THE BLUE MOUNTAIN OF KERALA

INTRODUCTION

This is my first post here and i have always wanted to share a post here as i am a person who loves to travel. But to be perfectly honest with you all, I really got troubled on how to write . But now am going to take you guys with me through one of the journeys that i had recently.

ABOUT ME

Hello, I'm Joseph Sebastian from Kerala, India. Kerala is well-known for its mesmerizing backwaters, ecotourism initiatives, scenic beauty, amazing beaches and mouthwatering cuisine. I am a civil engineer who loves travelling, exploring new places and herping .

THE TOPIC

Neelakurinji-Bloom-1024x576.jpg

In this post am gonna share with you guys one of the journeys that i had recently. I will be discussing about the blue flowers of 'neelakurinji' that blossoms only once in 12 years, making an entire

STROBILANTHUS KUNTHIANA

20200902_170153.jpg

Neelakurinji is the name of a flower with purple-bluish color that has a resemblence of a bell. In the local malayalam language, it means "blue flowers". The botanical term for the flower is 'strobilanthus kunthianus'. The rarity of this event enhances its overall attraction. It makes its appearence only once every 12 years .

THE JOURNEY TO THE BLUE MOUNTAIN

20191207_170521.jpg
my motorcycle

My state kerala is very famous for its ecotourism . In Kerala, Moonar is considered as the top tourist spot . In Moonar once in every 12 years a rare natural phenomenon occurs in a mountain named Rajamala. The blue flowers of neelakurinji covers the entire Rajamala mountain making it the blue mountain.

When i saw the news regarding the blooming of neelakurinji,I instantly called my cousin and told him that we should definitly go and experience this rare natural phenomenon. I called him because he is my travelling partner and we did travelled alot together . We decided to go to rajamala in my motorcycle .

THE WONDERLAND OF KERALA - MOONAR

IMG-20210412-WA0007.jpg

It took about 4 hours to reach Moonar from my house . The distance between Moonar town and Rajamala mountain (blue mountain) is just 6km . The scenic beauty offered by Moonar was just stunning. The tea plantations on either side of the road made our ride the best that anyone can dream of.

IMG20200902114246.jpg
my cousin Joseph Benny and myself

Moonar is a haven of peace and tranquillity. It is the idyllic tourist destination in our state kerala, also known as God's own country .Moonar was the favored summer resort of erstwhile British rulers in the colonial days .
Before continuing our journey towards Rajamala mountain we did stopped at certain spots to capture some spectacular views.

THE DESTINATION

we reached the bottom of rajamala at 4pm. But the forest officers stopped us from entering into the mountain due to Covid protocols. After every tourists came there returned disappointed, We literally begged the forest officers for entering in to the mountains and with God's grace they permitted us for 1 hour .

IMG20200902133213.jpg
me enjoying the views from Rajamala

I promise you guys, that 1 hour was one of the best hour in my entire life. Me and my cousin was the only 2 persons in that entire montain covered with sea of blue flowers . The view from the top of Rajamala(blue mountain ) is just awesome. After spending one hour there, we returned to the bottom of the mountain with a heart filled with joy and memories of a lifetime.

IMG20200902133335.jpg
my cousin Joseph Benny at the top of Rajamala

CONCLUSION

Well,I guess now you all know why Rajamala is known as the blue mountain. And am so happy to share this great experience that i had with all of you guys. In the coming days, i would like to take you guys through my journeys showing the mesmerizing beauty of God's own country Kerala.

THANK YOU

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency