Lake Bled, Slovenia - City to City Tour 019

73 - Lake Bled.jpg

Lake Bled is an incredible glacial lake in the north of Slovenia. It is overlooked by Castle Bled and contains a small island that has a church on it. The town of Bled was the next stop on my whirlwind tour of the region.


06 - Lake Bled.jpg

My dad and I arrived in Bled by car. We drove from Ljubljana and were excited to see the world famous Lake Bled. We stayed at Guesthouse Marko which was literally a room in Marko's house. The house was beautiful and Marko is an excellent host. After dropping off our bags, we walked down to the lake to check it out.

03 - Lake Bled.jpg

The lake is fairly small and we decided to walk around it. I'm trying to find specific information about how long the walk around the lake is, but I can't find it. We took our time and took lots of photos and I believe it took us about 2 hours to walk around it.

26 - Lake Bled.jpg

Even though the weather was overcast, the bright green-blue color of the crystal clear water was hard to ignore. I've got a ton of photos that are just water 😄. It doesn't make for good photography, but there's something about that color that compelled me to try to capture it on film... or I should say memory card.

The lake also has a lot of small boats. Rowing is a popular sport on the lake. Motorized watercraft are not allowed on the lake so all of the boats are of the rowing or sailing variety.

23 - Lake Bled.jpg

34 - Lake Bled.jpg

My dad does rowing and had an SLO (San Luis Obispo) rowing hat on. Next to the lake was a rowing club and a boat with SLO on it.


37 - Lake Bled.jpg

The island in the lake has a church and some other buildings. It's so photogenic and dramatic that the majority of my photos are of the island. We took a boat to the island, but photos of the island are better than photos taken from the island.

42 - Lake Bled.jpg

38 - Lake Bled.jpg

I had been using an HDR mode on my phone. It takes 3 photos and merges them together. I liked what it did to the colors of the photos, but sometimes it would result in weird artifacts on the images like the swan on the right in the photo above.

19 - Lake Bled.jpg

We saw lots of people fishing on the lake as we walked around it. And it's no wonder. You can see the fish right there in the water. It makes me wonder if it would be easier to use a spear gun and just shoot the fish that you can see swimming in the water. Or maybe a net would be more effective.

76 - Lake Bled.jpg

44 - Lake Bled.jpg

Some parts of the walkway surrounding the lake go out onto the water. Most of it is on land, but this area was pretty cool.

70 - Lake Bled.jpg

84 - Lake Bled.jpg


91 - Lake Bled.jpg

We stopped for lunch on our walk around the lake. The restaurant was a lovely place to stop and rest. Besides normal food, they also serve a specialty desert that the town of Bled is known for.

93 - Lake Bled.jpg

I believe this is kremšnita. A vanilla and cream pastry.


95 - Lake Bled.jpg

154 - Lake Bled.jpg

Me on the island.

157 - Lake Bled.jpg

The island was OK, and it's a fun activity to take the boat to it. But I preferred looking at the island from the shore of the lake. There really isn't much to do on the island except see the church and souvenir shop.

144 - Lake Bled.jpg


98 - Lake Bled.jpg

After walking around the lake, we returned to our guesthouse. Marko recommended that we go to Vintgar Gorge before the rain started. So we drove to the gorge and walked down the path.

99 - Lake Bled.jpg

The gorge is awesome and loud with so much water rushing by. I loved the wooden walkway. It reminded me of the Swiss Family Treehouse at Disneyland.

114 - Lake Bled.jpg

116 - Lake Bled.jpg

133 - Lake Bled.jpg

107 - Lake Bled.jpg

139 - Lake Bled.jpg

We avoided the rain for the most part, but it did start to come down as we were on our way out. After the visit to the gorge, we returned to the Guesthouse.

I don't recall where we went for dinner, but we ate and turned in for the night. The next day we returned to the lake for a short time, then loaded up the car and moved on to our next destination.

We would spend the next night in a different country, but we made a lunch stop on the coast of Slovenia. My plan was to only do posts about places where I spent the night, but my photos from Pirano might be worth their own post. I'll make that decision when I start processing the photos.

I hope you enjoyed the post and that you'll join me for tomorrow's adventure!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency