were basically bumps in the river. It was fun, but not exactly thrilling.


38 - Trogir.jpg

Back in Trogir, we stayed in a nice little hotel and had a relaxing evening exploring the city. We rested up and got ready to move on to the next destination.

39 - Trogir.jpg

37 - Trogir.jpg

The next day we were going to do some more rafting, but this time it would be on small rafts with just our group. Stay tuned for tomorrow's post about that adventure!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency